PDA

View Full Version : A pillar triple gauge pod query


BDKR
03-15-2011, 02:03 AM
I have one for my 744 and am curious about the install procedure. I have no instructions for this thing.

Sorry for the dumb question, but I've been running around in 240's for the past 6 years. ;-)

And how did you guys route the wiring and hose (for boost gauge). There is no obvious place to run it through the top of the dash.

Wilford Brimley
03-15-2011, 05:22 AM
I just kind of stuck my up in there and it stayed, as for the wiring and all that...its kind of ghetto rigged atm

http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m149/Charadeyouare_2006/Photo0133.jpg

sclay
03-15-2011, 09:40 AM
Are you removing the factory A pillar trim? If you remove it, there should be a location that you can run the wires/hose through.

For me, on my 9, I needed to cut a bit out of the bottom pod, as it wanted to hit the speaker grill, and I had to remove a small piece off the factory trim to attach to the aftermarket one to cover a gap at the bottom. If I think of it, I'll try to snap some pictures. All in all though, fairly straight forward. With the usual crawling around in your footwell antics of course.

Steve

240kid
03-15-2011, 03:36 PM
could you jerry rig one of these to fit a 240?

Stephen
03-15-2011, 04:56 PM
could you jerry rig one of these to fit a 240?

no, the pillar is a different shape and angle, and i think on 240s its not as thick.. (thats what she said)

blkaplan
03-15-2011, 05:16 PM
could you jerry rig one of these to fit a 240?

you dont need to run a tacky A-pilar gauge pod in a 240 because its got plenty of great places for gauges in the dash.

kahluaTDI
03-15-2011, 05:32 PM
you dont need to run a tacky A-pilar gauge pod in a 240 because its got plenty of great places for gauges in the dash.

qft

BDKR
03-15-2011, 06:11 PM
Are you removing the factory A pillar trim? If you remove it, there should be a location that you can run the wires/hose through.


That would seem the less ghetto route.


With the usual crawling around in your footwell antics of course.


:lol: Done plenty of that.

700 LH 2.2 guys: Is it a pain to tee off the overboost switch hose?

you dont need to run a tacky A-pilar gauge pod in a 240 because its got plenty of great places for gauges in the dash.

One big advantage of the 200 cockpit.

Thanx everyone. :nod:

valvesprung
03-15-2011, 06:18 PM
you dont need to run a tacky A-pilar gauge pod in a 240 because its got plenty of great places for gauges in the dash.

That and 240s are generally tacky enough with out em :-P:lol:

WindowsBreakerG4
03-15-2011, 06:21 PM
I want to make an on top of dash pod for my 740 one of these days

bicyclelifestyle
03-16-2011, 01:39 AM
I want to make an on top of dash pod for my 740 one of these days


ima ditch the center vents and make a bezel, if i ever decide to put some gauges on.

BDKR
03-16-2011, 04:11 PM
I want to make an on top of dash pod for my 740 one of these days

I was thinking about making a top dash double din box (for a double din stereo obviously) for 240's in the past. As a matter of fact, there was a thread showing pics of how people did this. It may be help if you are considering this.

Personally, I like my vents so they stay.

And besides, I don't think a pillar pods are tacky. ;-)

WindowsBreakerG4
03-16-2011, 04:50 PM
ima ditch the center vents and make a bezel, if i ever decide to put some gauges on.

Yea I like my vents, I am thinking on top of the dash its self