PDA

View Full Version : nissan t3? turbo gurus!!!


slow240
07-01-2011, 07:20 PM
i read somewhere that the 80s nissan 300zx got a .60 trim garrett is this true?

i was at the junkyard today and i saw an 83 300zx turbo and when i got to the point where i could see the turbo, it looks smaller than my .42 ar coldside.
im confused, maybe its the later z32s that got the .60?

Lord_Athlon
07-01-2011, 07:37 PM
It's a decent 200-230HP turbo

ZVOLV
07-01-2011, 07:57 PM
60 Trim compressor wheel in a .42 A/R compressor housing.

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy242/ZVOLV/16V%20Turbo%201975%20245/204TurboWastegate.jpg

11110000
07-01-2011, 09:40 PM
ZVOLV nailed it. It looks deceptively small due to the smaller A/R housing, but the wheel is the same as in my beefier RotoMaster T3.

Grace_Imports
07-02-2011, 01:29 AM
280zx had it and some of the Z31 300zx, not the TT 300 though.

The Nissan have a .63 A/R exhaust housing and the backside is a bit different. Easy way is to swap on the Volvo exh housing and rock and roll.

slow240
07-02-2011, 01:59 AM
damn, thats it, it even had 17 cast into the hotside.
well then. i guess i should go back and get that huh?

another question;
which is easier to rebuild, a t3 or a 15g. and what are the pros and cons to each (assume t3 has the .60trim coldside)

slow240
07-02-2011, 02:01 AM
wait, zvolv. is that turbo on a nissan or volvo motor?

also, if i see that turbo (with the 17 cast into the coldside) does that mean its a .42 or a .60?

Lord_Athlon
07-02-2011, 02:07 AM
Go get it. Also, the t3 is super easy to rebuild

DNAsEqUeNcE
07-02-2011, 02:18 AM
that's a 16v b230, with a b204gt exhaust manifold.

slow240
07-02-2011, 09:14 AM
so do i just grab the aluminum coldside and the compressor wheel or should i grab the whole centersection as well?

varg
07-02-2011, 09:54 AM
They'll charge you for the whole thing whether you grab it all or not. I'd grab it all.

DNAsEqUeNcE
07-02-2011, 10:45 AM
geddit.

slow240
07-02-2011, 02:09 PM
ok, funding isnt there, its 20-50% off this weekend, and if it was 50% i would be good, but turbos are 20.

so my new question is; if i rebuild my t3 now, with the stock 42ar coldside, is it just that easy to swap coldsides later?
will i need any new gaskets? will it require any different parts?

DNAsEqUeNcE
07-02-2011, 02:31 PM
negative, you'll generally want to balance the assembly. I would do it all at once.

ZVOLV
07-02-2011, 06:17 PM
Kinda relevant-->I don't really seen any turbo Fords showing up at the junkyards anymore, but the Thunderbird, Mustang 4cy turbo, and Merkur XR4TI use the 60 trim compressor wheel T3 also. They just use ford specific flanges on the compressor housing, but have the larger .60?.63? A/R compressor housing vs. the Nissan .42 A/R compressor housing. Furthermore, if you can find a manual tranny turboford they use the .63 A/R turbine housing whereas the automatic turbofords will come with a .48 A/R turbine housing.

I know this is tbricks so bigger is always better, but I really don't mind using a .48 A/R turbine housing instead of a .63 A/R turbine housing. I also didn't mind running a Nissan .42 A/R compressor housing on the 60 trim T3 instead of buying/making adapter flanges to make the Volvo hoses work on the turboford .6X A/R compressor housing. (I forget if its .60 or .63)

dalek
07-02-2011, 11:08 PM
I know this is tbricks so bigger is always better

Which is why we all need compound turbos... like the exhaust of one feeding the intake of the other! Turbo centripede! :rofl:

diponyou
07-03-2011, 01:08 AM
my nissan t3 ;-)
http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q15/diponyou/DSC01153.jpg
http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q15/diponyou/DSC01150.jpg

cosworth exhaust housing that I ported the crap out of. I plan on swapping a t4 turbine housing on soon.

slow240
07-03-2011, 01:12 AM
so is there any balancing required to rebuild my stock t3?
or can i just mark the shafts and fake it?

slow240
07-03-2011, 01:13 AM
bocan darble re pasta

http://i557.photobucket.com/albums/ss14/sharpiesnniffer/bocan.jpg

diponyou
07-04-2011, 12:32 AM
so is there any balancing required to rebuild my stock t3?
or can i just mark the shafts and fake it?

Everyone will say to get it rebuilt by someone. That will cost you 200. I would give a go at trying to do it yourself and stick with the budget minded turbo.

vlturbo86
07-09-2011, 09:26 AM
Is it not woth considering aftermarket turbochargers? Pricing is cheap for some turbos available these days.