PDA

View Full Version : I think i blew my head gasket... (500k/b of pics)


Magnum TE
11-15-2004, 07:11 PM
Maybe you guys could help me, because I think I blew my HG....
This is what happens when you ignore detination and keep your foot in it. Moral of the story, even though you are passing the turbo v8 mustang, when it pings let off, because even if you beat him... he's driving home, and you are waiting for the tow truck.

http://www.unce.org/volvo/pics/goldie_bricks/doa/06.jpg



http://www.unce.org/volvo/pics/goldie_bricks/doa/07.jpg


Look what else went with it.....
http://www.unce.org/volvo/pics/goldie_bricks/doa/03.jpg
yeah thats the radiator.


this is my usual, im pulling another motor face...
http://www.unce.org/volvo/pics/goldie_bricks/doa/05.jpg

It looks like piston #1 isnt comming all the way up, so I dont know whats happenning. It was time for a rebuild no matter what. This just means I'll have to push my Bertone project back at least 6months.

I'm looking for a good 93+ b230f short block in the SF bay area if anyone has a line on one. I'll make another thread for rebuilding options.

stylngle2003
11-15-2004, 07:24 PM
sucks to hear it toby...definitely blown HG...and the 22psi made the radiator all sorts of happy im sure! good luck with the new engine build, if i were you (with all your crazy boost that you run) id look for lower compression next time around. what gas were you running when she popped?

Boosted2003
11-15-2004, 07:29 PM
You realize why this probably happened. Cause you have voltage clamp on AMM which also controls the advancement and Retarding of the timing.

Tuff luck Tobby. New engine and better engine managment unit now. HEHE




Edit: Good job messing up the v8 mustang.

samyboy
11-15-2004, 07:30 PM
as long as the mustang was adaquatly humiliated

not nice though, i blew an escort gasget great fun thick black oil evrywhere along with the steam off the rad. someone told me his mates car (small hatchback RICER car) was doing 80mph the whole head flew off sending pistons sky high straight through the bonnet.

Hank Scorpio
11-15-2004, 07:34 PM
I showed off in front of the guys in the tint shop (and their customers) just before the headgasket let loose in mine 2 weeks ago.... to bad I had to coast back in :oops:

tough luck bud... thats a much more impressive headgasket than any of mine!

pbonsalb
11-15-2004, 07:52 PM
You realize why this probably happened. Cause you have voltage clamp on AMM which also controls the advancement and Retarding of the timing.

Probably a good point. I have sometimes thought about this potential problem with resistors in the AMM signal line or a voltage clamp or even an Apexi SAFC. Depending on where the signal from the AMM to the ignition ECU comes from and what sort of signal it is, perhaps it may be possible to send an unmodified AMM signal to the ignition ECU. When I was using resistors in the AMM signal line, I was also using a boost retard ignition.

Philip Bradley

isaac
11-15-2004, 08:09 PM
Allow me to point out that you aint got nothing on the engine killing powers of the Isaac man.

Impressive work nonetheless. Good luck with the next engine.

Blackbrick
11-15-2004, 08:19 PM
Very impressive, I popped a few gaskets, but nothing like that

Body Massage
11-15-2004, 08:22 PM
that sucks, mines probably going to look like that soon. I've got a boost leak on my turbo+ line so instead of 10psi, she puts out like 15+...so I have to be really careful not to step on it :-(

which reminds me....how loud are the pinging sounds?

Ajax5678
11-15-2004, 09:33 PM
I've run 20+ on stock Fuel :) and everything seems ok. But that sucks man but definatly looks kewl

Boosted2003
11-15-2004, 09:45 PM
Probably a good point. I have sometimes thought about this potential problem with resistors in the AMM signal line or a voltage clamp or even an Apexi SAFC. Depending on where the signal from the AMM to the ignition ECU comes from and what sort of signal it is, perhaps it may be possible to send an unmodified AMM signal to the ignition ECU. When I was using resistors in the AMM signal line, I was also using a boost retard ignition.

Philip Bradley

Possible to run a direct wire between the amm and igniton ecu. Use a relay or transistor or something if the amm voltage needs to be changed to different voltage or amount.


Your best would to have Apex-i Power FC. Thats around 1200 dollars for that complete setup. You are better off with MSnS soon to come MS2 or just get Standalone from http://www.034efi.com/

kyle242gt
11-16-2004, 08:23 PM
Bummer Toby! I thought you were maybe pushing it a bit, the way that knocksense LED kept screaming at you... :rofl: might be time to put a 3" DP on or otherwise fix that overboost, eh?

MSnS time, fo-sho. Are you going to do a whole rebuild or what? I wonder if you bent your rods?

After a little lunchtime stoplight Grand Prix against my buddy's BMW 850, I upped the boost. Maybe I'll go back out and turn it down. :oops: