• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

diesel running fast food fuel

Gnomestur

(83 240 non turbo diesel)

Drained my tank today.... smelt like french fries. Turns out the pervious owner put fast food grease in it. How bad is that for the injectors?

I think the issue is during extremely cold temps. I worked at a shop once where some customer ran some kind of biodiesel that clogged up the system during a bout of unusually cold weather. I think the stuff gets hardened as temps approach 0. We just sucked the stuff out, put in pump diesel, and it eventually started up again and seemed to run normal. You may be fine after you run a few tanks of pump diesel. I suppose you could try an additive like fuel injector cleaner if you want, but I'm not an expert on how that stuff would combat cooking oil.

People who run biodiesel usually supplement some of their fuel with pump diesel. It is known to congeal (it is fat/grease after all) in colder temperatures. Same concept as not dumping bacon grease down your sink. When it gets cold, clogged everything. Now, I was under the impression that there was a little work that had to be done in order to run biodiesel? New soft fuel lines, a few in line filters and some other simple stuff. Does your car appear to have anything like that?

Bio is quite a bit different. Lots of people don't understand the difference.

30+ micron particles will do signficant damage to IDI injectors, but if filtered, by itself veg oil doesn't affect them much.
Unheated is a bad gamble IMO.

My injectors after 20,000? miles on grease and ???,??? on dino oil were in no different condition than any other injector of similar vintage.