Turbobricks Forums

Turbobricks Forums (http://forums.turbobricks.com/index.php)
-   maintenance & nonperformance (http://forums.turbobricks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Jumping low pressure switch (http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=332602)

DME 05-10-2017 03:00 PM

Jumping low pressure switch
 
The AC is not working in my '84. It's a factory conversion from R12. I have charged it but the compressor is not kicking on.

Is there any risk to my jumping the connections for the low pressure switch to text the compressor? I had a log splitter explode in my years ago and I am ultra gun shy about repeating the "machine exploding in face" experience.

Thanks

Dave

EivlEvo 05-10-2017 03:06 PM

I don't have an answer for you, but I did this with switched power on my 93 (which is a different system) that I assumed didn't work, so I was fighting an uphill battle anyhow.

In my car it takes a second or two for the magnets to fire.

VB242 05-10-2017 04:46 PM

I had to jump the one out on my 780 to get the compressor to run enough to charge it.

To old for this 05-11-2017 09:16 PM

Try checking the green wires at the pressure switch with a test light or volt meter.

Cwazywazy 05-11-2017 09:23 PM

It'll be fine. I did it in one of my cars to make sure the compressor worked before I charged it.

gsellstr 05-11-2017 10:27 PM

You're fine to jumper them, common practice to test or charge some systems. All the switch does is jumper them under the correct pressures anyway. Just don't leave them jumpered.

HiSPL 05-11-2017 10:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gsellstr (Post 5610003)
You're fine to jumper them, common practice to test or charge some systems. All the switch does is jumper them under the correct pressures anyway. Just don't leave them jumpered.

Because you might burn up your compressor.

It still won't splooge on your pretty face.

DME 05-15-2017 01:47 PM

Well that didn't work.

Sigh

EivlEvo 05-15-2017 01:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DME (Post 5611312)
Well that didn't work.

Sigh

What didn't? It's an electromagnet. If power is applied, it magnetizes.

DME 05-15-2017 01:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EivlEvo (Post 5611314)
What didn't? It's an electromagnet. If power is applied, it magnetizes.

The compressor did not run.

KeizerBrickGuy 05-15-2017 01:59 PM

Bummer. Bad compressor clutch.

DME 05-15-2017 02:20 PM

Actually, ****.

I remember that last time I was under the car I saw a green wire hanging down, not attached. Spade on the end. It was on the driver side about half-way into the engine bay. I totally blanked on that, must be spending too much time enjoying my divorce.

Any tips on where that bad boy might go?

TestPoint 05-15-2017 04:09 PM

At the compressor end it should find a male spade to attach to. The udder end goes to the thermostat control in the dash.

Cwazywazy 05-15-2017 04:23 PM

Yeah, supply 12v directly to the compressor. In my car the thermostat was bad and needed replacing.

To old for this 05-15-2017 08:43 PM

Make double sure the compressor is grounded.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.