Turbobricks Forums

Turbobricks Forums (http://forums.turbobricks.com/index.php)
-   performance & modifications (http://forums.turbobricks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Shim settings for rsi stage 2 (http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=334082)

okoye 07-06-2017 08:52 AM

Shim settings for rsi stage 2
 
What should I shim the cam to? I'd like to get rid of the m cam that came in the 240 motor I swapped into my 940.

EivlEvo 07-06-2017 09:54 AM

The shim settings are set for the motor not the cam aren't they? When I did my IPD Turbo cam I shimmed based on the specs in the manual anyway...

gross polluter 07-06-2017 10:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EivlEvo (Post 5636185)
The shim settings are set for the motor not the cam aren't they?

No. Depending on the lobe profile, some aftermarket cams want tighter clearances.

gsellstr 07-06-2017 11:03 AM

What ^^^^ said.

Get any specs with the cam? .016 should be a decent starting point if not.

Ursan 07-06-2017 11:04 AM

Following.

AndrewNance 07-06-2017 11:09 AM

Just an FYI - I remember needing some thinner shims to get the lash right. Something about the base circle being smaller on the RSI cams I think. I don't think I was able to reuse any of the ones that were in with the factory cam. So maybe it would be worth it to do the kit rental deal :e-shrug:

Redwood Chair 07-06-2017 11:22 AM

:uh:

*thicker*

okoye 07-06-2017 11:33 AM

I'm sure that there is a cam clearance range that won't prematurely wear the cam out.

Stiggy Pop 07-06-2017 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndrewNance (Post 5636217)
Just an FYI - I remember needing some thinner shims to get the lash right. Something about the base circle being smaller on the RSI cams I think. I don't think I was able to reuse any of the ones that were in with the factory cam. So maybe it would be worth it to do the kit rental deal :e-shrug:

yeah I had to order some from eEuro when I went to the RSI2 cam, and some were just into spec with the thickest shim available.

I set mine up at book spec

AndrewNance 07-06-2017 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redwood Chair (Post 5636219)
:uh:

*thicker*

Yeah that

sbabbs 07-06-2017 02:27 PM

Yep me too, I used the thickest shim on one of them and it still was a little loose, went with it..

EivlEvo 07-06-2017 05:43 PM

Man... I had my head decked by a lot for the car I bought (blown HG) so with my IPD I had to use the thinnest shims to get even close to spec. *edit to appease the masses they did the valve seats and new hushers too. Regardless I needed the thinnest shims to get close to spec. Regardless I needed the thinnest shims to get close to spec. Regardless I needed the thinnest shims to get close to spec. Regardless I needed the thinnest shims to get close to spec.

Maaaad.

https://images.cdn.circlesix.co/imag...65c05f2d0e.jpg

hiperfauto 07-06-2017 05:57 PM

Umm..., decking the head won't change the valve lash. Grinding the valves and seats without tipping the valves an appropriate amount and the different base circle of the aftermarket cam does, however. If the cam journals in the head had to be align bored, that would also decrease valve lash.

MDVLN 07-06-2017 06:10 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by gross polluter (Post 5636187)
Depending on the lobe profile, some aftermarket cams want tighter clearances.

Ultimately, this.

If you don't have that then here's the base B230 Lash / clearance specs:
Edit - Added to post as an attachment given the current image hosting uncertainty.

gross polluter 07-06-2017 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EivlEvo (Post 5636496)
Man... I had my head decked by a lot for the car I bought (blown HG) so with my IPD I had to use the thinnest shims to get even close to spec.

That statement alone makes absolutely no sense.

cosbySweater 07-06-2017 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gross polluter (Post 5636527)
That statement alone makes absolutely no sense.

Lol

J_Jones 07-06-2017 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EivlEvo (Post 5636496)
Man... I had my head decked by a lot for the car I bought (blown HG) so with my IPD I had to use the thinnest shims to get even close to spec.

Maaaad.

And that was the moment the turbobricks community knew, this guy didn't know what the hell he was talking about...

Hopefully someone who once worked at RSI has some info on the correct setup

cosbySweater 07-06-2017 08:51 PM

Correct setup is insert rsi cam into garbage can, buy ipd turbo cam

gross polluter 07-06-2017 09:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by J_Jones (Post 5636578)
Hopefully someone who once worked at RSI has some info on the correct setup

Good luck. Talked to the person yesterday who owns all the rights to that stuff now. Can't even give out the most basic info to properly setup a stage II cam on an engine I'm trying to get running right. Something about fear of giving out manufacturing info. Can't get stuff dialed in on just lift and duration.

Like Erik said, RSI stuff belongs in the garbage.

cosbySweater 07-06-2017 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gross polluter (Post 5636629)
Good luck. Talked to the person yesterday who owns all the rights to that stuff now. Can't even give out the most basic info to properly setup a stage II cam on an engine I'm trying to get running right. Something about fear of giving out manufacturing info. Can't get stuff dialed in on just lift and duration.

Like Erik said, RSI stuff belongs in the garbage.


Harlards car is the perfect example of trash can comment

gross polluter 07-06-2017 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cosbySweater (Post 5636681)
Harlards car is the perfect example of trash can comment

That's who's drama I'm trying to sort out. The person who designed the cam flat out refusing to give any sort of information to make the cam usable makes it ****ing useless.

cosbySweater 07-06-2017 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gross polluter (Post 5636702)
That's who's drama I'm trying to sort out. The person who designed the cam flat out refusing to give any sort of information to make the cam usable makes it ****ing useless.

Yep, I wouldn't be supprised if he picked up a solid 50whp with cam swap. I think they must have ****ed up the lobe phasing going with a split duration cam because the stage 3 seems to be the only one worth a damn

gross polluter 07-06-2017 11:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cosbySweater (Post 5636708)
Yep, I wouldn't be supprised if he picked up a solid 50whp with cam swap. I think they must have ****ed up the lobe phasing going with a split duration cam because the stage 3 seems to be the only one worth a damn

I'm pretty convinced whoever designed the stgII cam either had no idea what they were doing, or they knew it was a crap profile and banked on the "two stroke" characteristics of the exhaust profile to make people's cars "feel" fast to justify the purchase.

gsellstr 07-07-2017 01:59 AM

Kinda funny, given the rest of the work on his car, it should be a hell of a lot faster than it is. Didn't realize he had the RSI in there.

t8fanning 07-07-2017 02:55 AM

I really like the RSI stage 3 cam.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.