home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2018, 10:12 AM   #1
jmc0369
Board Member
 
jmc0369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: San Diego
Default Tilton / Wilwood pedals install: welding req?

In a 240; anyone know if welding would be required to install balance bar pedal boxes from Wilwood or Tilton? Looking at the Tilton 600.
__________________
Member: TBCCS

"Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery; only ourselves can free our minds" - you know who!

"It is no measure of health to well adjusted to a profoundly sick society" - Jidu Krishnamurti
jmc0369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 12:53 PM   #2
jmc0369
Board Member
 
jmc0369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: San Diego
Default

https://store.garagistic.com/e30-boo...ss-brake-setup

BMW e30 adapter for Wilwood/Tilton pedals could help?
jmc0369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 01:09 PM   #3
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Considering it would be a 100% custom pedal setup...I'm going to go out on a limb and say welding would be required somehow.
__________________
1984 B6304S/AW30-40 w/Poi-Shift.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 02:44 PM   #4
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc0369 View Post
In a 240; anyone know if welding would be required to install balance bar pedal boxes from Wilwood or Tilton? Looking at the Tilton 600.
Do you want floor mount or over-hung?

If you're going for the race car look, floor mount will most likely be easier as you just have to weld in a plate to the floor. You can even make the position adjustable by adding a few sets of mounting holes. Downside is that you'd have to rig up a throttle cable or lever to the stock throttle pedal. Also, hydro clutch is going to be a must.

I adapted a Tilton bias bar to a stock pedal assembly so dual MCs could be used along with a cable clutch, and it works fine. It's just a lot of work, especially reinforcing/modifying the stock pedal bracket. If I were to do it again, I'd probably go floor mount.

That e30 plate is pretty neat, and something like that could be made for a 240. Downside is the MCs are going to be a pain to plumb and work on as they sit behind the dash.

This firewall mounting kit from Wilwood would be easy and it's bolt-in after you cut a big hole, but you still have to figure out the throttle pedal (not that hard):

https://www.wilwood.com/MasterCylind...emno=250-13167

I'd also recommend reinforcing the firewall/bulkhead as it flexes a lot on a 240.
__________________
Cult Person. Pissing in your Kool-Aid.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 10:08 AM   #5
stick70
All the gauges
 
stick70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Default

Maybe not supremely helpful but I'm using an overhung Tilton assy on my 122, it's just hanging on a frame I welded to the firewall. I wanted to run a bottom mount setup but the angle of the firewall did not allow me to push them far enough forward to be comfortable. I'd do some measuring to make sure you don't run into the same issues in a 240. I really like the Tilton assemblies as literally everything is adjustable. Many other manufacturer's pedals are not.

__________________
Kyle and the "Projects" -- '84 242 TI -- '66 220 S -- '89 Supra Turbo -- '84 Rabbit GTI
stick70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 01:15 PM   #6
jmc0369
Board Member
 
jmc0369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: San Diego
Default

Thanks for the input on all fronts. Gett Ng the parts lined up and will post pics here of my work.
jmc0369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 11:42 AM   #7
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

The wilwood master bolts right in the stock location. Bosses are already in the firewall. Just run a hydraulic line to your slave cylinder of choice.
Why complicate things unneccesarily?
__________________
I coulda had a V8!
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 01:37 PM   #8
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Bolts in. May have to oblong one factory hole like I did in my 940. Best pedal assembly ever. I dont regret not trying to find 30 year old dingy hardware for this purpose. Willwood piece is very nice.
__________________
If you had the audacity , to doubt my veracity, and even to insinuate, that I scrupulously prevaricate ,such an insignificant question. Then you must hallucinate before you comprehend.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.