home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2014, 02:01 PM   #26
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Okay the stock lh2.2 EZK chip is also the ECU chip and it's 40 pins of DIP configuration. If you want to use your real time moates emulator with this you have to figure out how to disable the onboard ram on the stock chip by lifting a leg or cutting it and then tying in a 32 pin socket so you can then use a 27c256 chip to put the program on that the ECU runs. Then you can put your emulator in the 32 pin socket and emulate the program with your laptop while you drive.

If you want to program up the stock 40 pin chips you need the MCS-48
adapter and then you'd need to modify it so it would actually work. Let me know if you get the adapter and need the info on how to modify it so it will actually work with these old chips.


I'm using 8749H chips, similar the same, but eeproms on the rom side so you can program them and erase them and reuse. I get them on ebay.
__________________
1988 245 White slicktop M47 Wagon! 2.5L NA 8v going in.
1990 745 B230FT Getrag JohnV flywheel 240mm clutch 13c A-cam 3.54 G80 548K MILES
1991 740SE B230FT NPR Strut braces IPD bar A cam 550cc EV14's. 3.73 G80 M90 to put in.

Last edited by sbabbs; 10-18-2014 at 11:25 AM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 07:07 PM   #27
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
.

If you want to program up the stock 40 pin chips you need the 40 pin adapter and then you'd need to modify the 40 pin wilhelm adapter so it would actually work. Let me know if you get the adapter and need the info on how to modify it so it will actually work with these old chips.


I'm using 8749H chips, similar the same, but eeproms on the rom side so you can program them and erase them and reuse. I get them on ebay.
I bought P8049 chips, the USB willem PCB6.0 I have has the 40 pin socket....



This won't work?
__________________

My XR July2013 - 446AWHP @ 8K rpm
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 05:36 PM   #28
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

I don't know if it will work. Does your software list the P8049 chip as being one it can program? Only way to find out it try it. I'm assuming you can only program those P8049 chips once unless you can electrically erase them. I get the utra violet erasable ones myself.

It is real hard to program up these old chips with the newer USB programmers. I know my willem with the MODIFIED 40 pin adapter does it. I had to modify it to get it to work. See below my mods.

Last edited by sbabbs; 03-01-2018 at 05:38 PM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 06:00 PM   #29
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

New chips need erasing first? Doesn't make sense.
The company I bought the PCB6 from said I need a PCB5 & the adaptor board you mentioned. Presumably the 5 uses different software as the 6 uses Minipro which does not list the 8049 chip.

What software do you use for these chips?
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 11:41 PM   #30
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

I got a willem PCB 3b and a PCB4.1 and PCB6. I use the MCS-48 adapter from willem also and whatever version of the willem software, older version Not sure on the name, it's all on a different computer. I'll try and find them and take a picture for you with the adapter also, not sure where it is at the moment...

New chips don't need erasing, but you can buy chips that are write once or ones you can electrically erase or ones you can ultra violet light erase. What did you buy? Write once?

Last edited by sbabbs; 10-18-2014 at 11:23 AM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 11:58 PM   #31
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Also I programmed a bunch of 8749's with my PCB6 willem, but I got the one with parallel port for programming and external power supply. I did buy the 4.1 as they said it would work, but had same problem until I modded the mcs-48 adapter. It's a power issue, power has to be just right for it to program properly and those USB powered programmers are just not up to the task.




Basically I got three willem programmers and they all work, handy to have each one set up for different chips.



You gotta solder a resistor and cap across these two pins to make the 48 pin adapter work with these old chips.



Sandrow
April 22nd, 2013, 03:55 PM
After a fair amount of observation and experimentation, I soldered a 1M resistor and a 5000pf capacitor in parallel between pins 20 and 25 on the MCS-48 target socket. Problem solved. Programming happily away.

Hope that helps someone.

jml

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcfo.../t-24379.html?

Once again solved my programming these 40 pin ECU with ram chips. Any of my programmers work. They all use external power supplies.

Last edited by sbabbs; 05-13-2018 at 12:40 AM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 08:11 PM   #32
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
Also I programmed a bunch of 8749's with my PCB6 willem, but I got the one with parallel port for protgramming and external power supply. I did buy the 4.1 as they said it would work, but had same problem until I modded the mcs-48 adapter.
Once again solved my programming these 40 pin ECU with ram chips. Any of my programmers work. They all use external power supplies.
OK - I need to find an old PC desktop before I go any further with this.

With the LH TunerPro XDF .....

Thought I'd post here - Can you enlighten me on the table values in TunerPro? For example, do the values need to be raised or lowered in Acceleration Enrichment to increase fueling?

lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 08:36 AM   #33
VB242
Sexual healer
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

I'm no programmer but looking at the different windows you have up there it would seem the lower the number = more fuel
__________________
1980 primer JDM flares franken-242DL, 1989 silver 780 sienna rear spring nivomat delete
VB242 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 06:50 PM   #34
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Higher number more fuel.
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 10:59 PM   #35
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
Higher number more fuel.
Thank you.
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:35 AM   #36
mrjaybeeze
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: norway
Default

Hi Simon

Why not incorporate the twin main fuel maps into the XDF ?
Even if you have to modify the maps correctly by using Ragnars editor you can still copy and paste between bins ...

YS
Jaybee
__________________
ipdown.net/jetronic.info/tiki-index.php
Site open in "lame mode"
If you have some issues
just send me a message
mrjaybeeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 11:30 AM   #37
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Jaybee,

Yeah good idea. I'd do it but not sure when I'd get to doing it. I don't do any main fuel adjustments myself. I don't even have a lh2.2 car. If you could do it and post it, and explain real good how to adjust the maps that would be great.

MR Jaybee is talking about the LH 2.2 Fuel ECU map programming problem in his post above, FYI. Nothing to do with the EZK ignition map programming. Totally different tunerpro XDF that needs work to make the fuel map modifiable. Check my fuel ECU chips page for that info.

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...ighlight=simon

Last edited by sbabbs; 05-13-2018 at 12:47 AM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 05:41 PM   #38
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Bump let's keep this going, someone figure out where that rev limit is in this lh2.2 EzK bin!
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 01:53 PM   #39
rom
Board Member
 
rom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: With mintyfresh.
Default

holy thread resurrection.
__________________
Religious people scare me.
rom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 12:38 AM   #40
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

You mean people still drive lh2.2 volvo's? Back on target here. Maybe a mod could delete all the posts that have no info about working on the LH 2.2 fuel and ignition system? Holy de-erections scare me..

Here is the stock LH 2.2 non turbo 8v 011 EZK bin.

Here is a LH 2.2 EZK non turbo 16v bin. Made by replacing ignition map with lh2.4 16v NA 147 ignition map.

Check first page for 8v and 16v LH2.2 turbo bins and TunerPro XDF for tuning your own..

I got two LH 2.2 already chippable EZK's done and tested ready to go!
Attached Files
File Type: zip 011 8v NA stock 1.zip (1.8 KB, 9 views)
File Type: zip 011 16v NA stock147map 1.zip (1.8 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by sbabbs; 05-13-2018 at 04:43 PM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.