home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2019, 10:21 PM   #1
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default Rough idle? 940

So I just cleaned the MAF and still has a rough idle I'm not sure if it could be a vacuum leak be cause most of the vaccum ports have been capped
It starts and runs great no problems there but at idle it'll only itll flutter up and down and run rough along with if I go from high boost and I put the clutch in to either coast or putting it in neutral itll drop down and the engine will stall
Any ideas?
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 11:51 AM   #2
shoestring
Board Member
 
shoestring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swampscott, 01907
Default

Is it a rough idle or is the idle "hunting"?
shoestring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:16 PM   #3
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

More hunting it is either 600 or 1000 idle but the engine shakes a little not like a a misfire but more like a caammed feel I guess
It also doesnt have a o2 sensor but I doubt that's the issue
It has a megnaflow cat and muffler as well
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:18 PM   #4
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

Like I said it runs and drives just fine but doesnt run smooth
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 11:48 AM   #5
J_pelchy
Turd Blow Bricks
 
J_pelchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Default

Having what sounds like the same issue with mine and can't figure it out for the life of me. I feel like we've gone through anything it could be and it hasn't always done it.
Compression is good, tried different MAFs, different injectors, changed crusty vacuum lines, checked plugs and wires and swapped dizzy all without luck.
__________________
Flint, Mi
*Volvo Enthusiasts of Michigan*
Instagram // 810_volvos

Feedback
J_pelchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 01:27 PM   #6
iHateVolvoPeople
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Midwest
Default

Clean the inevitably filthy throttle plate and throttle body, and check IAC motor for functionality. I have cleaned them with a solvent/lubricant with good luck.
__________________
Feedback Thread
Current:
93' 244T M47
90' 744 AW70
95' Camry A140E, 246k
99' Camry A140E.
96' Camry wagon, v6 auto
Past (Volvos):
80' 242gt M46
88' 245T M47
92' 945T AW71
94' 945T AW71
90' 745T AW71 (Donor car for the 91)
90' 745 NA sold
93' 945T in burgundy
91' 745 Regina AW701 turbo (traded for 96 Camry wagon)
93' 245 M47



People think Volvos are good cars until they drive cars that are actually good.
iHateVolvoPeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 02:30 PM   #7
2manyturbos
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Monroe, OR USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redheaded sailor bum View Post
More hunting it is either 600 or 1000 idle but the engine shakes a little not like a a misfire but more like a caammed feel I guess
It also doesnt have a o2 sensor but I doubt that's the issue
It has a megnaflow cat and muffler as well
The O2 sensor is a critical part in maintaining the correct fuel/air mixture, yet, you doubt that could be the issue. Think again.
2manyturbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:23 PM   #8
iHateVolvoPeople
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Midwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2manyturbos View Post
The O2 sensor is a critical part in maintaining the correct fuel/air mixture, yet, you doubt that could be the issue. Think again.
Yeah I missed this. I have direct experience with this too. Some cars you can (somehow) get away with not having your narrowband hooked up. These cars are not one of them.
iHateVolvoPeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 08:48 AM   #9
hessam69
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

Throttle body clean #1
Replace all vacuum hoses #2
hessam69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 12:02 PM   #10
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Step 1: fix all hack work.
__________________
No Start Thread
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 02:02 PM   #11
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZVOLV View Post
Step 1: fix all hack work.
Ahaha wish it was that simple
It's just a track car for drifting if it's the 02 sensor I'm not worried to much about it I'm gonna try and clean the iac and throttle if that doesnt work then I'm gonna gonna assume it's an 02
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 03:02 PM   #12
iHateVolvoPeople
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Midwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redheaded sailor bum View Post
Ahaha wish it was that simple
It's just a track car for drifting if it's the 02 sensor I'm not worried to much about it I'm gonna try and clean the iac and throttle if that doesnt work then I'm gonna gonna assume it's an 02
Why not just connect the o2 sensor? Itís literally 3 wires man.
iHateVolvoPeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 04:06 PM   #13
redblockpowered
Board Member
 
redblockpowered's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Swampscott, MA
Default

With such an obvious defect in your system you're wasting your time chasing this issue. The oxygen sensor is effectively the building block of LH 2.4.
__________________
1993 944 B230FT/M90 thread here: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=345277
1991 245 B230FNA/M47 no thread: secret LeMons car technology abounds
1991 245 B230F/M47 no thread: very boring (320k!)
redblockpowered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 09:06 PM   #14
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

You're absolutely right my biggest problem is pretty much just waiting to find one at a scrap yard and not wanting to pay the 60$ for a new one on rockauto
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 09:16 PM   #15
iHateVolvoPeople
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Midwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redheaded sailor bum View Post
You're absolutely right my biggest problem is pretty much just waiting to find one at a scrap yard and not wanting to pay the 60$ for a new one on rockauto
Get a universal NTK and wire it up or just pull a used one one from the JY. Pretty sure Iíve been using a universal on at least one of my LH2.4 cars for a few years without issue.
iHateVolvoPeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 09:38 PM   #16
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

I'll probably hold off for another paycheck and if they land one there in my year range I'll nab it
I have credit at my local pick n pull and money's just tight band all they have is 99 and up mines a 91 so they wont match but i might know where another 240 wagon at a scrap yard a little ways out I might run by on my day off cause I still need to get a dome light
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 09:38 PM   #17
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

Never thought about nabbing a universal one though not sure on my connector situation though
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:08 AM   #18
iHateVolvoPeople
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Midwest
Default

I mean honestly probably any 3 wire will work from just about any car. Unless it’s one of those weird ones like Regina cars. Those operate at higher voltage I think.
iHateVolvoPeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 04:46 PM   #19
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

So I snagged a o2 sensor and the things was practically brand new
And still have the hunting idle
So I cleaned throttle body and the iac
Still have the issue you can still feel the engine running rough the idle spikes between 750-900 bouncing slowly
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:04 PM   #20
shoestring
Board Member
 
shoestring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swampscott, 01907
Default

Did you check to make sure the throttle blade was properly seated in the throttle bore when you had the throttle body off? When Cam got his 940 it had a constant incorrect idle issue until we reset the throttle blade. Since then, mint.
shoestring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:38 PM   #21
lummert
Board Member
 
lummert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redheaded sailor bum View Post
More hunting it is either 600 or 1000 idle but the engine shakes a little not like a a misfire but more like a caammed feel I guess
It also doesnt have a o2 sensor but I doubt that's the issue
It has a megnaflow cat and muffler as well
No O2 sensor? How is that working out? Running in open loop only? Never running in closed loop?
__________________
Trying to understand stupid people is like trying to pick up a turd by the clean end.
lummert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:42 PM   #22
lummert
Board Member
 
lummert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redheaded sailor bum View Post
I'll probably hold off for another paycheck and if they land one there in my year range I'll nab it
I have credit at my local pick n pull and money's just tight band all they have is 99 and up mines a 91 so they wont match but i might know where another 240 wagon at a scrap yard a little ways out I might run by on my day off cause I still need to get a dome light
Dome light should interchange with 88-90 760, 92-94 960, maybe even 95+ 960/S90/V90. I installed a dome light from a 92 960 in my 88 765.
lummert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:55 PM   #23
Fa182
Stage 1
 
Fa182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Austria
Default

Check the intake manifold gasket. Those can get hard and crack, which leads to a vacuum leak.
Mine crumbled apart when I changed it.
__________________
Fa182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 02:30 PM   #24
Redheaded sailor bum
Board Member
 
Redheaded sailor bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Norfolk,Va
Default

Just an update
Figured out the issue
It was the #2 spark plug not sure how but it loosed up and was making me lose compression I guess
Never seen anything like that before but thanks for the help guys
Redheaded sailor bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.