home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2013, 09:14 PM   #26
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Hi Simon

Thanks for the great information & the offer on the ECU. I'll see what the 514 looks like when it arrives & take some pics of the motherboard, etc.

Do you know how to determine the correct voltage based on brand of chip? If I buy Intel chips, for example?

SO, I should be looking at Willem programmers with external voltage supply? I figured USB would be easier, but sounds like that is either not feasible or possibly reliable given the voltage requirement. What about one like this? The documentation in your thread that shows a chip & socket location is only for turbos I presume - not the 24pin eprom for the fuel system? Or is it the same item?

My Toshiba Satellite laptop is a couple years old - I don't think it has a parallel port - I actually only use it for tuning my M4.4 on the wagon - otherwise I'm a Mac user since the mid '90's..
__________________

My XR July2013 - 446AWHP @ 8K rpm

Last edited by lookforjoe; 11-29-2013 at 09:33 PM..
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 11:18 AM   #27
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lookforjoe View Post
Yes, the AMM adjustment is very straightforward, and with the Volvo tool (which I still have from my days @ Volvo in the '80's) is a no-brainer - but, there is a limited window of adjustment. The point is not to end up at the extreme end with no further latitude for adjustment. I'm getting EV1 19lb injectors, which will be inbetween the stock Fiat & Volvo flow rate.

The main reason for modding the fuel maps is to shift the entire operating window, so that the median adjustment is still in the 'normal' range for the system as it was intended.
Ahhh..... That makes sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lookforjoe View Post
Some of the SAAB guys have modded fuel maps & reprogammed chips, so I'm hoping I can pick their brains on that.
Jak Stol? I know he did his share so he's another you may want to check in with.
__________________
Quote:
For all you Dijkstra fanboys:

Knuth also cites a letter sent to him by Dijkstra, in which the latter adds some nuance to this earlier statements: "Please don't fall into the trap of believing that I am terribly dogmatical about [the go to statement]. I have the uncomfortable feeling that others are making a religion out of it, as if the conceptual problems of programming could be solved by a single trick, by a simple form of coding discipline!"
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 02:20 PM   #28
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Yes that programmer looks sort of like mine and it also lists the 27c32 as being able to program. As far as what chips and how to program them like intel ones some of those you can find that info on the web otherwise some say printed on the top of the chip what voltage to program at. Otherwise it's a guessing game, but you should be able to find some info one the web about specific chips. I've never had problems reprogramming the stock saab chips. You only really need the one chip if you have an ultraviolet eraser.... You will need to buy one of those if you want to erase a stock chip or any UV chip and reprogram it. I've never ever used the electrically erasable chips ever... But I have glitched and unloopered a few sat cards in the old days.
__________________
1988 245 White slicktop M47 Wagon! 2.5L NA 8v going in.
1990 745 B230FT M46 13c A-cam 3.54 540K MILES slippin clutch
1991 740SE B230FT NPR Strut braces IPD bar A cam 550cc EV14's. M90 to put in.
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:59 PM   #29
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Can you share the LH22edit? I can't find any active links to it anywhere...

EDIT - can I just use an Ostrich 2.0 with socket booster instead of programming chips? Is there any significant benefit to doing it this way? Can't tell from their site what software would be used, either...

Last edited by lookforjoe; 12-01-2013 at 10:08 PM..
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:45 PM   #30
nickm
Board Member
 
nickm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sydney australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lookforjoe View Post
Can you share the LH22edit? I can't find any active links to it anywhere...

EDIT - can I just use an Ostrich 2.0 with socket booster instead of programming chips? Is there any significant benefit to doing it this way? Can't tell from their site what software would be used, either...
PM me.
nickm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:51 PM   #31
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Yeah let me boot up my other puter that it is on and see if I can upload it right here.

File too big...

Last edited by sbabbs; 12-02-2013 at 12:30 AM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:25 PM   #32
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

OK. Ordered some (new) Intel 2732a chips and a PCB05 Willem Programmer.

Got the 514 ECU, which is socketed and has a removable chip. Neither the 544 or 554 ECU have anything in the chip location.

Got the 514 bin off the SaabNet forum, and LH22Editor from nickm
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 09:39 PM   #33
nickm
Board Member
 
nickm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sydney australia
Default

Here are some Volvo maps, interesting to see the difference between the Volvo and Saab one.
Volvo 591 ECU is a socketed volvo turbo version not sure if the NA got a similar unit.
The bin files are small so it is easy to see/search the difference in them.


There as a guide on how to convert the non socketed ecu around. It is not hard to do.

http://forum.ecuproject.com/showthre...ns-files-here?
nickm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 10:12 PM   #34
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Yeah the guide is on my lh2.2 chips for sale thread on how to add the socket. I sell the stuff to do that for $10 if you buy my chip. When you look at the 591 bin, it's the same as the 541 which is the same as the 518... Did you notice I uploaded most of those volvo 2.2 bins on ecuproject?

Also all the 511 na ECU's I've seen all have the chip but no socket so you just cut the chip out and put in a socket.. Then you can even put in a turbo chip and run it in a turbo... Every 518 turbo ECU I've seen has the chip and socket.. It's the original 2.2 turbo ECU so harder to find sort of like finding a 591. I have found quite a few 541's with the chip and socket stock also.

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...ighlight=simon
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 11:28 PM   #35
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

sbabbs - I'm a member on ecuproject, but I can't access any of the files you uploaded over there ; -(

I'm curious where the bin is stored on ECU's that have no chip present? Neither the 544, or 554 Volvo ECU's I have have the chip. EDIT - just saw that it's stored in the processor, on models without memory chip.

I'm glad I bought the Saab 514 ECU - I can easily remove the chip since it has the socket already :-)

A question about using later injectors - I have composite body Bosch 16lb'ers (0280155742), but they are 14.5ohm vs 16.2ohm (listed spec for LH2.2 NA injectors (0280150209). Found this reference chart. Can I use them anyway? Add 1.8ohm resistors? One Saab guy switched out the pintle style for the composite body, but he used 850 injectors (0280155759), which are also 16.ohm.... any thoughts on this?

Last edited by lookforjoe; 12-05-2013 at 08:16 PM.. Reason: Correcting Bosch number for 850 inj
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:12 AM   #36
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Impedance wise they are high like the stock ones so should work fine in that aspect. That amount difference isn't enough. Long as the four you use are all the same. Let me know if there are any files you need.
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:23 AM   #37
nickm
Board Member
 
nickm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sydney australia
Default

Simon i did note it was you. I have sold my 740 so no need any more, just sharing what I have learnt.
I remember burning roms when first working on PC stuff successes rate was not that high even then.
There is some interesting stuff on my 850R ecu on that site.

lookforjoe, They are in a dropbox now.
nickm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:59 PM   #38
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
Impedance wise they are high like the stock ones so should work fine in that aspect. That amount difference isn't enough. Long as the four you use are all the same. Let me know if there are any files you need.
OK - that's good to note. I sent a PM re one Volvo BIN.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm View Post
lookforjoe, They are in a dropbox now.
Maybe that's why the links don't work...
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:22 PM   #39
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Thanks for the link to the BINs Nick

Comparison of LH & composite injectors



The slot for the retainer in the rail is different offset for all three. I will machine a new groove in the black 16.7lbers to match the LH approx 8.5mm from filter basket tip so that the head is not stressed to fit the spring retaining clip
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 10:23 PM   #40
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Problems with the software - got this on install



and cannot use any functions such as Read or Close within the program. Have to force quit.



On the setup fro programming, I moved the jumpers and DIP switches according to this screenshot, just not sure about the ICSP pins, as there is no jumper for them...

lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:58 AM   #41
VB242
One hundred gift baskets
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lookforjoe View Post
Thanks for the link to the BINs Nick

Comparison of LH & composite injectors



The slot for the retainer in the rail is different offset for all three. I will machine a new groove in the black 16.7lbers to match the LH approx 8.5mm from filter basket tip so that the head is not stressed to fit the spring retaining clip
I heated a razor knife with a propane torch which easily cut new grooves in the tip.
__________________
Bruten tegelsten
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:34 PM   #42
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

More problems. It never occurred to me that I wouldn't be able to use the software on a PC laptop. I have a newer one that runs Win7 and a older one that runs XP. The vendor says that I need a PC desktop. The software doesn't like 64bit environment, also. Being a Mac user since the 90's I know nothing about PC idiosyncrasies. Can't find a DB25M to DB15M cable to go from the programmer to the laptop either. What a cluster****.


Last edited by lookforjoe; 12-10-2013 at 03:01 PM..
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 03:27 PM   #43
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

My willhelm used the old 25pin parrallela printer port and matching cable. It's got way more pins then a 9 pin serial port. Most laptops don't have that big paralela ports anymore at all. I'm pretty sure the new willhem version5 like you have does USB also..

Yeah I've only ever programmed chips with older P4 windows xp machines and I turn printer spooling off with the windows task manager by hitting control alt delete to bring that up.

I'll download that version of the software you are using and take a look at it, but what your problem is, is the software doesn't see the programmer.. Don't worry about the ICSP pins at all.


Can't find a DB25M to DB15M cable to go from the programmer to the laptop either. What a cluster****.

This will never work, that db15m is a monitor port...

To use parellel printer port it's 25 pin to 25 pin cable only, no other ports are that...

9 pin is serial port, that won't work..

15 pin is for a monitor or screen, that won't work.

Now your newer willhelm has USB, try that... But the USB might only supply power for this willhem I'm not sure about that. Read the directions..

One thing is don't give up, it might seem daunting but it's easy once you do one and figure it out.

Go get an old PC P4 or amd designed for and running XP 32 bit and use that for this. Cheap, $20 or so any used place.. Remember 32 bit, so any PC 2.0 gigahurts to 3.0 P4 or AMD, even a 1.5gigahurts. I still use a P3 500 megahurts windows 2000 operation system even for this..

Last edited by sbabbs; 12-10-2013 at 03:48 PM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 04:10 PM   #44
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Ok - thanks for the input!

I'm going to get the somewhat more costly True USB Programmer which will work in Win7, and use USB for power & data. The one I bought is USB power only, not data transfer - he'll take this one back in exchange, since I haven't actually used it. This will be the easiest route for me.
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:49 PM   #45
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Okay but remember what I said about those USB programmers being able to properly program the 2732 chips... If you look at what it says about that one you bought it says right in the specs close to the top that it has a better supply for doing the older 2732 chips.. I've read people have problems programming these chips with the USB only ones.. But talk to who your getting it from see what they say about the USB only one programming 2732 chips ask them if they've done it...

THat willhem that have says this..

New software supports over 100 more chips Works well & stable on EPROMS: 2716, 2732..

Simon
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:01 PM   #46
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Yes, that was my concern when looking at these to begin with, based on your findings with burning these chips.
I have been emailing back & forth with their tech guy all day on this - I made it very clear that all I want to do is read and burn 2732 chips. He says the true USB (is a completely different design than data cable style) willem has inboard DC/DC up converter IC's - he says this will provide stable voltage for writing older chips. We'll see.

Last edited by lookforjoe; 12-10-2013 at 09:56 PM..
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 02:29 AM   #47
al_ngl
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lafayette, IN
Default

lookforjoe:

Sorry, not to threadjack, buy I'd be very interested in how you do your fuel rail fabrication, as I had considered changing to the more conventional style injectors on my X1/9 as well. I had also thought about converting to LH jetronic, I'm glad someone is pioneering this venture for the X1/9, it may mean being able to save a lump of cash on not going straight to Megasquirt or the like (especially if I ever get the opportunity to turbo my Fiat).
__________________
'90 Volvo 760 Turbo Wagon. 196K miles. B230FT, AW71. iPd turbo camshaft+pulley, Bilstein HDs, strut tower brace, iPd Swaybars, 16" Elbrus wheels on spacers

'95 Volvo 940 Sedan. 274K miles. B230FD, AW71L. The "New" car. Antila wheels on spacers, iPd VX camshaft. 150mi/work day

Sold-'91 Volvo 240 Sedan

FOR SALE $300 OBO/Trade wheels: 240 steel wheels with Goodyear Ultragrip WINTER Tires

Non-Volvo:
1980.5 FIAT X1/9. The back-road and autocross toy.

1979 Yamaha XS Eleven
al_ngl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 10:41 PM   #48
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

I'm making my own runners to go between the plenum and the head - which will have late style injector bungs in the center instead of angled from the sides.




Once I have these mocked up with the flanges, I can figure out the rail. Probably gonna get a honda rail and redrill for the needed spacing. I was going to try and use a
Volvo rail, but the spacing is all wrong. Easier to work with a billet rail.
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 08:56 PM   #49
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Got the Willem USB programmer. Software runs in Win7



Read & copied the 514bin



514 board & socket




Got 5 new Intel chips to program once I figure out how to lean out the fuel map



Found a Honda rail that I can repurpose/re-drill for the Fiat port spacing - two ports (1, 4) align OK

lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 12:15 AM   #50
lookforjoe
Board Member
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Modified a LH2.4 harness for LH2.2 - removed the ECU connector & rewired into the 25 pin EZK connector (which matches the LH2.2 ECU





Cutting down the harness to match the X1/9 proportions and component locations



On more of a tuning note, can anyone tell me whether the values in the fuel table have to be raised or lowered to lean the map? The injectors I'm using are 16.75% lower flow than the stock 19lb'ers.

Last edited by lookforjoe; 12-04-2016 at 07:32 PM..
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.