home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2017, 08:54 PM   #26
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Hello Poularis ,Thanks I will keep you in mind.
Happy new year guys .Finally I got to do some measurements and I might just clear the intake. I might have to cut the main support about an inch if I dont clear the hood. I got about an inch 2 play but the hood support might touch the intake.I am already recutting the oil pan to the max. My concern now is the rack and pinion. I gotta measure to see if it clears or will end up drpping it about an inch as well. For sure the sway bar is gonna have to go and use the one I pulled from the cressy. I wonder how the orange volvo has the 7mgte oil pan set up.
Ok If you guys have any idea, please sent me a reply.
TTyl.
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 10:12 PM   #27
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

will send pictures

Last edited by brickcupra; 02-12-2017 at 06:40 PM.. Reason: not posted
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 06:19 PM   #28
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default more pictures

Hi , this are some more images of the motor mounts done and installed. They cleared the center support and I did not have to do anything with the rack Also the last pictures are from the pipe that connects to the heater core. Had it tigged and I gave a new coat of paint
ENJOY!!!!
https://postimg.org/image/vfu72ym8h/
https://postimg.org/image/rl0rw0tpp/
https://postimg.org/image/5m7ljuyax/
https://postimg.org/image/bhx9e7bdl/
https://postimg.org/image/gcrrx8gj3/
https://postimg.org/image/kgku9eiep/
https://postimg.org/image/sf6tlwwdz/
https://postimg.org/image/fgaxv9lf1/
https://postimg.org/image/655z6427l/
https://postimg.org/image/56bgq75mn/

Last edited by brickcupra; 02-10-2017 at 08:49 PM..
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 09:00 AM   #30
MoCounselor
Board Member
 
MoCounselor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Midwest, USA
Default

[QUOTE=brickcupra;5510497]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMaysHere View Post
get to reading:
Old info and discussion about the swap
Hi bill.im redrilling them myself.I used the rotor of a 2002 infinity and the center hole fits iperfect to make the pattern .Im using Chevy trailblazer studs complements of the local junk yard. I got one done already.
What model of Infiniti did the rotor come off of? I've been pondering a switch to 5x114.3 for my 242, so this would be good info to know.
MoCounselor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 09:53 PM   #31
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

infinity I 35 2002 front wheel drive. The rotor fits perfect in the hub and I used smaller drill bits to guide the big one. Once done I hammered the new studs complements of the local junk yard from trailbrazer. I gotta finish the rest of them as I am finishing the motor and tranny mounts. Good luck
https://postimg.org/image/8fonfv0af/
https://postimg.org/image/o82sk4oin/

the first pix is the volvo hub drilled using a nissan rim as a guide to keep the studs in place. I used the lug nuts to pull them with a air gun to place.
the second pix is the rim in place. Just barely missed the strut, it cleared about 1/2 inch.

Last edited by brickcupra; 02-14-2017 at 08:11 PM.. Reason: adding pictures
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 11:41 PM   #32
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Here are more pictures .
https://postimg.org/image/id7fk30zp/
https://postimg.org/image/dqalxf53z/
https://postimg.org/image/a8o0rmnod/
https://postimg.org/image/5tpylcam3/
https://postimg.org/image/3k8e9yt6x/
https://postimg.org/image/fdq8n02wr/
https://postimg.org/image/5805xc96d/

Ok Tomorrow ( Sunday )will be adapting the flat booster with toyota camry MC .
Stiil a way to go , just half way there.
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 02:20 PM   #33
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Love it! Pretty easy to get power out of the 7mgte. Has some oiling issues, (shim the oil pump), has some fuel issues (j pipe back to fuel tank, is a huge restriction-on the block, and needs larger fuel pump), and they suffer from too much ignition timing in general. Of course the head is so long it has to have studs and metal gasket, really even if its not getting leaned on. That r154 is the bees knees!!! I recommend a to4e 54 trim wheel stuffed in the ct26 cartridge and clip the hot side a few degrees, gave me 373 wheel at 15psi on stock stuff(hks fcd, walbro 255, and a cheap intercooler). Great, fun, street turbo.

I look forward to reading more on this, Good luck!
__________________
If you had the audacity , to doubt my veracity, and even to insinuate, that I scrupulously prevaricate ,such an insignificant question. Then you must hallucinate before you comprehend.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 10:11 PM   #34
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default hey!!!!

Hello haltechsupra!!! thanks for reading my blog!!!! I know bout the oil leak issues. did not know bout the oil pump. I do know bout the fuel pump, I have a Bmw one. Is a lot thicker than stock pump. I am using the return line from the Volvo. The r 154 is the best. It fitted about 95 % in the tunnel, I just need to bang the right side with a rubber mallet to clear a notch. Clutch pedal assembly still on the works with a combination of Toyota pedals from a Celica, echo, supra and cressida as in using a lilttle bit of all of them. I gotta figure out the driveshaft thing and I am wondering if the universal joint is the same size from the volvo and the r 154 due to the fact that the Volvo transmission is a jap, Aisin brand. Today I got the slave cylinder cause I was using on for a bmw but it was crappy and not centered.
I WILL BE POSTING MORE pictures soon as I am in the process of moving the Cupra to another location. Gotta be in cause I have 2 work at 5 am
Take care
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 02:21 AM   #35
BillyMaysHere
Board Member
 
BillyMaysHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San franpsycho
Default







__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John V, outside agitator View Post
I am actually the gentlest and kindest of souls, you know that...I wish peace and happiness to everybody
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forg View Post
Was a sandals-and-socks elbow-patch-cardigan-wearing bearded college-professor 10mph-under-the-limit-in-the-fast-lane typical Volvo buyer from 1993 really caring about some sort of limited edition numbering?
BillyMaysHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 03:00 AM   #36
Fumomike
Board Member
 
Fumomike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Valdosta, GA
Default

Wow this is epic. I can only dream of doing a motor swap into my Volvo. Do you get to keep the stock air conditioning or will you need to fabricate it?
Fumomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 02:06 AM   #37
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default Stock A/C

Hey , the factory a/c went caput!!! It was already non-operational due to the rust on some of the lines and the condenser hit the fan, or the fan hit the condenser and scraped the hell of it.
I have seen the 740 a/c system and I might work something out with it. For now I am trying to get the cpu and the plumbing done, and today I got a new place where to park the brick cause where I had it was rented and I was in a rush to get a place to put it. Thank God I talk to a friend and he has a friend with an empty garage which is garage and a half with plenty of space for a 4 cab Ford f 450 and alarmed too!!!!.
Iam also finishing the lug pattern and I have the right done. The Nissan Maxima 7 spoke 17 inch wheels fit like factory in the back, no rubbing at all. I put another car inside the brick because it was almost all the parts from the cressida except the front seats and some more crap I have kept for the project. Will do more pictures as soon as I get a break. I dont have to wake up a t 4 am cause I am off Woohoo!!!'See ya!

Last edited by brickcupra; 02-24-2017 at 02:10 AM.. Reason: mispelling
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 11:02 PM   #38
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Hey Guys , I have been working on the volvo for 4 days in a row mostly on the clutch, brake pedal assembly. I got the master clutch cylinder installed and the bracket for the pedal.Also I finally got a new slave cylinder because the one I had was from a beemer and was not sitting strait. I reused the same brake line I had on the Cressida cause it has a braided spot. It was rusty so I wire wheeled and used shrink tubbing to protect it a bit from the rust.
The clutch pedal assembly took a little to make it stiff cause It is from a Toyota as well and had to cut and grind and add brackets as well as welding some extra items in the brake pedal , yes I used the brake pedal from the cressida cause it is heavy duty and required less bending with the hammer compared to the clutch pedal from the Cressida and Echo. The brake pedal has to be reworked due to the fact that ( I am listening to Sade remixes) the booster stud is longer and I had to cut some of the pedal to make it fit. I was able to reinforce it wit a piece of 1/4 steel complements of the scrap metal at work, in which also supplies the welding machine( my work station,lol). I broke the brake switch plastic tip cause I did not know the car had 2 switches. I figured that the one in the bottom was for the cruise control so I pulled it out to the side 4 now and I had switches saved from the junk yard and I had 2 from a Subaru wrx and I moved it to the bottom. Very simple and even the plugs worked with the new switch.I had to add a bracket because since the booster stud was slightly to the left, I shaved some of the pipe to center the bracket and I added the 90 degree plate to make the new switch work.Now I just need to do the gas pedal cause I don't think the Volvo pedal works 4 it , or Cant It work? It might cause almost everything fits easier that I have thought of before the project. I brought the shift assembly maybe in the hopes of rearrange it for a stick shift lever. thats another time.
Here are some more pics!!!!! enjoy. ( some might be repeats, sorry bout that )
https://postimg.org/image/e6uea1ojx/
https://postimg.org/image/szzi1boyp/
https://postimg.org/image/ey4q135e5/
https://postimg.org/image/l5tdzk481/
https://postimg.org/image/raeqr28yx/
https://postimg.org/image/4ld5864up/
https://postimg.org/image/rnhfrix0l/
https://postimg.org/image/j5ujnvph7/
https://postimg.org/image/67wklsv29/
See ya!!!
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 05:18 AM   #39
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Hi , just a quick note, I was able to use the same gas pedal and I converted to the Cressy combo using the gas pedal wire form the toyota. Also I am using a GM alternator to get more amps( Toyota 70/80 amps, GM 105 amps) and I custom made a bracket for adjustment. I began putting things back like the radiator support and I also cut about 3/4 inch in front of the harmonic balancer for clearance on the timing belt change. Later I will post pictures. Is 4 am here
See ya
Dz
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 01:33 PM   #40
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Love it!
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 09:56 PM   #41
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Hey Halteck , Gotta question? How to you shim the oil pump?
thanks for checking my progress.
Today I installed the turbo and I made a new plate seal out of stainless steel cause I lost the original one. Also I will be using the electric fan that comes for the A/c for cooling. It takes time but saving those bits and pieces reaaaalllyyy pays off. I just gotta get an intercooler to put it on front caus ethe one for the saab is a no-go, too wide.
Manana i will post pictures
Seeya
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 11:32 PM   #42
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Hi there. Bewteen yesterday and today I got some more done. Instaled turbo and installed Toyota radiator. I an using the Volvo radiator as an intercooler till I get a deal on one that actually fits the place
Enjoy the pictures
DZ
https://postimg.org/image/h44wk83fn/
https://postimg.org/image/s8e0f2e4v/
https://postimg.org/image/yrv10wqov/
https://postimg.org/image/en2hr6oud/
https://postimg.org/image/3sutsi3on/
https://postimg.org/image/90wbhtxr3/
https://postimg.org/image/3ul0ksdal/
https://postimg.org/image/erwcy3ex7/
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 12:23 AM   #43
BillyMaysHere
Board Member
 
BillyMaysHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San franpsycho
Default







BillyMaysHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 12:24 AM   #44
BillyMaysHere
Board Member
 
BillyMaysHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San franpsycho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickcupra View Post
I an using the Volvo radiator as an intercooler till I get a deal on one that actually fits the place
no
BillyMaysHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 12:28 AM   #45
BillyMaysHere
Board Member
 
BillyMaysHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San franpsycho
Default

BillyMaysHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 12:31 AM   #46
BillyMaysHere
Board Member
 
BillyMaysHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San franpsycho
Default

get an ebay special and do it like this http://forums.turbobricks.com/showpo...0&postcount=17
BillyMaysHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 05:11 PM   #47
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

hey Thanks!!! nice set up. Ok I will se how's my budget cause i am really trying to get with the less possible expense done, cause I really got some bills.
The bottle with the white cap is my custom made pressure washer. I dont have access to a hose so I am taking water in gallons an I squirt it with the highly modified universal solvent aparatus( coke bottle with a lucas oil cap ,lol)
DZ.
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 10:55 PM   #48
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

Hi guys. I spent some time yesterday figuring out the driveshaft set up. I have some steel ramps and I was able to get a clearer view of what needs to be done. For now I postponed it but I remembered the trans hitting the tunnel on the right side , so i stripped the interior and removed the plastic vent and banged the heck out of it from the inside and under the car. It worked!!!!!!> it was not that much that I needed to clear. At the same time I removed the front rug and noticed a tree worth of dry leaves under the hvac system and a leaking valve. I am gonna attempt to repair it, as usual, trying to keep all under budget, except for those things that most be purchased like the INTERCOOLER and a drive shaft.
Ok see ya!!
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 11:22 PM   #49
VB242
Dinky nuts, squirrel jam,
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMaysHere View Post
Either this intercooler is oversized or that guy is really tiny, I have a 740 intercooler you can have cheap plus freight
__________________
snabb tegelston
VB242 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 08:30 PM   #50
brickcupra
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago Il
Default

hey Thanks, Sadly the 740 intercooler does not fit due to the engine being about 3 inches away form the toyota radiator. I am planing to reuse the saab intercooler or get one from a saab 900 which is a short one. I removed the dashboard yesterday with all the duck work and took it home for a major clean up. It has 14 years of dust and sot and it took a while to get them clean.Dashes are hard to get here in one piece so Im gonna attempt to cover it with some leather I got about 6 months before I purchased the brick.
Ok thats all 4 now,
DZ
brickcupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.