home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > General > showroom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017, 08:39 PM   #1
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default I put a Honda Civic tach in my 240

So my 240 tach stopped working, and instead of spending the money on another one, I'm cheap and spent even less on one from a honda civic since its about the same size.

I figured with some minor trimming it should fit, and hooking it up should be easy. I used the power and ground from the cluster, and the tach signal I'm getting from MS.

Was it worth it? Probably not. It took my a couple hours, and I could have just paid a bit more for an actual 240 tach. But this was cheap, and a learning experience.

Comparison.


after some dremel work


had to modify the cluster a bit for the tach circuit board.


All wired up


back plate on


installed and working


checking it with tuner studio at different rpm, to make sure its accurate. And it is.

__________________

Last edited by daijoubanai; 12-10-2017 at 10:21 PM..
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 08:44 PM   #2
LeedomtoFreedom
Board Member
 
LeedomtoFreedom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chicago
Default

Nice job, I like little things like this. Notice any difference between the two, maybe the honda tack keeps up with the revs quicker than the 240 one.
LeedomtoFreedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:19 PM   #3
DrHutch
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Default

That's pretty awesome. Was this out of an EK civic?
DrHutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:25 PM   #4
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHutch View Post
That's pretty awesome. Was this out of an EK civic?
It was. It was one of the cheapest on ebay, so its what I went with. I think the EG tachs are pretty much the same size, and would have also worked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeedomtoFreedom View Post
Nice job, I like little things like this. Notice any difference between the two, maybe the honda tack keeps up with the revs quicker than the 240 one.
Don't know to be honest. My 240 tach hasn't worked in so long I don't even remember.
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:28 PM   #5
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Ok, now THIS is the **** I like.
Good job!
__________________
1984 B6304S/AW30-40 w/Poi-Shift.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:32 PM   #6
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Pic of installed and operating shows 900 rpm, tuner studio shows 1773, so are the pics lying? Or were the two pics at different times?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 10:01 PM   #7
brian smith
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: N.Y.
Default

Does it exhibit the better damped needle of a more contemporary tachometer, or simply a functioning replacement?
I disliked the Volvo tach so much I put the darned clock back in and used a 2 1/16" Spek in the 3-hole spot.
__________________
the howdeedoo:
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=288872
brian smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 10:05 PM   #8
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Good job!
__________________
85 GLH 367whp
00 Insight mpg > yours.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 10:20 PM   #9
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian smith View Post
Does it exhibit the better damped needle of a more contemporary tachometer, or simply a functioning replacement?
I disliked the Volvo tach so much I put the darned clock back in and used a 2 1/16" Spek in the 3-hole spot.
honestly I don't remember the original tach really having a problem. I haven't really driven around yet with this in so I'll update how it is.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwdodson88 View Post
Pic of installed and operating shows 900 rpm, tuner studio shows 1773, so are the pics lying? Or were the two pics at different times?
I was wondering if someone was going to mention that. But yes it was different times, I just didn't bother uploading the other image. It was more to say that I checked it at a range of different rpm to check for accuracy. Just to make sure I didn't have to mess with the tach calibration or anything.

Here it is though.
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 11:28 AM   #10
propav8r
F*ck Edgar
 
propav8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Franklin, NC
Default

That's a pretty cool look. Looks like the finish on the gauge face is a good match too. A little orange paint on the needle, and it would almost be unnoticeable!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotankshane View Post
If its a solid stage 0, +t it. If it aint, +t it anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
easiest way to run 11's is to build a 9 second car and turn it down a little.
My Project (It's a 1979 244DL...sort of.)
K-Jet to Megasquirt Article

The Departed: 1981 245, 1983 245 Turbo, 1983 244 Turbo, 1983 242 Turbo, 1984 244, 1985 245 Turbo, 1989 244, 1989 765, 1990 245 Turbo, 1991 244, 1992 245, 1997 855
propav8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 12:21 PM   #11
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Now swap the speedometer face.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 12:59 PM   #12
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Thumbs up.
__________________
No Start Thread
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:07 PM   #13
Ursan
الله الفول السوداني شطائر
 
Ursan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Default

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 740freak View Post
how psi a stock can support?
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedn_j View Post
I think this might be my chariot if I can jew the price down.

1990 780t Kind of Modded 1994 945t Pegz, Tintz, Hidz.
"Rear Wheel Drive, the way God intended. If a car is being pulled from the front, doesn't that mean it's being towed?"

"Lister, you are a polyp on the anus of society." - A.J. Rimmer
Ursan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:50 PM   #14
J_Jones
Board Member
 
J_Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Default

Very neat. What did you use to hold the tach to the cluster?
J_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:55 PM   #15
Mueller
Board Member
 
Mueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Antioch, CA
Default

Looks good, I like.
__________________
.........
Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 04:56 PM   #16
240240
Wookie drift missle
 
240240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SoCal drift missle utopia
Default

Looks good, now swap engine
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomletters View Post
I think I'm probably the only person who really likes the 1st gen S40/V40s. I can't wait until they turn 25 so I can import a manual one from Europe.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 240240 View Post
Any thread about cut springs, & or +T on a college students budget shall be sent to OT, flogged for 24 hours, participants in said thread shall point the OP in the correct thread link while simultaneously shaming them
240240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 06:11 PM   #17
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Jones View Post
Very neat. What did you use to hold the tach to the cluster?
Well, when I trimmed it, it just so happened to stay mostly in place by itself. Though I realized with vibration it could pop out. Between the back of the gauge circuit board and the black back cover, I just put a small piece of foam which adds just enough pressure for it to not move.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 240240 View Post
Looks good, now swap engine
too much work/money. Though I'd be totally down with it.
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 06:37 PM   #18
dl242gt
Can play the blues
 
dl242gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: S NJ, a suburb of Phila.
Default

So what type of rpm signal does this tach use? Would it use the same signal as the VDO original tach?
__________________
Dave,
1982 242 turbo. 340k miles. Good stuff and lots of rust.
1993 245 Classic, 417k miles, enem V15. IPD bars and chassis braces. Simons sport exhaust from Scandix. sbabbs ezk chip. Been a good road warrior. Genuine Volvo rebuilt leaky M47.
dl242gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 06:48 PM   #19
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl242gt View Post
So what type of rpm signal does this tach use?
Signal from Microsquirt.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:28 PM   #20
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl242gt View Post
So what type of rpm signal does this tach use? Would it use the same signal as the VDO original tach?
It uses a square wave, 5 or 12v. The original tach used a flyback voltage spike from the coil. At least I think that's what it's called. Most modern cars have been using a square wave for decades, so their tachs integrate nicely with aftermarket engine management.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:28 PM   #21
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
Signal from Microsquirt.
This. I figured I could get the signal I needed anyway because of MS, but as you can see in the picture of the laptop it was pretty straight forward.

The original signal on the civic comes from the distributor, as well as most honda's since at least the late 80's, so if you don't have MS, it probably wouldn't be difficult to do this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broke4speed View Post
It uses a square wave, 5 or 12v. The original tach used a flyback voltage spike from the coil. At least I think that's what it's called. Most modern cars have been using a square wave for decades, so their tachs integrate nicely with aftermarket engine management.
or this I guess.

Trying to get the signal from the coil like the 240 originally does probably wouldn't work, which is why I didn't try it.

Last edited by daijoubanai; 12-11-2017 at 07:34 PM..
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 09:41 PM   #22
dl242gt
Can play the blues
 
dl242gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: S NJ, a suburb of Phila.
Default

Thanks I was wondering about that signal. That may be something to do when some type of the squirt family of injection is installed on my turbo. Looks great in there. My interior is blue in my turbo so it would be a nice little blue touch.
dl242gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 10:05 PM   #23
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

Is there a switch of some sort that allows the choice between a 5V or 12V signal?
__________________
'82 242 6.2L; '17 Mazda3; '16 CrossTrek
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 10:59 PM   #24
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

No, I just don't know the exact voltage used, lol. It's either 5 or 12.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 06:54 AM   #25
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

If it went in without a 'resistor' adjustment, it's likely set up for a 12V signal just as the VDO tach was. When I hooked up the LS ecu output (5V) to the stock Volvo/VDO tach without any adjustment, it read WAY low. Had to "T" in another 12V connection through a 1000 ohm resistor.

Don't know my Civic nomenclature -- what year did the tach come out of?
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.