• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Lots of valve noise

1975v8242

Back to Basics
I just recently purchased and by recently I mean 2 days ago a 1975 242 thats had a motor swap done. The B.A.R label on the door says that in 98 the put a 1982 2.1 motor in it. Im new to the whole turbo thing and all I know is that its turbo ( water cooled), Its a 5 Speed, Its intercooled, and as far as Im concerned its fast. Now that I,ve rambled heres my question The car clacks alot and has alot of valve noise. It lopes at an idle a little so Im assuming it has a cam in it but is vlave noise common in a turbo volvo? I have alot of mechanical experience but none with volvos especially not turbos. Is this motor a solid or hydraulic lifter motor? also I pulled the valve cover off and decided I needed some seriuos help, if they are adjustable how do you do it? Im used to motors with rocker arms. As far as I can tell its stock but I dont know what Im looking at. Please some of you volvo veterans help me out.

valve noise

These ohc engines may make a little noise when they are older but you should not have loud clacking going on in there. The valve lash is adjusted by measuring the clearance and if it's off you remove the shims which are on top of the solid follower. Then you measure the shim or read it's size if it's still on there and add or subtract the amount to make the clearance correct and install a shim that size in the lifter. To change the shims you need the tool to press the follower down and either use shim pliers or a strong magnet to remove the shim.