home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2019, 04:30 PM   #1
PNW760
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Question Fuel level reads full all the time (1993 945 turbo)

I'll be quick and to the point. Installed a new in tank fuel pump in my 93 940 turbo wagon and now my fuel level reads full all the time. What did I do wrong?

Are there any diagrams/cutaways that show the sender unit from the side to get a better idea of how it's supposed to be installed if i did it wrong?

Thanks ahead of time
__________________
I'm just here for the soccer moms and grandmas
PNW760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 04:41 PM   #2
JohnMc
PV Abuser
 
JohnMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Louis
Default

Possibly(?) unrelated but I put a brand new fuel sender in my 245 a few years ago. A cheap one from eBay. I did replace the pump and wiring and hoses, but did NOT disturb or alter the fuel gauge sender wiring. And it was wired wrong, and reading backward as well. I discovered this after installing it, pulled it back out of the tank, messed around with it, discovered it was backward, then moved a couple of wires around in the pump multiplug and it works properly.
__________________
'63 PV Rat Rod
'93 245 16VT Classic #1141
JohnMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 04:58 PM   #3
PNW760
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Do you know which of the wiring exactly is the one that leads to the sender? I could take a look and see if something didn't get installed properly.
PNW760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 05:08 PM   #4
JohnMc
PV Abuser
 
JohnMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Louis
Default

240 and 940 pump/senders aren't the same at all, but this was back at the tank - there was a short harness from the sender to the car body harness.

Just saying - brand new fuel senders can be wrong.
JohnMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 02:01 AM   #5
PNW760
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Default

I guess I forgot to mention it but I never replaced my sender. Just the pump and sock. Is it even possible to source a new sender? Or am I looking for a junkyard one if I do need a new one?
PNW760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 01:11 PM   #6
rb92673
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Default

Can you take it back out and measure the resistance in the full and empty position? Then you can match it up to the expected reading and see if it is the sender or the wiring in between it and the gauge.

This thread has a picture of what the expected values should be.

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=346974

Maybe the ground is bad causing infinite resistance, which would measure full on the gauge?
rb92673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 01:25 PM   #7
Acke
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Finland
Default

Did you verify that the sender unit float(? the white plastic thingy) moved freely when reinstalled? I had some problems with getting it to move freely when I installed an AEM pump, it wanted to get stuck in the upper position. Fits nicely in the tank that way, but I guess it would cause problems when the fuel level drops.
Acke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 01:56 PM   #8
2manyturbos
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Monroe, OR USA
Default

I have a feeling you knocked the float tube loose when you reinstalled the sending unit. It snaps in place to the rest of the sending unit housing and is easy to knock apart when trying to reinstall the sending unit in the cramped location Volvo gives you to work in. The float can't move when this happens. Take it back out and see if this is the problem.
2manyturbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 09:52 PM   #9
PNW760
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Default

I’ve gone back and re-installed the whole sender. I verified that float tube moves freely and the pump was installed correctly. I didn’t touch any of the wiring but now that it’s reinstalled, it’s reading completely empty... what could it possibly be? I’m at my wits end
PNW760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 02:57 AM   #10
apachechef
Burnt Sierra Madre
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort Joe Smith, Klendathu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW760 View Post
Iíve gone back and re-installed the whole sender. I verified that float tube moves freely and the pump was installed correctly. I didnít touch any of the wiring but now that itís reinstalled, itís reading completely empty... what could it possibly be? Iím at my wits end
Perhaps you fixed the problem and the tank is truly empty?
Simple explanations first.

You didn't check to see if moving the arm moved the gauge when you had it out? bummer.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lummert View Post
Dammit, Lummert.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse8931 View Post
Well keep us updated on how your dumbass plan goes.
apachechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 12:16 PM   #11
PNW760
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Tank had plenty of gas in it. And no, I took of the negative cable on the battery, just to make sure I’m not taking any unnecessary risks when working around a large tank of flammable liquid
PNW760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 04:54 PM   #12
2manyturbos
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Monroe, OR USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW760 View Post
Iíve gone back and re-installed the whole sender. I verified that float tube moves freely and the pump was installed correctly. I didnít touch any of the wiring but now that itís reinstalled, itís reading completely empty... what could it possibly be? Iím at my wits end
There is a strip of metal that slides up and down the two rods that are wrapped with wire creating really long resistors. That piece of sheet metal may have worn through, creating a sharp edge that catches on the wire wrap. I had this happen on a Bertone many years ago. When it catches on the wire wrap, the float can't move. You might try banging on the bottom of the gas tank with a rubber mallet and see if you start to get a reading from the gage. Also, before going any further, you may want to re-flow the solder joints on your instrument cluster. You may have more than one problem going on. Have you put an ohmmeter across the sending unit connector pins to see what the resistance reading is?
2manyturbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 09:17 PM   #13
rom
Board Member
 
rom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: With mintyfresh.
Default

i mean. maybe you just have really good gas mileage. like 300+ miles to the gallon.
__________________
Religious people scare me.
rom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 06:58 AM   #14
DET17
Reformed SAABaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NW Georgia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW760 View Post
Iíve gone back and re-installed the whole sender. I verified that float tube moves freely and the pump was installed correctly. I didnít touch any of the wiring but now that itís reinstalled, itís reading completely empty... what could it possibly be? Iím at my wits end
You need a voltmeter and the circuit for the fuel sender. I considered a new sender assy. for my 92 Sedan and there were several on eBay for near $100, NOS. When all else fails, renew to zero miles and likely your issue is gone.

If you want the thrill of analysis, get the fuel circuit drawing and your meter..... the system is fairly simple. As 2manyturbos said, the design is a PITA, and you have to clock it in order to insert in position properly. There is an excellent tutorial on HOW TO in the famed 700/900 Maint. pages...... give it a read.
__________________
Project "cheap thrills" build thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...67#post4211467

Feedback thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=198746
DET17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.