home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2018, 09:02 PM   #1
Patestrickland
Board Member
 
Patestrickland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Emerald Isle, NC
Question Anyone Have 240 Guage Cluser Wiring Diagram?

Hello everyone, my gauge cluster recently stoped working and I want to see if it’s a wiring problem and see if I find any broken wires as opposed to going and buying a cluster and that not be the issue. Does anyone have the wiring diagram for a 1993 240 gauge cluster (like from the green books)? Thanks.
Patestrickland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 09:08 PM   #2
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

http://www.volvowiringdiagrams.com/v...20Diagrams.pdf
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 12:49 PM   #3
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Hiper... you happen to know any good/best practices for testing gauge clusters and/or why one would go completely dead?

Pate was over my house the other weekend to steal parts off of my parts car. He's got a project on his hands heh...
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 01:54 PM   #4
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Check the obvious stuff first. Make sure it's got good power and ground connections and that none of the terminals have spread open. If that's not it, check the PC board for any burnt tracks.
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 02:15 PM   #5
Uncleknucklez
bruspeed
 
Uncleknucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default

Check the Voltage regulator, its the 3 prong transistor thingy screwed to the metal plate on the backside of the cluster.
__________________
1980 242 Turbo
2004 V70R

Uncleknucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:43 AM   #6
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Pate mentioned that this was the ground pin in the main cluster. The connector had widened itself out. He saw on another thread that someone had the same issue so he got in there and crimped it a bit tighter and boom... working cluster.
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.