• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

240 AC pressure switch bypassed

volvowagoon

Hi all,

My girlfriend just bought an 89 245 with OKAY air conditioning. Put it this way, she preferred to drive it back to Indy from Chicago in 95 degree heat and lot of humidity with the windows up, but still broke a sweat.

I'm well aware that the factory system is less than stellar, and I don't want to ruin a good thing. However, there are some issues that worry me. It was supposedly converted to r134a, but it's still sporting an old receiver/drier up by the core support with the pressure switch bypassed.

I'm new to this particular AC system, but I'm worried that this lack of switch operation might burn up the compressor. After reading this nice article, https://www.240turbo.com/classicair.html I'm wondering if it is possible that it just need an r134a pressure switch that trips at a lower temp. While I have the system evacuated I might try to upgrade the condenser, since that seems like a fairly easy performance upgrade that doesn't require pulling the dash out.

Does replacing this switch sound like a good safety? If so does anybody know where I can get one? Thank you!

Last edited:
For the record... I have yet to hook gauges up to the system to see if the pressures are actually good or not. It might just be a leaky system.

Plug the low pressure switch spade connectors back into the connector, then evacuate, vacuum, and recharge the system with ~80% of the original r12 weight (if using r134a).

Don’t get your hopes up, like you said the old systems are weak.

Plug the low pressure switch spade connectors back into the connector, then evacuate, vacuum, and recharge the system with ~80% of the original r12 weight (if using r134a).