home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2019, 02:51 PM   #1
ElHefe910
Board Member
 
ElHefe910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wilmington, NC
Default Vida Dice help tips

I have a purpose built Dell running all the requirements. I've gotten it to install but it doesn't recognize the Dice communication tool. Just a black X in the top left corner. I see that this is a common issue. I've tried typing in "regidit" after pressing the windows and R key at the same time but windows could not find file. I was trying to follow these steps provided by http://blog.cardiagtool.co.uk/how-to...nication-tool/ Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. It is a clone program I bought off Ebay.
ElHefe910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 02:54 PM   #2
ElHefe910
Board Member
 
ElHefe910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wilmington, NC
Default

I may just take it to some computer store and see if they can get it working for me
ElHefe910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 03:42 PM   #3
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

You need regedit, not regidit.
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams "Mr. Doug" 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman "fivehundred" 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey "TrickMick" 1/10/14
Mark Baldwin "blue850t5" 7/19/18
Nick Fengler "fengler" 8/6/18
Thomas Fritz "stealthfti" 10/11/18


74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=334698

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 10:44 PM   #4
dorvin
idunno
 
dorvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago / Minnesota
Default

Interesting, they spelled it wrong in the article. Type 'regedit' instead, and follow the guide. Always double check that you're in the right area in the left hand column before modifying any values.
__________________
'93 Volvo 240 Classic sedan - 683/1600
'77 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme
dorvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:34 PM   #5
doucheNozzle
Newbie
 
doucheNozzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Pitt, 15147
Default

https://forums.swedespeed.com/showth...Windows-10-Pro
__________________

'00 XC70 SE - Slow
'04 V70 T5A - Feels Fast
doucheNozzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:49 PM   #6
ElHefe910
Board Member
 
ElHefe910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wilmington, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doucheNozzle View Post
Thanks for that link. I feel like I'm so close to getting it to work. Vida is installed properly I believe. Everything works except Vida doesn't recognize the Dice but the computer recognizes it and says it's running correct with no new driver updates. The Dice unit also lights up like it should once plugged into obdii. However I think my computer is running with IE11 but everything seemed to install correctly.
ElHefe910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:50 PM   #7
doucheNozzle
Newbie
 
doucheNozzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Pitt, 15147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElHefe910 View Post
Thanks for that link. I feel like I'm so close to getting it to work. Vida is installed properly I believe. Everything works except Vida doesn't recognize the Dice but the computer recognizes it and says it's running correct with no new driver updates. The Dice unit also lights up like it should once plugged into obdii. However I think my computer is running with IE11 but everything seemed to install correctly.
Follow that guide from the beginning and it will work.
doucheNozzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 04:04 AM   #8
gottarollwithit
Cooks with motor oil
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: nut Sac, Cali
Default

Or, if you give up, for like 100 bucks you can just buy the Dice unit off Ebay that all the SS guys use. The seller is in Lithuania, but will remote connect to your computer and set it all up if needed.
__________________
1988 740 turbo wagon/squishmobile!
gottarollwithit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.