home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Symposium > the vault

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2016, 08:43 AM   #726
holdenjp
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana
Default can I just use the radiator sensor?

Can I just get a 93 240 radiator with the sensor in the radiator and use that to run my electric fan? I think somewhere in this thread there is a link the a three prong sensor that would work. Has anyone done it this way?

[IMG] photo 9989924F-4B8E-4203-BCBF-A963725C33AB_zpsa8zklala.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
1987 240 - Sold. Had it for 15 years. Car that turned me into a car guy.

1991 245 - Daily Driver, IPD Turbo cam advanced 2 deg, B230FT with 15G, TLAO Chips, MBC, AW71, Upper and Lower braces, IPD 25mm sways, Lowered on H&R springs and Bilstein HD's, Mille Miglia's 205/55/16

1986 Porsche 944 Turbo

Link to my feedback thread.
holdenjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 09:34 AM   #727
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

I actually have my wagon running with just the sensor in the radiator. The 7/9 Regina cars were run that way from the factory, with a 92/82 or 92/87 switch, I forget which. Works okay but the fan does tend to run quite a bit, even on the highway, since it's not seeing the cooler temps coming out of the radiator at the bottom.
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams aka Mr. Doug 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman aka fivehundred 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey aka TrickMick 1/10/14

74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti, AW71L, IPD bars/springs, Koni SA's, JVAB B230FT, IPD Turbo cam, GT2871R @ 18psi, TLAO chips, E85, NPR, 3.5" DP, 3" DP-back, MSD, TruTrac, Wilwood BBK

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 09:46 AM   #728
holdenjp
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
I actually have my wagon running with just the sensor in the radiator. The 7/9 Regina cars were run that way from the factory, with a 92/82 or 92/87 switch, I forget which. Works okay but the fan does tend to run quite a bit, even on the highway, since it's not seeing the cooler temps coming out of the radiator at the bottom.
Would a sensor with a different temperature rating fix that?

I'm assuming you have it on your Turbo car.... Did you notice a difference compared to the clutch fan? There seems to be mixed reviews.

Last edited by holdenjp; 05-06-2016 at 11:13 AM..
holdenjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 11:05 PM   #729
swedishiron.com
I sell Volvo parts!
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

The temperature sensor should ideally be placed as low in the coolant system as possible.

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=270950
__________________
Here's my feedback thread:
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=25568

I ship small packages/purchases on Fridays, and larger ticket items via FedEx in the middle of the week.
swedishiron.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 10:28 AM   #730
Handey87
Board Member
 
Handey87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: BrunsWACK County, NC
Default

This may have been answered already but I've got a 92+ fan and relay setup in my '91 and a 93 ECU. The ECU has E-Fan control - how do I wire the high/low ground wires to the ECU? Are the wires already there on the harness or are they not pinned on a '91 harness? Couldn't find a good image of which pins on the ECU I need to tap in to either.
__________________
The Leet Fleet:
'91 745 SE "Big Red" - B230FT, M46, chips, cam, 15g
Handey87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 05:58 PM   #731
impolvo
Is always busy
 
impolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chapel Hill NC
Default

I miss you handey
__________________
my feedback: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=221335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
Thats why you get a mans car... A 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by rancidponymilk View Post
You people keep crushing them, you're going to run out eventually.
impolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 07:32 PM   #732
impolvo
Is always busy
 
impolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chapel Hill NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swedishiron.com View Post
The temperature sensor should ideally be placed as low in the coolant system as possible.

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=270950
I always put in upper
I'd rather the hottest coolant trigger the fan
And run an extra switch for interior when running ac
impolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 11:17 PM   #733
84B23F
Board Member
 
84B23F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kansas, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handey87 View Post
745...The ECU has E-Fan control
Based upon this wiring diagram, and looking at first page of this wiring diagram, its just a ground the ECU uses to trigger fan.

Diagram shows two different wiring colors...as noted, "some models."
84B23F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 11:26 PM   #734
84B23F
Board Member
 
84B23F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kansas, USA
Default

1993-245 AC does not work, so I put a jumper on plug for AC's high-pressure switch. AC fan works when AC-switch is toggled to AC. This is not a good fan for cooling the radiator...just something for in-town driving to allow a gentle breeze for hot summer days.

So, I installed a radiator-fan from a 1985 GM A-Body on the other side; I have a radiator from a turbo Volvo, so I'm using its radiator-temp switch to cycle fan.
84B23F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:33 AM   #735
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quick question chaps! I normally use aftermarket fan controllers and arm them via a relay. See...

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showpo...7&postcount=56

On this 600 dollar 745 I'm running (Rex Regina until MS is installed), I don't feel like digging around under the dash for a switched power source to run the relay (that arms the circut). Soooooo, I'm looking for a switched source under the hood. The exciter actually works but might there be any others that I'm not thinking of?
__________________
Quote:
For all you Dijkstra fanboys:

Knuth also cites a letter sent to him by Dijkstra, in which the latter adds some nuance to this earlier statements: "Please don't fall into the trap of believing that I am terribly dogmatical about [the go to statement]. I have the uncomfortable feeling that others are making a religion out of it, as if the conceptual problems of programming could be solved by a single trick, by a simple form of coding discipline!"
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 12:44 PM   #736
will740turbo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arcata, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDKR View Post
Quick question chaps! I normally use aftermarket fan controllers and arm them via a relay. See...

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showpo...7&postcount=56

On this 600 dollar 745 I'm running (Rex Regina until MS is installed), I don't feel like digging around under the dash for a switched power source to run the relay (that arms the circut). Soooooo, I'm looking for a switched source under the hood. The exciter actually works but might there be any others that I'm not thinking of?
You can tap the sunroof at fuse 20 ... I think it's fuse 20. It's a 30-amp fuse anyway. It's on the far right of the fuse panel anyway.
will740turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 01:59 PM   #737
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDKR View Post
Soooooo, I'm looking for a switched source under the hood. The exciter actually works but might there be any others that I'm not thinking of?
Quote:
Originally Posted by will740turbo View Post
You can tap the sunroof at fuse 20 ... I think it's fuse 20. It's a 30-amp fuse anyway. It's on the far right of the fuse panel anyway.
Where is that fuse panel again? In every700 I've had, it's at the front of the center console. AM I missing something?

Not a bad option otherwise, save of the fact that my sunroof is manual.
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 08:04 PM   #738
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDKR View Post
Quick question chaps! I normally use aftermarket fan controllers and arm them via a relay. See...

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showpo...7&postcount=56

On this 600 dollar 745 I'm running (Rex Regina until MS is installed), I don't feel like digging around under the dash for a switched power source to run the relay (that arms the circut). Soooooo, I'm looking for a switched source under the hood. The exciter actually works but might there be any others that I'm not thinking of?
It's all good peeps. Went ahead and tapped the exicter wire. Now the fan only runs when he car is actually running.

And NO DIGGING AROUND INSIDE THE CAR!
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 12:35 AM   #739
84B23F
Board Member
 
84B23F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kansas, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holdenjp View Post
Can I just get a 93 240 radiator with the sensor in the radiator and use that to run my electric fan?
That's the way I did it....I use a ground circuit thru radiator sensor, and this ground trips the relay. Relay is wired hot from the battery with a 20 amp circuit breaker on it, so fan will sometimes run when engine is turned off.

Before I installed the three core radiator, I had it cleaned. gsellstr says his fan runs on highway driving, but I'm not aware of mine doing this.

I have no idea where my radiator came from. Someone from Arizona stuck it in a 1984 NA, which I use to drive, and then I stuck it in a 1993-245. It flows good.
84B23F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 12:02 AM   #740
shaned
Board Member
 
shaned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: hanover NH
Default

Just get a set up from Mishimoto, run it off your coil, plenty of places to wire the coolant sensor, prob the best money I have spent.
shaned is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.