home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2011, 02:51 PM   #26
JW240
All idiot, no savant
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
I like this new willem programmer, USB and does 40 pin chips so I can reprogram lh2.2 ezk chips as they are 40 pin.

http://cgi.ebay.com/True-USB-GQ-4X-W...#ht_3536wt_905
I saw those too. I got this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/TOP853-USB-unive...item1c186256f9
Works good, 40 pin, usb etc. Only the software can be a bit of a pita to install. Is the Willem programmer better you think?
__________________
240 | 1991 | 345K Km | B230F+T | Cosworth T3 60/63 | M90 | TrueTrack (parked for a few months)
dd: 940 | 1992 | B230FB
Husaberg FE450 70 degree '12 mx/supermoto swapped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood Chair View Post
Don't forget about properly seasoning it on HF jackstands for a couple years whilst dreaming about big powah 'goals'.
JW240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:03 PM   #27
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Beepee, so I haven't really messed with TunerPro much, but now that I downloaded your "kit", I'm not having any success with the provided xdf/bin combos. When I open them up, I get no data, no maps, nothing except values of 0, and not always as many as I would expect to see.

I have a 984 xdf file off of ECUproject that I can use to open up some of my other 900 series bins and have a look at things, but I can't open any bin successfully(EZK or LH) with either of your xdf files. Anyone else having trouble with this?

Last edited by klr142; 01-23-2011 at 05:06 PM..
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:06 PM   #28
Captain Bondo
Exklusiv Zubehör Klub
 
Captain Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Default

Modified Thread title + stickied.

Nice thread.
__________________


-Kenny
(I crushed a 240 with some stuff done to it. Honest.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan View Post
Turbobricks isn't a car forum any more. Its a forum for lame kids.
Captain Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:24 PM   #29
Hagar17
Board Member
 
Hagar17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Victoria BC
Default

noob question - what is a bin file?
__________________
Keeping late 80's Swedish metal alive!
Hagar17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:54 PM   #30
2fast4u
Board Member
 
2fast4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Acushnet, Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Bondo View Post
Modified Thread title + stickied.

Nice thread.
Brilliant!
__________________
1993 940T
2005 RSX Type S

Quote:
Originally Posted by badvlvo View Post
Sounds like you are afraid of the horse cock Kenny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
I will freely admit that yes, yes I am. and I'm not ashamed of that fact.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBill View Post
im skeptical... i hope this isnt your last post. famous last words, rite? "anyone JB welded this?"
2fast4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:56 PM   #31
2fast4u
Board Member
 
2fast4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Acushnet, Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klr142 View Post
Beepee, so I haven't really messed with TunerPro much, I was mostly toying around with ipdown's software, but now that I downloaded your "kit", I'm not having any success with the provided xdf/bin combos. When I open them up, I get no data, no maps, nothing except values of 0, and not always as many as I would expect to see.

I have a 984 xdf file off of ECUproject that I can use to open up some of my other 900 series bins and have a look at things, but I can't open any bin successfully(EZK or LH) with either of your xdf files. Anyone else having trouble with this?
I did. Which is why i asked if you needed ostrich software first. I open the xdf, then the bin and get zero, zilch, nada. I am going to toy with it more later. There are a lot of how tos for tuner pro.
2fast4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:57 PM   #32
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Gotcha, yeah, something is amiss then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagar17 View Post
noob question - what is a bin file?
It's a file ending in .bin that contains all the numbers that the ECU/EZK looks at to determine what it's supposed to be doing at any given time. So, we modify that, and get custom maps that work for our application.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:05 PM   #33
DNAsEqUeNcE
†John3:16
 
DNAsEqUeNcE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas
Default

This.. is really cool, and the dutch brother's video is hilariously excellent!
__________________
DNAsEqUeNcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:06 PM   #34
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Not sure what's gone wrong... Driving home, will check soon. Sorry, guess thats what I get for waking up at 6am.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:20 PM   #35
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by klr142 View Post
Beepee, so I haven't really messed with TunerPro much, I was mostly toying around with ipdown's software, but now that I downloaded your "kit", I'm not having any success with the provided xdf/bin combos. When I open them up, I get no data, no maps, nothing except values of 0, and not always as many as I would expect to see.

I have a 984 xdf file off of ECUproject that I can use to open up some of my other 900 series bins and have a look at things, but I can't open any bin successfully(EZK or LH) with either of your xdf files. Anyone else having trouble with this?
I just re-downloaded my zip file onto my PC at home and it seems to work just fine. Are you using TunerPro v5?

I'll add a step-by-step for setting up TunerPro into the OP. Just make sure you are opening the XDF with the XDF drop down menu, and the BIN with the regular file menu... I have accidentally opened XDFs as BINs before and been confused, so perhaps that's what's going on?
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:24 PM   #36
thevolvokid
142 whore
 
thevolvokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok.
Default

It'd be really nice to have some type of definitions in the first post so it'd shed light on the subject so it's not all words some people may not know. There's new lingo here I don't know so maybe the gurus can help everyone out here?
__________________
90 745 Turbo, tuned by myself made 365 whp completing a 1/4 mile pass at 12.93 @ 105.xx. Not bad for a stock block w/ 265,xxx miles that runs lh 2.4 and ekz
thevolvokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:42 PM   #37
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thevolvokid View Post
It'd be really nice to have some type of definitions in the first post so it'd shed light on the subject so it's not all words some people may not know. There's new lingo here I don't know so maybe the gurus can help everyone out here?
OP updated with description of XDFs and BIN files.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:43 PM   #38
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Bondo View Post
Modified Thread title + stickied.

Nice thread.
Thanks!
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:46 PM   #39
ipdown
Член на форума
 
ipdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JW240 View Post
I tried 'chip start' at 0x8000 but no result. Looking at the software (topwin6) later i realised that maybe 'buffer start' at 0x8000 could have worked? Strange thing was that with pin 15 not plugged in but bent away it still didnt work. Also when starting at the normal value (buffer and chip start at 0000) the car didnt want to start with it. the chip didnt give any trouble when writing/reading.
JW, may be speed rating is wrong? Most memories have access time in ns (e.g. 27C256-70, that 70 is access time), if this chip has slower access time LH will have trouble reading from it.
ipdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:52 PM   #40
ipdown
Член на форума
 
ipdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
Thanks!
Nice thread indeed. Stay tuned, very very soon the new version of my software will be released ;)
Reg. tunerpro - nice piece of software, but unfortunately still very buggy, frequent crashes, no compatibility between XDF versions, and sometimes weird user interface. Considering the small utilities I wrote, they were a hack and the new version will be a lot more useable, offering preliminary support for most used EZK chips - 147,169,208 and 219
ipdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:52 PM   #41
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipdown View Post
JW, may be speed rating is wrong? Most memories have access time in ns (e.g. 27C256-70, that 70 is access time), if this chip has slower access time LH will have trouble reading from it.
Hey dude when's the next version of LH2.4 Studio coming out? I can't wait!

Also, going to send you a PM in a bit.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:55 PM   #42
ipdown
Член на форума
 
ipdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
Hey dude when's the next version of LH2.4 Studio coming out? I can't wait!

Also, going to send you a PM in a bit.
Well I guess in a week at most. I hoped to finish it for the christmas but didn't have enough free time.
ipdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:05 PM   #43
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:09 PM   #44
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
I just re-downloaded my zip file onto my PC at home and it seems to work just fine. Are you using TunerPro v5?
I just checked the version, it's 4.14... I was uploading the bin/xdf files correctly, so no wonder! Thanks for bringing that up. I'll get the latest!
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:13 PM   #45
Hagar17
Board Member
 
Hagar17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Victoria BC
Default

so.... I can use all this to lean out my boosted AFRs a bit? (currently like 10 or richer!)

how easy is that to do exactly? As in using a WB and roadtesting.

Hagar17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:21 PM   #46
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Yes. Grab a friend, grab an Ostrich 2.0, download the programs, go to town!
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:25 PM   #47
gross polluter
They see me trollin'
 
gross polluter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cold Lake, AB
Default

Glad to see this taking shape for the LH2.4 community. This is good stuff.
__________________
'88 245 - 2JZGTE VVTi | MS3X ECU, MS2 TCU | GT3582R-HTA | Staged simultaneous dual fuel | 590whp 580ftlbs

1968 Furd Rustang fastberk | 2JZGTE VVTi | MS3X ECU | PT6776S | 4L80e Microsquirt TCU Sloppy Transbrake | 3.73 8.8" rear end

1981 Piper Cherokee Archer II | All stock
gross polluter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:46 PM   #48
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Doh, turns out I'm screwed for the moment. My 1998 Dell Latitude CP won't run TunerPro V5 on Windows2000.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:04 PM   #49
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klr142 View Post
Doh, turns out I'm screwed for the moment. My 1998 Dell Latitude CP won't run TunerPro V5 on Windows2000.
Are you sure you don't need a runtime? What's the error message?
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:17 PM   #50
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

I'm not sure(I'm mostly a Mac person). It says Tunerpro.exe is not a valid Win32 application.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.