home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2019, 07:29 PM   #1
oemoilleaks
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default 142 GT Cluster - Dead Fuel Gauge

Has anyone ever used the guts from a stock cluster to repair a dead fuel or temp gauge on a GT cluster?





The arc and need are different in the stock gauge but I was wondering if there's a way to get the electronics to swap over.

(it's not the voltage regulator... the temp gauge works)
oemoilleaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:31 PM   #2
oemoilleaks
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default 142 GT Cluster - Dead Fuel Gauge

Has anyone ever used the guts from a stock cluster to repair a dead fuel or temp gauge on a GT cluster?




The arc and need are different in the stock gauge but I was wondering if there's a way to get the electronics to swap over.

(it's not the voltage regulator... the temp gauge works)
oemoilleaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:31 PM   #3
oemoilleaks
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default

oemoilleaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:32 PM   #4
oemoilleaks
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default

oemoilleaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 12:07 PM   #5
jwernerny
Board Member
 
jwernerny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fairport, NY
Default

I vaguely remember something about the sender being different or something with the rallye cluster in my '70 145. I do remember I used to fill based on mileage, not not on the gauge because the gauge didn't work.
__________________
--
John Werner
* 1992 944T * 1988 764 GLE V6 * 2002 WRX Wagon (needs motor) * 2006 Honda Odyssey *
jwernerny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 12:09 PM   #6
jwernerny
Board Member
 
jwernerny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fairport, NY
Default

Found this thread about the fuel gauge: https://forums.tbforums.com/showthread.php?t=301665
jwernerny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 12:36 PM   #7
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

GT gauges use stock senders. It's only the Rallye gauges that require special senders.

Contact Roger. I think he was able to modify the stock fuel and temp gauges to repair the GT gauges.
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 03:43 PM   #8
oemoilleaks
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default

The senders aren't the problem. The gauge is dead at this point.

Unfortunately, this is a Roger cluster. I'd send it back to him but only if he would undo the "upgrades" he's done... the LED ring lighting is too bright and honestly pretty annoying.
oemoilleaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 04:03 PM   #9
71142volvo
Board Member
 
71142volvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

You have to get your fuel sender re-calibrated. It's NOT your gauge. I sent mine to Tri-Starr in upstate NY. Also, if you turn the dial down on the dash, you can adjust the brightness of the lighting.

Congrats on the dash, Roger does a great job!
71142volvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 02:50 PM   #10
oemoilleaks
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71142volvo View Post
You have to get your fuel sender re-calibrated. It's NOT your gauge. I sent mine to Tri-Starr in upstate NY. Also, if you turn the dial down on the dash, you can adjust the brightness of the lighting.

Congrats on the dash, Roger does a great job!


The fuel sender shouldn't be an issue. I had a voltage regulator go bad and short the gauge. since this is the GT cluster all the sending units are the exact same as the stock cluster...

I thought you only had to change stuff for the RALLYE cluster.
oemoilleaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:24 PM   #11
71142volvo
Board Member
 
71142volvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

I thought I changed with the GT cluster.....I could be thinking about my Rallye cluster

Last edited by 71142volvo; 05-15-2019 at 09:22 AM..
71142volvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:29 PM   #12
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Default

My GT fuel gauge worked with my stock early 142 sender.
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 10:49 PM   #13
NotSoFresh
Sick ****** T-Brick Prick
 
NotSoFresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: gangcouver
Default

Best to eliminate the low hanging fruit first. Check the resistance of the sender before you tear apart the cluster, it should be high resistance when empty and very low resistance when full. 282ohm +/-48 empty and 40ohm+/- 5 full

I attached the pages on this from the 140 greenbook
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 140 greenbook fuel gauge_compressed (1).pdf (121.2 KB, 1 views)
NotSoFresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.