home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2019, 12:12 AM   #1
thessejway
Wannabe TBer
 
thessejway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default Blowing my fuel pump fuse

As the title says, my car it just blowing the #1 fuse like it's nothin.

My 93 945t has been blowing the fuel pump fuse the moment it's given a bit of throttle or sometimes just after a few seconds of idling. It happened the first time 2 minutes from my house after a ~150km drive and required a tow.

I have a brand new relay and pump in there and as far as I can tell the wiring from the fuse/relay to the pump is all good. I've jumped the bottom left to middle right pin on the relay to see if the pump is working, and it runs without blowing the fuse.

And idea or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Cheers
__________________
____________________________________________
1993 945t
thessejway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 12:52 PM   #2
VB242
OG flat plane crank
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Sounds like some electrons leaking to ground in the ignition switch circuit. Or possibly from the ignition coil, I believe the red/wire sends a signal to the relay that the car is running.

I just have to say you're supposed to suck not blow, common misconception....
__________________
Me for President

First candidacy driven entirely by smart phone.

Campaign slogan
"Trump, I wouldn't piss on him if he were on fire!"
VB242 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 01:46 PM   #3
thessejway
Wannabe TBer
 
thessejway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default

Thanks for the reply
I just put in a new bosch ignition coil but I will have to chase down that wire. Very possible that things got a little over heated in the engine bay on the long trip and turned a little melty next to the turbo.

Thanks for the advise, might be why my fuses aren't happy with me
thessejway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 01:48 PM   #4
Bricktothefuture
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Central NH
Default

Could a clogged fuel filter or struggling in-tank pump be causing the main pump to work harder than it should and cause issues?
Bricktothefuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 02:28 PM   #5
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Besides the fuel pump relay, fuse #1 also supplies power to the fuel injection and ignition ecu's as well as the oxygen sensor heater. Of those the most likely culprit is the latter. Check that the wiring to the sensor hasn't melted to the exhaust. If it looks okay try unplugging the heater as the sensor may have an internal short.
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 05:03 PM   #6
thessejway
Wannabe TBer
 
thessejway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default

Thanks for the replies everyone

Been super busy, so haven't had any time to look at it further until today.Took a quick visual inspection of all the wiring around the ignition coil and O2 sensor and didn't notice anything. Tried starting the car with the o2 sensor unplugged, but it still instantly blew the fuse when the engine cranked. Hopefully tomorrow I will have time to more to dig in a little deeper with a multi meter.

In the mean time, Is there anything else people think might be worth checking out?

I'm not great with electrical stuff so all tips and advice is appreciated.
thessejway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 12:23 PM   #7
thessejway
Wannabe TBer
 
thessejway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default

Still haven't solved my issue.

But some progress... I just figured out that it doesn't blow the fuse if I unplug the ecu. Not sure if that would give more of a hint to what it could be. Plugged in my stock untuned ecu and it still blows the fuse.
thessejway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:31 PM   #8
thessejway
Wannabe TBer
 
thessejway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Default

Turns out all I had to do was clean the Ground for the o2 sensor. We'll see if that holds up
thessejway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.