home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > projects & restorations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2009, 01:31 PM   #76
frpe82
Guest
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
I dont know how the chipped settings are on the tuned Chips but from what i heared the motronic chips are only used for removing the boost limits of the motronic injection system.[/IMG]
It depends on who makes the chip of course...

Some manufacturers really cheat their way through it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 01:23 PM   #77
JR-66
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
So finally i tested the second ECU i bought for my whole chipping bit. The ECU ran great on the car so i moved on with installing the chip in the ECU.
It was so much more easy then i though it would be, opened the box up flip the chip out put the new on in and back together it goes. no soldering at all!

A little less happy i was with the result though, now i must say that the car was a bit reving up and reving down in Idle (vaccum leak maybe?) but when i installed the chip it really came up.
the engine revved up and down like crazy almost dieing when idling down.. I dont know how the chipped settings are on the tuned Chips but from what i heared the motronic chips are only used for removing the boost limits of the motronic injection system.

here's a pic of the ECU in case you wanna see what that looks like:
Where did you get the chip from? What box number are you running? Is it B230 engine? Idle air valve is quite common fault in those engines, it just worns out and are usually really dirt and sticky inside. Clean it and the throttle body too. Leaky bypass is other common place to cause idle problems.

And yes, most so called chiptuners just mods airmass limiter map, even in LH chips... Motronic chip, when properly done, can give pretty nice gains in power, driveability and even mileage.
__________________
Turbopower
JR-66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 08:27 AM   #78
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frpe82 View Post
It depends on who makes the chip of course...

Some manufacturers really cheat their way through it.
Chips is from Rica, not a complete unknown tuner on volvo's but no fred chip quality i am sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR-66 View Post
Where did you get the chip from? What box number are you running? Is it B230 engine? Idle air valve is quite common fault in those engines, it just worns out and are usually really dirt and sticky inside. Clean it and the throttle body too. Leaky bypass is other common place to cause idle problems.

And yes, most so called chiptuners just mods airmass limiter map, even in LH chips... Motronic chip, when properly done, can give pretty nice gains in power, driveability and even mileage.
Chip is from rica, box nr is 0 261 200 022. Engine is the B230ET from 86.

Idle air valve had been cleaned and checked less then a year ago (by putting 12V on it and it made the CLICK noise) so could check all the air tubing again soon i suspect a leak before clogged up lines to be honest
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 09:00 AM   #79
frpe82
Guest
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
Chips is from Rica, not a complete unknown tuner on volvo's but no fred chip quality i am sure
Then it is probably done right.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 12:23 PM   #80
JR-66
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
Chips is from Rica, not a complete unknown tuner on volvo's but no fred chip quality i am sure



Chip is from rica, box nr is 0 261 200 022. Engine is the B230ET from 86.

Idle air valve had been cleaned and checked less then a year ago (by putting 12V on it and it made the CLICK noise) so could check all the air tubing again soon i suspect a leak before clogged up lines to be honest
Then it should be good, we have here problems with motronic chips, B200ET is not common in other countries and some tuners offers B230ET chips for those, it works but economy, well its not there anymore, and it fails on emission tests too.

Even if it clicks it still might not work properly, contacts worn eventually out, I have opened quite many of those. You should also check earth contacts near the motronic unit, CIS unit earths it self there.
JR-66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:44 PM   #81
foggyjames
Ryan's spanner monkey
 
foggyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln, UK
Default

RICA are a (very) well established brand. The problem with them seems to be that their power claims for the FWD stuff are...basically...made up. Apart from that, they seem like a good product.

Unless you have the ability to re-map the Motronic ECU, I would ditch Motronic apart from on a standard car. Off the shelf chips for it appear to mean (as JR-66 says) poor economy, bad emissions...AND the thing still doesn't fuel correctly on-boost. It's (early) 80s technology. Throw it away

cheers

James
__________________
'05 V70 D5
'88 360 Turbo Intercooler
'84 360 GLT
'81 343 GLS R-Sport
'80 343 DL
'69 164

PM me if you're looking for Euro parts!
foggyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:47 PM   #82
JW240
All idiot, no savant
 
JW240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Default

afaik Boris is swapping to LH 2.4 sometime this year with the M90 swap. I have a complete 940 turbo wiring loom here and some other bits and pieces waiting for him hehe.
__________________
240 | 1991 | 326 KKm | B230F+T | Cossie T3 60/63 | M90 | TrueTrack
Husaberg FE450 '12



Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood Chair View Post
Don't forget about properly seasoning it on HF jackstands for a couple years whilst dreaming about big powah 'goals'.
JW240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:53 PM   #83
mattsvart
Board Member
 
mattsvart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden/Östersund
Default

Nice car! ;)
__________________
mattsvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:55 PM   #84
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frpe82 View Post
Then it is probably done right.
Fingers crossed

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR-66 View Post
Then it should be good, we have here problems with motronic chips, B200ET is not common in other countries and some tuners offers B230ET chips for those, it works but economy, well its not there anymore, and it fails on emission tests too.

Even if it clicks it still might not work properly, contacts worn eventually out, I have opened quite many of those. You should also check earth contacts near the motronic unit, CIS unit earths it self there.
I have not cleared the earths near the ECU unit, other earths on the car have been cleaned a while ago (had many issue's like light on, wiper goes on ect )

The cis unit earth i am not sure, is it located next to the battery like the wiper/lights too?



Quote:
Originally Posted by foggyjames View Post
RICA are a (very) well established brand. The problem with them seems to be that their power claims for the FWD stuff are...basically...made up. Apart from that, they seem like a good product.

Unless you have the ability to re-map the Motronic ECU, I would ditch Motronic apart from on a standard car. Off the shelf chips for it appear to mean (as JR-66 says) poor economy, bad emissions...AND the thing still doesn't fuel correctly on-boost. It's (early) 80s technology. Throw it away

cheers

James
Yes i agree but i got motronic, a chip and need for boost NOW so yeah gonna work this out but i will go LH soon seems like parts are harder to get anyway for motronic

Quote:
Originally Posted by JW240 View Post
afaik Boris is swapping to LH 2.4 sometime this year with the M90 swap. I have a complete 940 turbo wiring loom here and some other bits and pieces waiting for him hehe.
Yes sir, although a 240 loom should be nicer to work with from what i heard, but i am sure you wanna help me with the 940 loom right

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsvart View Post
Nice car! ;)
Thanks, i like your ride too.. even more that grill hehe but you knew that already
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:58 PM   #85
JW240
All idiot, no savant
 
JW240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Default

probably can get you a 240 loom too, would be easier yeah.
JW240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 06:10 PM   #86
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JW240 View Post
probably can get you a 240 loom too, would be easier yeah.
Good to hear, i like less work when possible, but about the M90 part. I am going to do the upgrade when i come back from the UK.
My clutch kit arrived there already so I'm taking it back and use the old flywheel, when doing the upgrade i guess I'll have to find a LH2.4 one.

I was driving/racing down the "highway" when my gearbox made another funny noise and i could not get it out of the second gear without using my both hands and really smashing it in the 4th gear.. now i usually don't mind smashing and pushing my way till i get there but with a gearbox that baby doest fly for me
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 07:51 PM   #87
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

The Sachs clutch kit i brought back from the UK:

Sachs kitnr:4000 874 001
Clutch: 186 246 8031
Pressure plate: 3082 204 033
Release bearing: 3151 189 031

(from what i get from the M90 topic is that only the pressure plate seems to be the correct one..)



And here's me in the london underground with the "new" spoiler. Who would have though that having a clutch kit in the luggage and a spoiler the size of a volvo would suck to transport



I wanna thanks some of the UK brickers helping me out with getting the parts to my hotel and drinking the night away till we get kicked out.. good times boys! dont mind hitting me up when in the Netherlands so i can at least return the favor and get some beers!

Last edited by Mr.Borrie; 02-21-2009 at 08:02 PM..
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 04:09 PM   #88
Eyssej
TWO TIMES
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: haarlem
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
The Sachs clutch kit i brought back from the UK:


I wanna thanks some of the UK brickers helping me out with getting the parts to my hotel and drinking the night away till we get kicked out.. good times boys! dont mind hitting me up when in the Netherlands so i can at least return the favor and get some beers!
Only if your bring a hearse for me :P
Eyssej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 05:21 PM   #89
J2_
Board Member
 
J2_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stroopwafel-land
Default

wat moet je met een lijkwagen ?
J2_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 05:53 PM   #90
Fivehundred
.
 
Fivehundred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J2_ View Post
wat moet je met een lijkwagen ?
Don't you know anything about women? Obviously it's her dream car. She told me she thought Boris would look great in it dressed in his grim reaper outfit
Fivehundred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 05:54 PM   #91
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyssej View Post
Only if your bring a hearse for me :P
There are some nice hearses for sale here, the 940 Turbo 2Km from my house doesn't look bad at all! too bad we don't have 4000 euro's

Quote:
Originally Posted by J2_ View Post
wat moet je met een lijkwagen ?
We'll for some odd reason she like hearses, at least volvo is cool enough to be build in many forms.. hehe i think it would be pretty funny to tune the **** out of something like that. And then race the ricers with that

Though i much rater get a stretched limo 700 series and put some carputers and big tft screens in it, and a bar, and a dancing pole and a pool ect
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 05:55 PM   #92
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fivehundred View Post
Don't you know anything about women? Obviously it's her dream car. She told me she thought Boris would look great in it dressed in his grim reaper outfit
Orrly?!
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 06:58 PM   #93
Cojones
Board Member
 
Cojones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Default

What kind of spoiler did you took home?
Cojones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:04 PM   #94
J2_
Board Member
 
J2_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stroopwafel-land
Default

Boris, if you pick up the 960 doors, ask for the stretched 145 ... it's 30 cm longer then a normal one is. eyssej must like it :P

You just need tot tint the windows thats all, and you can have some sexy-time in it
J2_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 08:15 PM   #95
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cojones View Post
What kind of spoiler did you took home?
940 Sedan spoiler OEM in white.. seems like it doesn't want to fit the 760 easy (too round and a bit short.. not sure what i am gonna do with it now)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J2_ View Post
Boris, if you pick up the 960 doors, ask for the stretched 145 ... it's 30 cm longer then a normal one is. eyssej must like it :P

You just need tot tint the windows thats all, and you can have some sexy-time in it
oh i need to see that, no clue yet on the date for picking those up.. wonder if the lighted switches are still in that 960 though
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 08:42 PM   #96
foggyjames
Ryan's spanner monkey
 
foggyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln, UK
Default

The lighted switches are in almost everything from the late 90s...400s, 940s, 960s...even 850s (although those are soldered together...at least in the central panel). I 'upgraded' the 360 to those a number of years ago.

Edit: Assuming you're talking about electric window switches...

cheers

James
foggyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 06:25 AM   #97
Eyssej
TWO TIMES
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: haarlem
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fivehundred View Post
Don't you know anything about women? Obviously it's her dream car. She told me she thought Boris would look great in it dressed in his grim reaper outfit
That's my fetish!
Eyssej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 06:27 AM   #98
Eyssej
TWO TIMES
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: haarlem
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
There are some nice hearses for sale here, the 940 Turbo 2Km from my house doesn't look bad at all! too bad we don't have 4000 euro's



We'll for some odd reason she like hearses, at least volvo is cool enough to be build in many forms.. hehe i think it would be pretty funny to tune the **** out of something like that. And then race the ricers with that

Though i much rater get a stretched limo 700 series and put some carputers and big tft screens in it, and a bar, and a dancing pole and a pool ect
1. Hearses, are nice because you can "do" and "take" everything in that car.

2. Boris, NIET ME AUTO SLOPEN! ik ken je! don't touch my gearbox.
Eyssej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:33 PM   #99
Cojones
Board Member
 
Cojones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Borrie View Post
940 Sedan spoiler OEM in white.. seems like it doesn't want to fit the 760 easy (too round and a bit short.. not sure what i am gonna do with it now)
Hmmm... Maybe on the 960?
Cojones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:50 PM   #100
Mr.Borrie
The Sneaky F*ing Russian
 
Mr.Borrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cojones View Post
Hmmm... Maybe on the 960?
I could but its now in the white of the 760 seems like a waste to spray it 960 gray
Mr.Borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.