home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > projects & restorations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2016, 04:10 PM   #201
2manyturbos
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Monroe, OR USA
Default

You misinterpreted what I said. I have no idea the sequence of events that led to the destruction of your last motor. I just wouldn't build a serious turbo engine without running forged pistons. That was the context of my post. "Cheaper in the long run".
2manyturbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 05:25 PM   #202
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

I started with "Just to clarify" , in case of any confusion. No harm meant, no offense taken. No offense meant.

As for your opinion "Cheaper in the long run". That's both correct/ incorrect depending on your/ my perspective. Most of the reason why i start with junk, before i get serious, and go the "cheaper in the long run route"is to acquire data, and find weak parts that need to be upgraded. Its a technique i have used for many many years, and its very effective. Instead of destroying all new parts, i use junk first, gather data, then rebuild it all the right way, to the limiting factor ,at times, of my personal Budget.

Forged pistons still would have been completely ruined in my last explosive block cracked scenario. Instead of costing me $214 for h beam rods, the damage would have been $1000 or more with new goods. Just for an example.

Now if i had built it all up and took it to a machine shop and had everything checked out before i slapped my grind ed pistons in, it would still be running right now-and that block would have been thrown away-never to be used. Instead i choose to hold out on the pistons and the machine work,and half ass the last one, and it got me by 8-10 more months to save for bigger and better things. Because- i wasn't ready for the big jump in cost for the right block, and all the right machine shop work with said block, and all new little bits, gaskets bearings. I still came out on the cheap end, while eating twice the labor to save the money.(a risk i am willing to take, i do all the labor- so cool) Perspective is everything, and we all have our personal time constraints, and priorities.At the time- i threw the last one together, it was not a priority to make it last a few years.. Well fast forward to now, priorities have changed. So to answer your "cheaper in the long run" statement, Yes..... and ..... No. acquired data is everything to me. And i am that much closer.

No harm meant, no hard feelings. Having said that, after being kicked off this forum for a few days, for MY improperly executed defense against trolling, that you Directly had involvement with , I'm not mad at ya, and i hope we can still be volbros.
__________________
If you had the audacity , to doubt my veracity, and even to insinuate, that I scrupulously prevaricate ,such an insignificant question. Then you must hallucinate before you comprehend.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:48 AM   #203
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Pretty picture heavy, nothing really amazing here to see, just kind of documenting for myself. Something cool i did realize today, a mk3 supra 7mgte oil adapter kit fits the redblock. So along with my aftermarket 7mgte radiator from fluidyne, and my mk4 supra precision power intercooler, i now have another supra part. I absolutely abhor changing the oil filter in this car. I will have this problem no longer!! I think the kit was bought off http://www.driftmotion.com IIRC. Other pics are plastigauge-ing the rod bearings, both on crank and rod caps, and cleaning the t70 turbo up .






















Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:50 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:56 AM   #204
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

All done and numbered



Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:51 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 06:47 PM   #205
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default


Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:52 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 02:00 PM   #206
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default


Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:53 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 09:25 PM   #207
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default


Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:54 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 01:21 PM   #208
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Because Texas.


Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:55 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 05:31 PM   #209
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default



Precision power




Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:57 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 02:04 AM   #210
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default


Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 04:59 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 10:33 PM   #211
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default


Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 05:00 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 11:32 PM   #212
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Videos of its first start today. Ran it for about 15 seconds and shut it off, bad oil leak on oil feed line for turbo.


https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...5995293272970/

No wideband or o2 hooked up, tail pipe isnt even on turbo yet. Almost 20 inches of vacuum doe.


https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...5995310073390/


Cant wait to drive it tomorrow. I'm sure it will rain. ;)

Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 05:01 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 01:52 AM   #213
Lord_Athlon
Sf1k Kryptonite
 
Lord_Athlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: If there were a bright center of the universe, im in the town that is furthest from
Default

Damn dude, good work.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZVOLV View Post
I used paper books to learn how to do this stuff back in the day. Now I use pro software subscription
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvolvor
3/4", make everything as heavy as possible for no reason. It's also 4:1 compression ratio because that's how cosworth did it in 1978.
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 02:08 AM   #214
dieselboy
Whooty patrol
 
dieselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SoCal/ Ramona
Default

You didn't draw and penises or random things on the rods or Pistons? Bummer.
When I run overheads on truck I use a silver sharpe and instead of doing a dot to mark the rocker done I'll write boobies rock or other random crap.
__________________
'82 242t hy35 @28psi, ebay header, big intercooler, microsquirt ecm, rsi stg2 cam, arp headstuds, tremec tko600, 3" exhaust, 13" brembos, coilovers, saabspoiler, 245/40r17s, lots of yoshifab stuff.
'07 v50t5 "kats" car
'93 940 turbo lifted #trophyvo
'08 f350 4x4 v10 cclb
'97 f-350 4x4 offroad toy
'94 4700 dt466 International toterhome build
dieselboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 01:04 PM   #215
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Thanks Lord Athlon! LOL at dieselboy. By the time I was done rebuilding that head I wanted to write cuss words all over it. I spent almost twice the time rebuilding that head, robbing another for parts, as i did building the complete bottom end. And my hands feel the burn from that valve spring compressor tool.

Its time to motivate by watching "power block", then back to fixing this silly oil leak and go for a drive and shake it down. I think that i will not make it through the show, and end up ditching to work on Volvo. ;)
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 05:25 PM   #216
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Well it did rain, but before it did, i was able to fix the oil leak and put about 40 miles on her. Here is a few videos. So far i am very happy with the part throttle results . Engine is very "alive" much more crisp and very quiet at idle , no more bucket noise.

https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...6000879732628/

Part throttle wheel spin in first and a touch in second.

https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...6000882652701/

In auto tune , this highlighted block gets so rich car falls on its face from dead stop. Not sure why this happens, but i just deal with it and fix it back to where it was. Turbo spools really quick. Need to put 70mm on now.

https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...6000887532823/
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 09:50 PM   #217
Texas240
Prius Owner
 
Texas240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haltechsupra View Post
Well it did rain, but before it did, i was able to fix the oil leak and put about 40 miles on her. Here is a few videos. So far i am very happy with the part throttle results . Engine is very "alive" much more crisp and very quiet at idle , no more bucket noise.

https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...6000879732628/

Part throttle wheel spin in first and a touch in second.

https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...6000882652701/

In auto tune , this highlighted block gets so rich car falls on its face from dead stop. Not sure why this happens, but i just deal with it and fix it back to where it was. Turbo spools really quick. Need to put 70mm on now.

https://www.facebook.com/kris.d.weld...6000887532823/
I found autotune to actually make my tune worse the few times I used it.
__________________
93 245 LS Engine Swap Project
Texas240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 01:48 AM   #218
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

It always makes my tune worse within the first few blocks like i showed above, but does really good when it hits boost. Not quite sure why it does this, other than maybe, my calibration is off a tad but for my coolant sensor so it may be trying to compensate? I dunno, I just usually turn it on when I'm boosting and then turn it off when I'm not. Then i will manual tune with My Young lady driving in all the other areas. This is also where data logs shine.
I did the ac on mine today, i used a 89 compressor(from a 240 with weird na bracket for compressor and power steering pump instead of alternator) on my 93 940,Using the 93 bracket- had to move the brackets around from outer to inner if i recall correctly, on both the upper and lower 2 (i forget but it works) brackets on the compressor itself. I vacuum it down twice and drained all the r12 oil out of it and charged it back up. It blew 24 degrees in my garage at idle with push fan on. Not -11 like my last a/c job but o well, it will do for now. Here's some pics. I had a hell of a time getting power to the compressor. Checked all the fuses, checked relay, everything seems to be fine, banged on all the pressure switches in case one of them hung. Still no power. My lh2.4 ecu is unhooked and i think it uses a signal off stock tps which isn't there anymore for a/c cut off at wot . Shrug. So i ran a hot wire on a toggle to a relay for the a/c clutch, and need to incorporate the switches into the system , in case pressures get too high or low.Meh.Used compressor may burn up if i don't utilize the pressure switches.



Vacuum down.


Then Charge.

Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 05:03 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 01:49 AM   #219
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Ah and I added 5 ozs of the pag oil to the compressor with dye, just in case it leaks out somewhere. And , replaced the orings on the lines going to compressor.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 01:51 AM   #220
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

I think my warm up enrichment is set too high looking at my datalogs, Hmmmm..This may be why my auto tune is kinda wonky off boost.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 08:12 PM   #221
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

I replaced the tail lights on the Black Widow today, and added a 16 v badge. Cleaned it up, started it and let it idle for 3 minutes and took temp of a/c .

Old tail lights.



New /used tail lights off 16 valve 745.New lights and new wheels really set a car off ya know? Wish i had new wheels but i can't find anything i like that i can afford. Shrug.



Ac is cold, at negative 4 degrees F!! Used 89 compressor off 240.*update-laser temp gun sucks, use thermometer-false reading.

Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 05:10 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 08:20 PM   #222
Lord_Athlon
Sf1k Kryptonite
 
Lord_Athlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: If there were a bright center of the universe, im in the town that is furthest from
Default

Your IR gun is broken.
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 12:10 AM   #223
Texas240
Prius Owner
 
Texas240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Athlon View Post
Your IR gun is broken.
Never trusted these. old thermometer for the win. Even better is a meat thermometer
Texas240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 12:03 PM   #224
DNAsEqUeNcE
†John3:16
 
DNAsEqUeNcE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HTX
Default

Come by the shop
__________________
DNAsEqUeNcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 03:04 PM   #225
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

You Guys are right, 9 volt battery was dead, and even then it reads 20 degrees colder than my digital (meat thermometer) a/c gauge. Actual reading is 38 degrees F.
I will come by DNAsEqUeNcE. Need to get that BEGI Intake manifold of your cleaned up and ready, and get some dyno toons ;) .*Update* i don't mess with this guy anymore, My opinion, he's more Drama than Jerry Springer, and about as reliable as the weather, for me anyways, don't need the hassle.

Last edited by haltechsupra; 10-08-2016 at 05:13 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.