• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

240 World's most stubborn running issue

jamesinc

WD-40 Enthusiast
I've been chasing this on and off for like two years.

I have a 1991 240 wagon, M47, LH-2.4. It is hard to start when cold (takes a couple goes of long cranking), then it idles badly, like it has a miss. It smoothes out a bit at higher rpm. It jerks a lot when the throttle is just open a tiny bit. On the highway at 110km/h the temp starts to creep up and it starts losing power. I saved it from the scrap heap, here is a list of all the things I know:

Compression test good (~180psi on all four)
Cap is new
Rotor is new
Leads are new
Plugs are new
Swapped coil no change
Swapped AMM no change
Swapped power stage no change
In-tank pump is new (and can run as single pump)
Main pump swapped with known good one
Fuel filter is new
Fuel tank swapped (old one rusted)
ECU swapped
EZK swapped
Entire LH-2.4 wiring harness swapped
ICV tested OK
No vac leaks
ECT swapped no change
Knock sensor swapped no change
CPS tested OK (new anyway)
O2 sensor new and tested OK
FPR swapped no change (tested pressure at rail and it was fine)
Fuel rail and injectors swapped no change (was concerned old ones might have been clogged with varnish)
Head rebuilt no change
Bottom end looked good from what I saw with the head off
Thermostat new

Only other odd thing is that the temp gauge reads lower than other 240s I've had (8 o'clock position compared to the usual 9)

I'm starting to suspect the car is under some kind of spell.

Hit me with your best ideas

Only other odd thing is that the temp gauge reads lower than other 240s I've had (8 o'clock position compared to the usual 9)

I'm starting to suspect the car is under some kind of spell.

Hit me with your best ideas