home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > General > showroom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 10:31 AM   #1
grnmachine02
Indicating?
 
grnmachine02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Default 700 center vent as gauge pod(s)

Any 700 folks using center vents as gauge pods? Not like nathans pod (which is awesome) but using the actual vents. I'm gonna give it a try, but I fell like the vents will be just a bit too small.

something like this
__________________
1990 745t- b230ft, ebay manifold, hy35, Microsquirt, t5 2jz and w58 eventually no engine, and a decent mold collection on the interior.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post

Rage boner achieved.

Last edited by grnmachine02; 10-31-2012 at 12:58 PM..
grnmachine02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
Rectilinear
Longitudinally Mounted
 
Rectilinear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Default

Ain't no gauges gonna get in the way of my semi-cool air!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Random CL Ad
A Volvo 240 does not have a slow zero to sixty time. Nor a fast one. It reaches sixty precisely when it means to.
Rectilinear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:26 PM   #3
Bocksee
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW ON, eh
Default

When I bought my car, it had AFR and boost gauges in the LH vent. The directional vent was removed and the little turny wheel as well. The vent surround had been 'slightly' filed/ground to better fit the gauges, but there was no gauge surround as such, they were just friction fit and the surround cracked where it was hacked. It sucked the fat one really, but that may have been this implementation.

Pros are that it was obviously dead easy to get wiring to the gauges with just a single 1/2" hole in the vent chamber to get to the area beside the dash cluster, and it did put the gauges in a very visible spot.

I've since removed the gauges and turned it back into a regular vent. The places where the surround was damaged are almost not visible any more.

With some time and effort in making a gauge surround to fit the hole, it could be a great place for gauges. I'll see if I've got any pictures of how it was.
__________________
'89 745

f/b thread
Bocksee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:26 PM   #4
slow240
Home Schooled
 
slow240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk VA
Default

you'd have to cut a 2" hole through the vanes, then epoxy a 2" tube in there and sand it down to feather it in and its gonna be a lot of work.

the vent pod youre showing was a molded one piece item.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
I lube my fixie chain with synthetic nose grease derived from the DNA of a philosopher you probably never heard of. He's pretty obscure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodenpudden View Post
I'll polish your face


'81 242t, DD, project, epic funmobile.
build thread; http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=251729
'92 244. 601 red, stock, awesome.
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=292524
'92 245. 601 red, b230ft/aw71, 16t.
'89 780. Fine Corinthian leather.
slow240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:24 PM   #5
grnmachine02
Indicating?
 
grnmachine02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slow240 View Post
you'd have to cut a 2" hole through the vanes, then epoxy a 2" tube in there and sand it down to feather it in and its gonna be a lot of work.

the vent pod youre showing was a molded one piece item.
I know that's a molded piece, I also know i'd have to epoxy a tube in there. I was just curious if anyone on here had done it. It can't be that hard, if the guys on sweedespeed can do it to an s60r, so can I I'm gonna try and do it this weekend. I'm more afraid of the vent not being big enough, then the work involved


edit: Just realized that came off a little dickish, not my intent!

Last edited by grnmachine02; 10-31-2012 at 02:51 PM..
grnmachine02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:14 PM   #6
slow240
Home Schooled
 
slow240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk VA
Default

lolz no worries, super PITA, but as far as i can see, it looks like it SHOULD fit
slow240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:22 PM   #7
grnmachine02
Indicating?
 
grnmachine02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slow240 View Post
lolz no worries, super PITA, but as far as i can see, it looks like it SHOULD fit
I have a feeling i'm going to end up with a vent with a hole in the center of it and an a-pillar pod
grnmachine02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:18 PM   #8
Sir Psycho
holstrich 2.0
 
Sir Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austin TX
Default

Get rid of the radio cubby hole and replace with the HVAC controls. Then you can fit 3 gauges in that spot below the vents.
__________________
Isaac



1995 940 Turbo:
531 head, Holset HE351 @ 20 psi, Emusa External Wastegate w/screamer, Mild Steel Header, 4" Downpipe, Ostrich Emulator, IPD Turbo Cam, TTR Cam Gear, Big Piping and Intercooler, 3" Exhaust, V8 T5 soon, Synapse Synchronic BOV, AEM Wideband, 18" Pegasus, B&G Springs, Billy HD's, Chassis Bracing, Sumimoto HTR ZIII 225/40/18
Sir Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:38 PM   #9
grnmachine02
Indicating?
 
grnmachine02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Psycho View Post
Get rid of the radio cubby hole and replace with the HVAC controls. Then you can fit 3 gauges in that spot below the vents.
Hmmm...
grnmachine02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:56 PM   #10
Sir Psycho
holstrich 2.0
 
Sir Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austin TX
Default

Ala...
Sir Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:24 PM   #11
Wilford Brimley
Is posting from the grave
 
Wilford Brimley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marysville, wa
Default

Nice!
Wilford Brimley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:40 PM   #12
grnmachine02
Indicating?
 
grnmachine02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Default

My hvac control is different. I wonder if that will still work.
grnmachine02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:37 PM   #13
nathaninwa
The Beloved Oarnge Juice
 
nathaninwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WA
Default

I wonder if a new alum tri, pc can be made to house the radio and heater controls, so it all sits flush like factory.
__________________
962j 815/692@27psi

SHEETMETAL INTAKEhttp://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...etmetal+intake

THIS IS FORSALE V
nathaninwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:08 PM   #14
Stiggy Pop
Board Member
 
Stiggy Pop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Granville, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathaninwa View Post
I wonder if a new alum tri, pc can be made to house the radio and heater controls, so it all sits flush like factory.
something tells me you would be able to make that happen. i'm in for one, maybe with matching gauge plate?
Stiggy Pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:52 PM   #15
Supercat
Board Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Default

you could do this

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=179453
Supercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:13 AM   #16
Super Matty P
Bear Juden ist eine Golum
 
Super Matty P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama Gulf Coast
Default

I've been toying with the idea of where to mount my boost gauge for a while now. I've decided to remove my instrument cluster, cut out the opening for the gauge in the center of the clock (left of the speedo) and then install a solid black platic disc on top of the clock lettering to block it out. It won't look factory but it'll be a lot cleaner than I think those you guys are posting.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Tentacle View Post
That's like real money
Try finding a running one without a dead Asian in it for $500
Super Matty P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:01 AM   #17
grnmachine02
Indicating?
 
grnmachine02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Matty P View Post
I've been toying with the idea of where to mount my boost gauge for a while now. I've decided to remove my instrument cluster, cut out the opening for the gauge in the center of the clock (left of the speedo) and then install a solid black platic disc on top of the clock lettering to block it out. It won't look factory but it'll be a lot cleaner than I think those you guys are posting.
That's where mine is now and i'm moving it. It looks great, but I'm pretty sure that holesawing through the cluster some time ago is what is making mine flake out now.




Last edited by grnmachine02; 11-01-2012 at 07:08 AM..
grnmachine02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:11 AM   #18
relaxed
Newbie
 
relaxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Netherlands
Default

In my 745 I have installed the 2-din section of a 780, which allows for a 1-din stereo and whatever you like below it. I used the space for the instrument cluster of a 480 Turbo.



In my wife's 945 I used the same 780 frame and put in a small compartment for storage. Here you could also put in any gauges you would like.

relaxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:18 PM   #19
nathaninwa
The Beloved Oarnge Juice
 
nathaninwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Matty P View Post
I've been toying with the idea of where to mount my boost gauge for a while now. I've decided to remove my instrument cluster, cut out the opening for the gauge in the center of the clock (left of the speedo) and then install a solid black platic disc on top of the clock lettering to block it out. It won't look factory but it'll be a lot cleaner than I think those you guys are posting.


Or just redo the whole cluster and make it more badass.



nathaninwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:32 PM   #20
impolvo
Is always busy
 
impolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chapel Hill NC
Default

i spy a 7 series in cluster economy gauge
__________________
my feedback: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=221335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
Thats why you get a mans car... A 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by rancidponymilk View Post
You people keep crushing them, you're going to run out eventually.
impolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:28 PM   #21
boosted12a
weapon of mass detonation
 
boosted12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gloucester Va
Default

i have done this. turn out prety good. stand by for pics
__________________
91 940 SE, 119K, GOLD
03 540i M sport 6 gears of go! 200k, White
05 S80 2.5T, RED
09 XC70 3.2L, BLUE
10 335xi, (fun has a price), black
17 expedition El, (short bus), black
85 RX-7 GSL SE(efi'ed), BLACK
76 Suzuki RE5, BLACK
boosted12a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:35 PM   #22
boosted12a
weapon of mass detonation
 
boosted12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gloucester Va
Default

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=188195
go to post #9. ill sell it if you are interested. 30$ shipped
boosted12a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:39 PM   #23
Super Matty P
Bear Juden ist eine Golum
 
Super Matty P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama Gulf Coast
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathaninwa View Post
Or just redo the whole cluster and make it more badass.



I dig! What did you do for coolant temp? and your warning lights? How much did that set run you? I would probably want the speedo, tach, boost, wideband, fuel, coolant temp and idiot lights .... Otherwise I'd say you did the best so far!
Super Matty P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:04 AM   #24
nathaninwa
The Beloved Oarnge Juice
 
nathaninwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Matty P View Post
I dig! What did you do for coolant temp? and your warning lights? How much did that set run you? I would probably want the speedo, tach, boost, wideband, fuel, coolant temp and idiot lights .... Otherwise I'd say you did the best so far!
The coolant temp is in the center vent pod. The knock guage on the lower right is gone and a oil temp guage is there now.

All my idiot lights work as normal and are the LED on the top center, and along the bottom along the outer edges.

Im running Autometer ES series guages, but you can run any guage of your fancy. I like this style, cuz at first glance they look factory.




nathaninwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:23 AM   #25
Super Matty P
Bear Juden ist eine Golum
 
Super Matty P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama Gulf Coast
Default

oh I dig that...but I'm not willing to give up my air vents. I spent too much making sure the AC works!
Super Matty P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.