home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2018, 12:23 PM   #1
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default New 122s owner having trouble

Hello!

I just bought a 1967 122s and have a bit of an issue... the ignition tumbler is seized in position two and there is something blocking the key so I canít move it to position 3 to push the pin and get it out... Iíve decided to cut the armored coil cable and wire in an ignition switch but what wire on the back of the ignition switch is the ground and if I do this with the accessories still work? Sorry if itís a dumb question but Iíve always stayed away from electronics before!

Thanks in advance for the help!
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:25 PM   #2
planetman
Board Member
 
planetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

Please don't cut the cable yet.

It is possible to remove the tumbler assembly if you drill in the right spot.
__________________
Eric
Hi Performance Automotive Service (formerly OVO or Old Volvos Only)
Torrance, CA 90502
planetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:30 PM   #3
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

I really need to move the car soon though, it’s still at the original owners house and part of the arrangement I made that got me the deal I did was that I get it out now... can you help?
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:37 PM   #4
planetman
Board Member
 
planetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

Yes, I am can help.

To begin with, are you sure the car will run? You don't need the ignition key to push it or tow it.
planetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:38 PM   #5
dl242gt
Can play the blues
 
dl242gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: S NJ, a suburb of Phila.
Default

No ignition lock on these. Why not tow the car to where you want it and fix the ignition there?
dl242gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:42 PM   #6
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

To be honest I spent all my free expendable funds on buying the car! I live 50 miles from where the car is and in Cali that’s an expensive tow! Also my end goal is to hide an ignition key under the dash and install a button start
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:51 PM   #7
planetman
Board Member
 
planetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

Not if you have AAA with the plus option.

I ask again, are you sure the car will run?

Please don't hack the coil yet. They are beginning to become hard to find in good condition and you can remove it without damage.

I can tell you how to hot wire the car, but I won't broadcast it to the world.

Please send me a private message with your phone number.
planetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:56 PM   #8
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

I don’t have aaa, yep I’m sure the car will run and if you have an alternative I’m up for it
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:56 PM   #9
Redwood Chair
K-jet For Life
 
Redwood Chair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: - Stock PSI Or Bust -
Default

Hack it good now and pay planetman for the parts you ruined later.
__________________
Raise The Lowered


Image hosted by servimg.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
Folks on here don't know a good deal when they see it.
how psi stock cna support?

Redwood Chair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:58 PM   #10
Redwood Chair
K-jet For Life
 
Redwood Chair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: - Stock PSI Or Bust -
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slartibartfast View Post
I donít have aaa, yep Iím sure the car will run and if you have an alternative Iím up for it
Wait wut?

You own an old Volvo and don't have AAA?

Foo.
Redwood Chair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:59 PM   #11
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

Hehe yep, I’ve always had a truck and a trailer but just got rid of it to buy the amazon, gotta love irony
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 01:00 PM   #12
planetman
Board Member
 
planetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

To send a private message, click on my name in the left upper corner of the header.
planetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 01:08 PM   #13
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

Message sent
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 08:40 PM   #14
northNH
Board Member
 
northNH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: northern NH
Default

Get ahold of virtually any regular 12 volt coil with both the + and - posts on the top (Amazon coil + post hidden in cable) and wire it in place with the positve post to 12v; leave the Amazon coil in place unconnected.
Momentarily put 12v to the starter solenoid, and she runs...until you remove the 12v from the coil.

When I was much younger, used to steal Amazons, and 1800s, all the time...

If works best for you I can send you, gratis but for shipping, a perfectly good coil just to steal cars and move keyless Amazons, or sell you very reasonably a perfectly good intact used OEM coil/cable/ignition switch if you foolishly go the hack-it-up route, as noted...
__________________
'62 Amazon Blk/red 4Dr '67 Amazon Light green/grn wagon
'69 164 4spd/OD unmolested
'94 MBz E320 Silver/gray wagon '92 MBz 300CE Blk/red Coupe
'86 BMW 635Csi Blk/blk Coupe
northNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 02:25 PM   #15
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

Thank you everyone for all the help and guidance to not cut up my new baby! Planetman helped me out massively and im doing it the right way now!
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 02:27 PM   #16
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

On another note is there a guideline as to what I should be doing for regular maintenance and the intervals?
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 02:40 PM   #17
jfs356
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

My awe for the day
jfs356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 12:00 AM   #18
S70T5fivespeed
Board Member
 
S70T5fivespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: CANADA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood Chair View Post
Wait wut?

You own an old Volvo and don't have AAA?

Foo.
Lulzxfacts

Mine got mad last week ďyou just had your car towed there in the spring!Ē

That was a DIFFERENT old Volvo DAMMIT
__________________
99 S70T5M black on graphite suede
91 740SE white on black
90 740TI oe aero kit black
In the barn: 67 123GT
S70T5fivespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 10:05 PM   #19
Slartibartfast
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

Hello everyone,
I got the Volvo up and running, turned over and started like a champ! I have gone through brakes, replaced all the fluids and was feeling pretty good until i tried the headlights, the running lights all turn on but the low and high beams dont work at all, im horrible with electrics... where should i start?
Slartibartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 10:23 PM   #20
alschnertz
Enough already!
 
alschnertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT
Default

Keep it simple. Get yourself a voltage meter (they're cheap) and check that you are getting 12V at the headlight plug. Go from there.

A buddy of mine sent his car to a repair shop for malfunctioning headlights only to learn that both bulbs were burned out. That was an easy repair.
__________________
Differences of opinions should be tolerated, but only if they're not too different. - Sharon Craig

Last edited by alschnertz; 12-05-2018 at 01:54 AM.. Reason: Spelling
alschnertz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 10:51 PM   #21
planetman
Board Member
 
planetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

I would start at the headlight hi/lo beam foot switch.

The yellow wire connected to the center connection on the foot switch should get power when the headlights are on.

But before you bother checking, I would bounce on the foot switch a bunch of times. The contacts inside the foot switch could have some corrosion.
planetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.