home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2013, 07:47 AM   #1
AdmiralSenn
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vero Beach
Default (fixed) Wastegate actuator rod too long?

Okay, I ordered an ipd wastegate actuator since my old one was leaky and it's here and I'm trying to install it. The rod is a lot longer than the one that was on the car. Like, 1.5 - 2 inches longer.

Barring the rod difference, they look exactly the same. I believe the old one is the original T3 actuator (this is on a water cooled T3). The old rod was not cut, it still has the original machined end.

Am I going to run into trouble here? It looks like it's enough of a difference that the wastegate will be stuck fully open at all times. But I don't want to be stupid and trim down the rod and end up in a runaway boost situation either.

Anyone run into anything like this before?

Thanks in advance. And apologies for posting this twice, my other thread seems to have died out and I haven't gotten any replies to it in a while. I'm on a bit of a time crunch here.

Last edited by AdmiralSenn; 09-28-2013 at 11:27 AM..
AdmiralSenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 08:25 AM   #2
AdmiralSenn
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vero Beach
Default

Just double checked - with the rod shortened all the way it is still so long that if I tried to install it, the actuator would be sort of hanging in space, barely attached to the bracket.

Wastegate moves freely about an inch back and forth, and no farther - definitely going to be jammed open. I am going to have to attempt to shorten the female threaded portion of the rod unless someone has a better idea.
AdmiralSenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 08:54 AM   #3
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

Get a hold of IPD and ask them, if the part doesn't fit maybe they can send you a correct one.
__________________
Chip Feedback Thread / PM LH 2.4 Chip Prices
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:26 AM   #4
AdmiralSenn
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vero Beach
Default

I already talked to them yesterday and they assured me that it is the correct one.

I tried cutting the end that connects to the wastegate and it seems to be fine now. I still have to dial it in - it's definitely a turn or three longer than the old one at the moment, so I now have noticeable lag where before I had almost zero. But the car is driveable for today's errands, and it has boost, even.

If I had to guess I would say that it's possible I have the wrong bracket or my turbo was some kind of unholy hybrid that has the wastegate arm a lot closer to the actuator than a regular T3. Luckily even with the attachment cut, I have a TON of adjustment range with everything nice and securely threaded.

(As an aside, good sir, did you ever find that 937 ECU we were talking about way back when? Now that I have boost again I'm ready to start tweaking.)
AdmiralSenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:46 AM   #5
badvlvo
Bad for Babies
 
badvlvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Default

Sit them side by side, take a picture, send the picture to Cameron at ipd.
badvlvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:27 AM   #6
AdmiralSenn
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vero Beach
Default

Well, I had to install it so I had a car for a meeting that I couldn't skip, but I do have the old one. From my googling around it looks like the one I had was the odd one, and the one they sent me was correct. I just didn't know that you could have multiple sizes, and nothing I read says otherwise.

Since it's working this isn't as big of a deal for the moment, but I'll see if I can remember to snag a picture of the old one and send it his way.

I'm just glad I have a full tap and die set and the tools to make it work, or I'd have been in trouble.
AdmiralSenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.