home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2020, 10:21 AM   #1
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default bypassing dash dimmer

I have read several times in threads about how bypassing the dimmer will make the dash lights brighter. I tried making a wire with prongs to connect the two. It didn't work, so I clipped the wires and tried just running them together. Does it need to be wired some special way?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bypass2.jpg (112.3 KB, 140 views)
__________________
Currently 91 245 "Ingrid," 93 244 "Lars," and 92 245 "Astrid"


Past
88 245 "Margit" sold
93 244 completely disassembled - It died, so many of its parts could help others live.

97 855 T5
97 855 NA
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 11:27 PM   #2
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Crickets
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 12:27 AM   #3
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default Splicing wires

...
__________________
No Start Thread

Last edited by ZVOLV; 10-17-2020 at 12:41 AM.. Reason: thought the question was about splicing wires
ZVOLV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 12:39 AM   #4
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Thanks for the info, im also wondering if both the red/whites connected to both the browns or are they supposed to be individually seperated.
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 12:41 AM   #5
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Connect all 4 wires together to bypass the dimmer.
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 12:45 AM   #6
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

How should all 4 wires be connected together?
ZVOLV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 01:00 AM   #7
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Replace the blade connectors and use one of these.

hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 11:37 AM   #8
VolvoScout
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Default

Can anyone confirm that bypassing the dimmer makes the dash lights brighter?
I've been having trouble seeing my dash at night as more cars with Xenon and LED lights are on the road.
VolvoScout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 05:48 PM   #9
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Do you have a link to something like that? I don't know what it's called or where to start.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
Replace the blade connectors and use one of these.

RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 06:06 PM   #10
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

I believe they're used on air cooled VW's.

https://www.ebay.com/i/233422578711?...hoCx7AQAvD_BwE
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 06:37 PM   #11
philski o'flood
Board Member
 
philski o'flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego
Default

wire nuts
philski o'flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 06:41 PM   #12
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Question

Flux, solder, and heat shrink tubing.
ZVOLV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 11:11 PM   #13
philski o'flood
Board Member
 
philski o'flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego
Default

not the easiest location for all that... which is why... Wire Nuts
philski o'flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 01:20 AM   #14
MasterBlaster
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Coquitlam
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VolvoScout View Post
Does it need to be wired some special way?
Power comes in on grey from fuse 16.
Red/white takes full power to seat belts + ashtray.
Brown #1 (dimmed) goes to radio display.
Brown #2 (dimmed) goes to the (auto) shifter, panel lights, and gauges.
As stated, connect them all together using your favorite technique.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VolvoScout View Post
Can anyone confirm that bypassing the dimmer makes the dash lights brighter?
They will be as bright as they "can" be.

Quote:
air cooled VW's. (Wire Block Connector)
Quote:
wire nuts
Quote:
Flux, solder, and heat shrink tubing.
I believe the TB "correct" way is with a square knot (or a granny knot if you're in a hurry), wrapped in several layers of Xmas-themed Scotch tape.
__________________



1990 740GL, now in extra-small economy size.
504,000 km so far...
MasterBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 05:40 AM   #15
VB242
F*ck 12
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In my 15x20 Corona cell
Default

Just twist them together and 2 wraps of black tape should do it.
__________________
"i will destroy all of you!"
-Sheldon Plankton

Booty Scooty
https://youtu.be/i4oAOZ8nbq4
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 10:17 PM   #16
2turbotoys
Astro Zombie
 
2turbotoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Reading pa
Default

Ok, get 2 male spade terminals, connect them with a short length of wire. Unplug the dimmer, connect the 2 leads using your new patch cord. Insulate them with heat shrink tubing, or electrical tape if you must. Please don't use a wire nut. Not for use in a car. Electrical tape doesn't withstand time that well and will eventually start to unravel.

You do not need to be hooked to the dimmer switch at all.
__________________
Feedback thread https://forums.tbforums.com/showthread.php?t=144924

1978 242, 5.3 L33
1979 242, MS, R brakes
2006 V50 T5 AWD @ 17 PSI
2turbotoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2020, 10:59 PM   #17
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default Final report

Thanks. I did it like you said here and it worked now. As to whether it's brighter?.... Maybe 20% total. It will have to be good enough until I figure out how to to put LEDs there. I ordered a set and I don't see how they will fit in to the bulb bases in the dash console.



Quote:
Originally Posted by 2turbotoys View Post
Ok, get 2 male spade terminals, connect them with a short length of wire. Unplug the dimmer, connect the 2 leads using your new patch cord. Insulate them with heat shrink tubing, or electrical tape if you must. Please don't use a wire nut. Not for use in a car. Electrical tape doesn't withstand time that well and will eventually start to unravel.

You do not need to be hooked to the dimmer switch at all.
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2020, 08:20 PM   #18
2turbotoys
Astro Zombie
 
2turbotoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Reading pa
Default

What is the voltage there? It should be just over 14V with the car running. If not, something might be on the circuit that is using a lot of power or the ground isn't in good condition.
2turbotoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 05:56 PM   #19
hessam69
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

Where do you probe to measure the voltage when talking about the cluster lighting?
hessam69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.