• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

B18 Timing help

))<>((

Addicted242boost
Bought this car 2 years ago and it's never really ran right. I've gotten it driving, but it was never really happy at the top end. I need someone to verify my cam/crank gears were installed correctly by a previous owner or if the cam is 180 degrees out (if that's even possible?) This is my first time dealing with a push rod motor.

What's been done:
Carbs rebuilt and multiple syncs, all new gaskets.
Replaced distributor and used new rotor/cap/plugs/wires/coil/condenser/points. Everything in spec.

When using a timing light the pulley never displayed the 10 0 10 20 marks, but instead would flash on white paint marked on the pulley that seemed 180 degrees out from the timing marks.

Recently dissembled the timing cove/pulley. The tab on the pulley that indexes on the bushing that goes on the crank gear was bent out, allowing it to slip or be placed wherever on the crank bushing.

With the #1 piston at TDC and the lines on the crank and cam gear pointed at each other, the rotor is pointing 180 degrees away from cyl 1.
The valves for cyl 1 are both closed , the next valve movement on crank rotation is valve #2 opening
1.jpg

1-rotor.jpg

With the #1 piston at TDC and the crank line at 2 o clock and the cam line at 2 o clock (180 degrees a part) the rotor is pointing at cyl #1.
The valves for cyl 1 are both closed, the next valve movement on crank rotation is valve #1 opening
2-crank.jpg

2-cam.jpg

2-rotor.jpg

Now, is the crank/cam/distributor timing on this engine correct or is something messed up?

That looks right. When the timing marks are aligned on the gears the distributor will point to cylinder #4, not #1.