• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

1977 260 B27e upgrades

LittleBandit

Hi Guys.
Id like to upgrade my B27e engine to have a little a more kick.
Basically im a newb when it comes to anything in the engine but ive done a few simple things like adding an audio system changing radiators n junk. So i want to start with whats infront of me and learn a bunch.

Ive read a lot about swaps and engines lately so ive heard that the b27e engines arent liked due to camshaft wear and a guy told me not to make it to sporty because the heads are sensitive. Then theres the aluminium block so dont run it cold. It also is a son of bitch to drive for like the first 1 - 2 k's as it just wants to stall when the revs are low.

Anyway...
I have been wanting to
Find a Manual gearbox. preferably the M46 from another 264
Move the battery to the boot and move the radiator overflow so i can use a commodore air filter box for cold air flow.
Have extractors made and fit a twin exhaust system.
Remove the AC compressor and other ac bits.

Any thoughts and comments about those mods and any extra ones to help improve the engine performace would be greatly appreciated. Apparently there is a John on here who has experience modding the V6's

Jake

Greetings Jake....

Yes.... Many things we can do to make them more exciting. Mild to wild. All it takes is a Quicker pulse rate and deep pockets to make one that is utterly sick.

A '77 B-27E you say.... K-Basic or K-Lambda? The E flavor engines have more exciting cams and more static compression... A good starting point.