home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2021, 06:13 PM   #1
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default "simple" keyless entry now going on 2 weeks

Im including a photo and video.


I was going about adding keyless to a 93 244.
Installed a passenger side actuator in the door, but then thought i should clean up the tumbler wires that everyone seems to eventually have a problem with.



I used liquid electrical tape, covered it with heat shrink and everything seemed fine. Now turning the door lock doesnt energize the unlock/lock???



Im thinking i might be off on placement of the black casing around the tumbler? Or any other ideas?
Here is a link to a short youtube video
https://youtu.be/9W708Jdpnd4
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PicsArt_04-02-06.00.29.jpg (181.9 KB, 84 views)
__________________
Feedback thread: https://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=353892

91 245 re-christened “The Mistress” 012021
93 244 "Lars"
92 245 "Astrid"

Past
88 245 "Margit" sold
93 244 completely disassembled - It died, so many of its parts could help others live.
97 855 T5
97 855 NA
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 06:32 PM   #2
apachechef
Burnt Sierra Madre
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort Joe Smith, Klendathu
Default

Iirc, it can be 180 deg off
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lummert View Post
Dammit, Lummert.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse8931 View Post
Well keep us updated on how your dumbass plan goes.
apachechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 07:06 PM   #3
volvowagoon
Board Member
 
volvowagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Franklin, IN
Default

I was curious about doing this. Our 240 came with remote start, but they didn't hook up the remote lock/unlock feature. Knowing how rusty the rest of the car is and how these actuator wires like to corrode, I'm a bit nervous to attempt it.
__________________
Feedback - https://forums.turbobricks.com/showt...ht=volvowagoon

1986 Buick Grand National - Restoring to stock™
2002 Camaro V6 T5 +T - The trashy car that's fun to drive
2010 C30 T5 - The boring but trusty daily - 192k
1989 245 DL - The boring but not trusty daily - 226k
IG: @v6buick
volvowagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 07:15 PM   #4
bobxyz
Board Member
 
bobxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Boulder CO
Default

The orientation of the black collar and tabs looks fine. Does it work if you pull up and push down on the unlock knob?
bobxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 07:32 PM   #5
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobxyz View Post
The orientation of the black collar and tabs looks fine. Does it work if you pull up and push down on the unlock knob?
No it does work either way. When i first reconnected it at the 3 prong connector i heard it engage, but now neither the key or pull/push the knob works.
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 07:39 PM   #6
2 old for this
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Amarillo and the Sanger de Cristo mountians
Default

With keyless entry why do you need the key switch?
2 old for this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 07:48 PM   #7
cleanflametrap
Board Member
 
cleanflametrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: near baltimore
Default

Does the remote operate the actuator with the door in the same position as you have it testing the key/button switch? The lock is mechanically disabled with the door open.

I have not found a use for the button or key switch since adding the keyless entry, so I've just left them unplugged under the dash where the switch wires are deteriorated.

http://cleanflametrap.com/keyless3.html
__________________
-Art
cleanflametrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 08:11 PM   #8
bobxyz
Board Member
 
bobxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Boulder CO
Default

Unplug the 3 pin connector and measure the voltages across each pair. Black wire should be ground, and the other 2 are the lock / unlock relay coils. They should be +12v. If good, try jumpering one at a time to black-ground to see if you can manually trigger lock/unlock.
bobxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 10:40 PM   #9
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Ive run the ŵires, but havent hooked up the keyless unit yet. But ill màke sure i recheck it closed. Its possible i hàd it open.



Quote:
Originally Posted by cleanflametrap View Post
Does the remote operate the actuator with the door in the same position as you have it testing the key/button switch? The lock is mechanically disabled with the door open.

I have not found a use for the button or key switch since adding the keyless entry, so I've just left them unplugged under the dash where the switch wires are deteriorated.

http://cleanflametrap.com/keyless3.html
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 02:38 PM   #10
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickATL View Post
No it doesn't work either way. When i first reconnected it at the 3 prong connector i heard it engage, but now neither the key or pull/push the knob works.

EDIT: This morning I was double checking things and after touching the unlock or lock relay (I'm not sure which) it started working as it is supposed to. It promptly stopped working again not 5 minutes later. I have to go through the wires and double check their connections.
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 02:59 PM   #11
OttoB
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: E(Seattle!Vancouver! San Francisco!LA!) Helsinski
Default

IIRC, there are three wires red, black and yellow.

Black goes to ground, others to relays. One relay for opening, one for closing. Follow wiring diagram.
OttoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 03:50 PM   #12
nel621
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Did you do a good job of isolating the wires before the liquid tape bath? I hate that stuff. You may still have a break in the wires as it passes through the door.
nel621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 10:53 AM   #13
RickATL
Family's fleet manager
 
RickATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Atlanta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nel621 View Post
Did you do a good job of isolating the wires before the liquid tape bath? I hate that stuff. You may still have a break in the wires as it passes through the door.

Yes I held them separate with clips while painting one side. After they dried, I then flipped them over and brushed the other side. I then put heat shrink around each. I think it was just a problem with the relay not being plugged in well enough.
RickATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.