home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2020, 03:56 PM   #1
Shinchan
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lafayette, CO
Default T5 swap on a 140 - can I use a 240 clutch cable?

Wrapping up a T5 swap in a 140 using the DeeWorks T5 adapter using the M45-style bellhousing. The bellhousing has the larger clutch cable adjustment hole than the M41 bellhousing. Can I just use a 240 clutch cable with the 140 or is there some other way to get the adjuster on the trans end to mount correctly in the larger adjustment hole?

Here's the original-type:
s-l1600

Here is the type of bell housing that I installed with the swap:
121375150-a-DVu1flp-P1080533

Last edited by Shinchan; 09-09-2020 at 04:02 PM.. Reason: added photos
Shinchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 04:30 PM   #2
Shinchan
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lafayette, CO
Default

Or likewise, can I remove the adjustment bushing from the end of a 240 cable and use it on a 140 cable? My 140 cable is Volvo NOS and I'd like to use it if possible.
Shinchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 11:47 PM   #3
Harry Tuttle
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: in your ducts
Default

Your 140 cable is threaded with two nuts, right? Have you looked at the delrin bushing that STS sells? You may be able to put the cable end right through the I.D. of the bushing. Looks like it may be a little large on the inside, but it seems like a good start on filling that big hole.
__________________
I came into this game for the action, the excitement. Go anywhere, travel light, get in, get out, wherever there's trouble, a man alone


Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs
just gutless low compression k-junk
Harry Tuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 10:51 AM   #4
Shinchan
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lafayette, CO
Default

Yes, it's the super-long thread with 2 adjustment nuts. I already have a Beck Arnley 240 cable on the way to see if I can make the bushing fit on the 140 cable end. If that doesn't work out, I'll definitely check out the delrin bushing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Tuttle View Post
Your 140 cable is threaded with two nuts, right? Have you looked at the delrin bushing that STS sells? You may be able to put the cable end right through the I.D. of the bushing. Looks like it may be a little large on the inside, but it seems like a good start on filling that big hole.
Shinchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 10:54 AM   #5
Redwood Chair
K-jet For Life
 
Redwood Chair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: - Stock PSI Or Bust -
Default

no
__________________
Raise The Lowered


Image hosted by servimg.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
Folks on here don't know a good deal when they see it.
how psi stock cna support?

Redwood Chair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 12:02 PM   #6
AndrewNance
Amateur hour!
 
AndrewNance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Default

Can’t you just use your m40/41 bell housing so everything works?
AndrewNance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 01:37 PM   #7
Shinchan
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lafayette, CO
Default

No, it won't work with the deeworks adapter. I can't remember which, but the M40/41 bellhousing is either slightly too long or too short.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewNance View Post
Can’t you just use your m40/41 bell housing so everything works?
Shinchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 01:59 PM   #8
CJs 142E
Board Member
 
CJs 142E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland OR,
Default

B20 or B230FT..?
__________________
72 142 Turbo Project (In the works)
Join My Group > http://forums.turbobricks.com/group.php?groupid=97


72 142Turbo
73 145
06 V70R Sonic Blue
CJs 142E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 03:16 PM   #9
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Toronto, ON (Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJs 142E View Post
B20 or B230FT..?
Not to speak for the OP, but based in previous posts it's a B20.

I'm here because I want to see how this works out so I can do the same thing in my car.
__________________
Doing the wrong thing the right way.

If you happen to have a metric '67-'72 140/160 gauge cluster, please do PM me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by redblockpowered View Post
Will you do $14.99 shipped?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IansPlatinum View Post
please no more prying things with screwdrivers and bashing things with hammers!
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 03:42 PM   #10
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

I think the best solution would be to make an aluminum bushing to reduce the size of the hole so the 140 clutch cable can be used. It'll need to have a flange so it doesn't pull through the hole in the bell housing and it shouldn't be very thick as that will affect the amount of adjustment available.
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 03:36 AM   #11
OttoB
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: E(Seattle!Vancouver! San Francisco!LA!) Helsinski
Default

Common trick for 120 and 140 is to modify with 240 clutch cable. You have to use washers at firewall and little grinding on that fork. This is for allowing clearance for full movement.

240 cable has less friction than 120/140 cables.
OttoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 04:48 AM   #12
TurboDutch
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Nieuw en Sint Joosland
Default

Where can I find the threat about this project?
TurboDutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 07:50 PM   #13
Shinchan
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lafayette, CO
Default

Locked somewhere in the bowels of my fevered brain...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDutch View Post
Where can I find the threat about this project?

Last edited by Shinchan; 09-12-2020 at 08:30 PM..
Shinchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 07:53 PM   #14
Shinchan
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lafayette, CO
Default

Mischief managed.

Obtained a 240 cable assembly, removed the rubber bushing and crappy plastic bushing insert, and put it on the 140 cable. The adjustment bolts are the same size but different threads. Fortunately, since the insert was crappy plastic, I just muscled through cutting new threads using the adjusting bolt. Worked like a charm!

IMG-7559

Last edited by Shinchan; 09-13-2020 at 12:31 AM..
Shinchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.