home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2019, 04:53 AM   #2251
c2h5oh-ethanol
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Default E-fan driver

Hi, is it just the software that have E-Fan compability. Or is it a different PCB, or a driver? Or can you take a software from a car that have e-fan. And put it in a ECU that doesent have it, and get the e-fan to work? I have 977, from start with no e-fan. But use 954 bin, with 984 parameters.
Is it NPN or PNP trigger to e-fan relay?

Best regards//
Jim Karlsson
c2h5oh-ethanol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 05:56 AM   #2252
mrjaybeeze
Team Jetronic.info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c2h5oh-ethanol View Post
Hi, is it just the software that have E-Fan compability. Or is it a different PCB, or a driver? Or can you take a software from a car that have e-fan. And put it in a ECU that doesent have it, and get the e-fan to work? I have 977, from start with no e-fan. But use 954 bin, with 984 parameters.
Is it NPN or PNP trigger to e-fan relay?

Best regards//
Jim Karlsson
ECU with 5xx last numbers does not have E-fan capability. Most 900 does. The 9xx PCB has space for a fan driver that is missing on the early ECUs.
977 should run E-fan OK.
The output is grounded when E-fan is activated, most practical to use Volvo's own E-fan relay to drive the fans, then it is plug and play.

YS
Jaybee
__________________
ipdown.net/jetronic.info/tiki-index.php
Site open in "lame mode"
If you have some issues
just send me a message
mrjaybeeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 02:19 PM   #2253
c2h5oh-ethanol
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjaybeeze View Post
ECU with 5xx last numbers does not have E-fan capability. Most 900 does. The 9xx PCB has space for a fan driver that is missing on the early ECUs.
977 should run E-fan OK.
The output is grounded when E-fan is activated, most practical to use Volvo's own E-fan relay to drive the fans, then it is plug and play.

YS
Jaybee

Thanks for reply.
Do you know wich place the driver has? See five "slots" one is injector TIP122. (I assume that the driver for e-fan is placed here).. But dont know the other ones. And if you look on them one is missing, second one from left.

// Jim Karlsson
c2h5oh-ethanol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 02:27 PM   #2254
redblockpowered
Board Member
 
redblockpowered's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Swampscott, MA
Default

The E-fan driver is highlighted in the picture below, it's the little square piece.

__________________
1993 944 B230FT/M90 thread here: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=345277
2x 1991 245 B230F/M47 (LeMons car, street car)
I sell chips for LH 2.4!
redblockpowered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 02:57 PM   #2255
c2h5oh-ethanol
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redblockpowered View Post
The E-fan driver is highlighted in the picture below, it's the little square piece.

Thank you.
So wrong i was

Then i have it!

// Jim Karlsson
c2h5oh-ethanol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:39 AM   #2256
SquareD
An Anomaly
 
SquareD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The STL
Default

So after not messing with this stuff much for the past 2+ years, I've gotten back into it. I downloaded the latest version of tunerpro and figured out address hit tracing; that's kindof a big deal and will make things easier. I've compensated for my green giants, smoothed the map and adjusted things to avoid that roll-in ping with LH with some apparent success and with address tracing I can dial things in even better. Dude, what is up with the stock fuel map, what a jagged mess? Anway...

I have some questions and this thread is kinda hard to slog through. Keep in mind this is coming from someone that has only basic understanding of tunerpro, isn't going to program and isn't going to hack the stock wiring harness.

1) So data logging is pretty much out of the question, right?

2) Is there a way to configure tunerpro to read my AEM wideband? Like repoint the port that the signal is coming from (usb port). I see tunerpro doesn't even have a wideband driver for AEM widebands. I don't even know how those drivers relate to functions in tunerpro. I read that Kenny said logging is out, so he just turned on tracing and watches the wideband readout as he rides along. Is that still the only option?

3) I see that you can create a dashboard in the ADX editor, but I can't find any examples of how to do it from scratch online; and it's not necessarily intuitive. I see people using prebuilt dashes and customizing them, do we have anything like that for LH 2.4? I'm also confused about the difference between an .adx file and a .ads file.

Like I said, this thread is huge and can take a lot of time to search and read. I'd put together a quick and dirty video of what I've learned (comparing bins, address hit tracing, map editing, etc.) but maybe people have moved on or already know this stuff.
__________________
1994 945ti | 15g @ 14psi, Turbosmart EBC, AEM Failsafe WB, 3"/2.5" exhaust, do88 intercooler, iPd cam, STS cam gear, Ostrich LH tune, sbabbs EZK chip, green giants, K&N, Yoshifab CCV/Can/Cap, iPd SS brake lines, TME, Eibach, BNE, Koni suspension, iPd sways, iPd panhard, TME upper/CT lower braces, forged BBS RG-Rs, Michelin Pilot SS, ecodes, V90 bits.
1985 744ti | 13.8 @ 100.5 mph - Sold after 20 years.

Last edited by SquareD; 10-18-2019 at 09:26 AM..
SquareD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 10:51 AM   #2257
aaron740gl
Board Member
 
aaron740gl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: conyers, ga
Default

Finally got my car to a point where i can start it up and idle. Used the new 954 v52 stuff and done a few other changes. Scaled it for 85# injectors. Used the 012 amm but didnt change the map for that so i assume its still set for the 016. Not sure how to change it anyways. So, came time to see if i did good. Turned on map tracing and emulation, gave it some crunk and the dang thing fired right up and didnt miss a lick at all after sitting for 2 years. This is on a fresh top end with nice mods. Onle let it idle for a few minutes. But cold startup was as expected. 12ish on the afr. As it warmed up it started playin around 14-15afr.. This is with hi rez 85# injectors a d 93 pump gas. Stopped at that point and called it quits for the night. The setup was a 954 bin with the v52 954 xdf on a 939 ecu. So i can confirm the new stuff does work on that ecu.
__________________
91' 744se with some stuff done to it
aaron740gl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 03:09 PM   #2258
Goofy
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden Skövde
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareD View Post
So after not messing with this stuff much for the past 2+ years, I've gotten back into it. I downloaded the latest version of tunerpro and figured out address hit tracing; that's kindof a big deal and will make things easier. I've compensated for my green giants, smoothed the map and adjusted things to avoid that roll-in ping with LH with some apparent success and with address tracing I can dial things in even better. Dude, what is up with the stock fuel map, what a jagged mess? Anway...

I have some questions and this thread is kinda hard to slog through. Keep in mind this is coming from someone that has only basic understanding of tunerpro, isn't going to program and isn't going to hack the stock wiring harness.

1) So data logging is pretty much out of the question, right?

2) Is there a way to configure tunerpro to read my AEM wideband? Like repoint the port that the signal is coming from (usb port). I see tunerpro doesn't even have a wideband driver for AEM widebands. I don't even know how those drivers relate to functions in tunerpro. I read that Kenny said logging is out, so he just turned on tracing and watches the wideband readout as he rides along. Is that still the only option?

3) I see that you can create a dashboard in the ADX editor, but I can't find any examples of how to do it from scratch online; and it's not necessarily intuitive. I see people using prebuilt dashes and customizing them, do we have anything like that for LH 2.4? I'm also confused about the difference between an .adx file and a .ads file.

Like I said, this thread is huge and can take a lot of time to search and read. I'd put together a quick and dirty video of what I've learned (comparing bins, address hit tracing, map editing, etc.) but maybe people have moved on or already know this stuff.
3. I was wondering the same thing, i tune my v8 tbi swapped volvo with tunerpro. And for the GM tbi you can download adx file and use datalog and a dashboard.. would have been great if someone have done the same thing for LH2.4
Goofy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 01:56 PM   #2259
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

I'm looking for help with acceleration/throttle tip-in enrichment:

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=351930
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 09:57 PM   #2260
aaron740gl
Board Member
 
aaron740gl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: conyers, ga
Default

After looking through the v52 xdf, ive noticed when placing the cursor over different maps in the paramter tree, alot of them say to copy and paste the 984 maps in the caption. Has anybody done tbis yet? Anyone using the 984 stuff at all? Is it as refined as stated in previous posts? Is it that much better to use when building a bin?
aaron740gl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 02:43 PM   #2261
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

It's one of the latest control units used, so as refined as things are going to get. No reason not to use it if they will work on your computer!
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 06:46 PM   #2262
aaron740gl
Board Member
 
aaron740gl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: conyers, ga
Default

I have a few spares.. 954,967,939, and a 937.. I have an 8v project that runs on tlao fuel chip and stock ezk. Been thinking of makin a bin composed of the 984 stuff for and just tune from there. Albiet in its current state it at about 22mpg.
aaron740gl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 02:42 AM   #2263
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

MrJaybeeze sir, may we/I get an updated XDF for the 951 computer, please? I've been using the 933 on the General Leif but I finally have a working wideband in my 240 again and snagged an Ostrich from the General to play with.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 05:46 AM   #2264
mrjaybeeze
Team Jetronic.info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norway
Default

Hi Kyle

I will look into it when I get some free time, please remind me on FB or something if it takes too much time :-)

YS
JB
mrjaybeeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 05:41 PM   #2265
jf.xv
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: UK
Default

Had a bit of a read into this thread but 91 pages is quite a lot of info to digest...
I'm currently using TunerPro v5, and the ECU in my car is a 984. I'm having issues getting the latest XDF (v28, from July 2013) to work with the BIN file for this. Main 16x16 fuel map is coming up as all zeros, as is everything else I'm looking at. Same result with a 962, but I'm able to load the 937 one ok. I'm assuming this is a compatibility issue.

Do I have to / is it possible to get the BIN directly off my ECU? If so how can I do this?

As the ECU in my car is a 984, I'd ideally like to use that one for when I start making changes to the maps.

Any advice? Thanks!


EDIT: Have now tried the 954 bin and xdf, seems to work ok. What's the difference between the 954 and 984, other than the lack of immobiliser in the former? ANy difference in processor speeds?
__________________
dailying the project - 1997 940 2.3 RHD

Last edited by jf.xv; 01-02-2020 at 06:51 AM.. Reason: Forgot something
jf.xv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 12:53 AM   #2266
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

Just for reference...

If you have a tune designed around the 016 MAF, changing to the 012 MAF and the associated table changes does not seem to require tuning changes. Hit tracing shows the same cells between the two.

Another oddity I found tonight though. While tuning I ended up with random tables that I could change the values on, but after saving them, then reopening, those changes were lost and the values were set at 200. Regardless of which table, the values stayed at 200. Reverting to a previous tune, then going back and changing the values, my values stayed. Not sure why the changes wouldn't stick, kinda strange.
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams "Mr. Doug" 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman "fivehundred" 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey "TrickMick" 1/10/14
Mark Baldwin "blue850t5" 7/19/18
Nick Fengler "fengler" 8/6/18
Thomas Fritz "stealthfti" 10/11/18


74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=334698

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 06:34 PM   #2267
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
Another oddity I found tonight though. While tuning I ended up with random tables that I could change the values on, but after saving them, then reopening, those changes were lost and the values were set at 200. Regardless of which table, the values stayed at 200. Reverting to a previous tune, then going back and changing the values, my values stayed. Not sure why the changes wouldn't stick, kinda strange.
I've experienced similar oddities before. I can't explain it but I've almost always been able to get around it some way or another.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 11:50 PM   #2268
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

At least I'm not alone.

Playing with the injector constants, I had a theory. Perhaps constant 1 is the volume injected, constant 4 is the time required to inject that amount. Raising 1 or lowering 4 leans things out.

I just swapped in some #80 to replace my #65 and had to drop #4 with far better results than increasing #1.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 02:39 PM   #2269
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
Playing with the injector constants, I had a theory. Perhaps constant 1 is the volume injected, constant 4 is the time required to inject that amount. Raising 1 or lowering 4 leans things out.

I just swapped in some #80 to replace my #65 and had to drop #4 with far better results than increasing #1.
Actually, you should've been lowering #1 if you were trying to lean it out! Raising #1 adds fuel just like raising #4 does.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 01:52 AM   #2270
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

I found the exact opposite. Lowering #1 went richer, lowering #4 went leaner, and vice versa.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 03:51 AM   #2271
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Crazy. That’s not right!

On another note, I would like to change the temperature scale for the warm up tables but when I try to adjust it, it’s not working. There’s too much detail at temps I’ll never see and not enough for warm up. Jaybee, where ya at?

Or maybe I’ll just switch to Megasquirt(or something modern) sometime to increase my resolution. Not for a while, but I probably will some day.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 10:16 AM   #2272
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

We actually found the same on Ryan's car when setting it up for white's.

I really wish we knew what the actual logic was for this section.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 09:06 AM   #2273
mrjaybeeze
Team Jetronic.info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norway
Default

Hi

Sometimes when a change won't stick it is due to limits posed in the xdf parameters, if the low range or high range is set it will of course not allow anything above or below.

Jaybee
mrjaybeeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 10:20 AM   #2274
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

That does make sense. I was fighting something that was at 03, somehow ended up with 200 in that bin without me doing it, and I couldn't change it back to 03.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 12:05 PM   #2275
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

I think the main time I experienced the values not changing to what I set and not letting me change it back to what it even was, was when playing with ignition timing. The really high numbers at high rpm and low load were up into the 50s for a couple of the bins and when I was copying an ignition map from one bin to another, it never saved those numbers as being that high. If you follow what I'm saying, hah.

Also, I've had issues with setting the idle speed by putting in my own numbers, but it hasn't really been an issue as I would then go into LH24 editor and bump it up, then come back to TunerPro and it'd be fine as it's a more accurate number instead of an actual rpm value.

Speaking of that, and the warm-up, though, I'd love to know if it's possible to change the temperatures over which you have control for both the warm-up and idle rpm. It worked for me to adjust the scale for the main fuel map and the WOT fuel add table, but it doesn't seem to work for the idle rpm and/or the warm up tables.

I am still using a version 26 or 28 of the 951 XDF, though. Can you make me an updated version, pretty please, Jaybee?
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.