home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2020, 01:01 PM   #1
stayathomedad
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Visalia California
Default Overheating Situation

Hey guys, I'm running an old school dual carb set-up. I know that's not typically discussed here but I'm hoping you guys might be able to help me with an overheating situation.
I'm running a B230, 531 Head, V cam, dual carb. I'm fairly certain I installed the head gasket correctly, it has a new water pump and new thermostat (180 degrees). My temp gauge is telling me its running around 210 degrees plus.

First, I dropped my new thermostat a few times before install on accident. Is it possible I broke it and this is my problem?

Second, I'm running a Volvo temp sending unit and an Autometer temp gauge. I've read these two don't always get along too well and the gauge could read 30 degrees hotter then the actual temp of the coolant. Does this actually happen and/or is common or was that just bogus information?

Third, the dual carb intake manifold has a type of coolant bypass where a coolant passage from the head near the number 4 intake runs through the intake manifold to a coolant passage near the number 1 intake. HOWEVER, the coolant passage near the number 1 intake is closed/plugged/blocked. Essentially coolant just sits in the intake manifold. Should the coolant passage near the number 1 intake be open so coolant freely moves through the intake manifold bypass? And, could this be why the motor is getting so hot?

Lastly, is there anything else that could lead to a hot motor condition?

Thanks for any information guys!!!
Keith
stayathomedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:07 PM   #2
kyote
Living The Dream
 
kyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: La Porte TX
Default

I would verify at thermostat housing with an IR temp gun.
Running boat carbs?
Volvo sending unit with autometer gauge is likely the problem IMO.
__________________
-78 242 tic, a kyotefab/willettrun joint
-83 245 tic, daily in progress
-14 F150 FX4 3.5 EcoBeast (Wife's)
kyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:07 PM   #3
Dan
Watching the World burn
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Superior, Montana
Default

It's possible the temp sending unit and gauge have different ohm values, get a matched set and try. Radiator fins unclogged? fan spaced correctly inside shroud? (half in/half out). I'm not too worried about the coolant passage being plugged, but I would try to fix it if possible
__________________
1985 Chevy TPI V8 740.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:09 PM   #4
apachechef
Burnt Sierra Madre
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort Joe Smith, Klendathu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyote View Post
I would verify at thermostat housing with an IR temp gun.
Running boat carbs?
Volvo sending unit with autometer gauge is likely the problem IMO.
this check temp with good thermometer first.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lummert View Post
Dammit, Lummert.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse8931 View Post
Well keep us updated on how your dumbass plan goes.
apachechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:16 PM   #5
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Verify engine temp with a non contact IR thermometer.

I seriously doubt the Auto meter gauge will read properly with a Volvo sender.

An adapter is available so you can use the Auto Meter sender.

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...hlight=adapter

Not circulating coolant through the intake won't cause the engine to overheat.
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:20 PM   #6
stayathomedad
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Visalia California
Default

Sounds good guys, I'll get myself an IR Temp Gun and check temperatures around the head and temp sending unit.
I'll hit up Culberro to see if I can get and adapter from him. I think I sent him a PM but for some reason when I send a PM it never displays whether or not I sent anything. My sent box is empty but my inbox is full lol
stayathomedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:38 PM   #7
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

You need to change the setting in your user control panel to save sent messages.
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:44 PM   #8
stayathomedad
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Visalia California
Default

Ah, got it. I went ahead and changed that. Of course, I sent a message before I changed the setting so I'm assuming it will only save messages I send from here on out....
stayathomedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 10:59 AM   #9
stayathomedad
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Visalia California
Default

I find it odd that the Volvo oil pressure sending unit seems to work fine with the Autometer oil pressure gauge. Any ideas why that might be?
stayathomedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 11:58 AM   #10
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stayathomedad View Post
I find it odd that the Volvo oil pressure sending unit seems to work fine with the Autometer oil pressure gauge. Any ideas why that might be?
It just happens to be a similar resistance range.
__________________
Cult Person. Pissing in your Kool-Aid.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 12:44 AM   #11
stayathomedad
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Visalia California
Default

Basically just luck then. That's good though, at least you only need to worry about one instead of both.
stayathomedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 08:26 PM   #12
stayathomedad
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Visalia California
Default

Update: got the IR temp gun and checked everything. Its definitely the sending unit communicating innacurately. Thanks for the all the help guys! I'll get the adapter from culberro and I'll be set!
stayathomedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 10:58 AM   #13
kyote
Living The Dream
 
kyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: La Porte TX
Default

Glad to hear it was something easy!
kyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.