home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > General > article composition > the vault

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2015, 03:54 AM   #676
thebornotaku
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 
thebornotaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorn View Post
Mine does that sometimes and on a very hot day it will even do it after 10 minutes. Doesn't effect anything.
When I had my 240, my fan would cycle 2-3 times for 5-10 minutes after it was shut off. Didn't hurt the battery or anything.
__________________
1974 Volkswagen Super Beetle "Diego"
1986 Volvo 244DL M47 "Turd Ferguson"
2009 Volkswagen Rabbit 2.5 "Snowbunny"
thebornotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 03:31 PM   #677
will740turbo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Found a 940 with e-fan at the JY. About to leave town, but for $35 I want to grab it.

It has a fan controlled mounted behind the right headlight. 2-speed .....


Does anyone run a 2-speed fan, or does everyone just use the low-only?
will740turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 04:35 PM   #678
Jorn
Board Member
 
Jorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Silverlake/A'dam
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by will740turbo View Post
Found a 940 with e-fan at the JY. About to leave town, but for $35 I want to grab it.

It has a fan controlled mounted behind the right headlight. 2-speed .....


Does anyone run a 2-speed fan, or does everyone just use the low-only?
I use the low only, works fine in Southern California. Needle never moves passed the 12 O'Clock position.
__________________
Silver '89 780 Bertone Turbo: Bilsteins HD in the front, polly bushings, IPD 25mm sways in the front and 19mm in the rear, IPD lower and upper brace.
Jorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:24 AM   #679
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Yeah low speed has kept mine plenty cool, but high speed is set up on a dash switch just in case.
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 02:20 PM   #680
DMFWallace
Ignoramus Bigotus
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorn View Post
I use the low only, works fine in Southern California. Needle never moves passed the 12 O'Clock position.
... you mean 9 o' clock?
__________________
'90 244 - Too many memories to crush
'92 944T - Need any 940 parts?
'96 854 GLT - Not mine any more but still in the family
'92 245 - Current Daily
'97 854R - Totaled by a drunk driver
'06 XC90 V8 - Family Hauler - Wifemobile
Feedback:http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...ght=dmfwallace
DMFWallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 05:30 PM   #681
Jorn
Board Member
 
Jorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Silverlake/A'dam
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMFWallace View Post
... you mean 9 o' clock?
Needle is always straight up, half up the scale.
Jorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 12:25 PM   #682
thebornotaku
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 
thebornotaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMFWallace View Post
... you mean 9 o' clock?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorn View Post
Needle is always straight up, half up the scale.
the confusion here is that "halfway" on 240s is 9 o'clock and "halfway" on 7's is 12 o'clock.
thebornotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:50 PM   #683
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

.
__________________
Current
-93' 244 m47-iPd sways, 13c, iPd cam, 2.5”
straight pipe
-93' 245 m47-iPd sways, B-cam
-90' 744 AW70:( stock as a rock
-94' M-Edition Miata-Stock with a hardtop
Past
-80' 242gt m46-
-88' 245 m47-Welded diff, gutted, 13g
-92' 940 turbo, got for free, fixed, sold
Feedback Thread


can't replace u joints

Last edited by PromiseRing; 05-06-2015 at 01:54 AM..
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 05:01 PM   #684
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

It seems like the most logical place to put a switch is in the lower radiator hose or the passenger side of the radiator. After the coolant has run through the radiator, if it hasn't cooled down enough then the fan will come on. If it's pre radiator, I feel like it's come on too early? I'm definitely overthinking this, just curious what affect location has.
I will use the new radiators port rather than the ecu. I think having the switch on the passenger side of the radiator will be most effective because it'll show when the radiator no longer has the ability to cool the coolant down to the given temperature WITHOUT a the help of a fan. /babling.

Last edited by PromiseRing; 04-17-2015 at 02:17 AM..
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 09:59 AM   #685
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
It seems like the most logical place to put a switch is in the lower radiator hose or the passenger side of the radiator. After the coolant has run through the radiator, if it hasn't cooled down enough then the fan will come on. If it's pre radiator, I feel like it's come on too early? I'm definitely overthinking this, just curious what affect location has.
I will use the new radiators port rather than the ecu. I think having the switch on the passenger side of the radiator will be most effective because it'll show when the radiator no longer has the ability to cool the coolant down to the given temperature WITHOUT a the help of a fan. /babling.
I have my switch ther and I like the switch in the lower hose better. Location in the radiator is a cleaner look.
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 11:48 AM   #686
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photoman327 View Post
I have my switch ther and I like the switch in the lower hose better. Location in the radiator is a cleaner look.
Yeah idk I was being retarded that day. I ordered a 'probe' switch (with adjustable engagement) and will be using it to trigger the low speed relay on the 940 e-fan.
http://www.amazon.com/Flex-lite-3114.../dp/B00029J3ZW
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 08:25 PM   #687
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
Yeah idk I was being retarded that day. I ordered a 'probe' switch (with adjustable engagement) and will be using it to trigger the low speed relay on the 940 e-fan.
http://www.amazon.com/Flex-lite-3114.../dp/B00029J3ZW
I think I have one like that that someone sold me still unused. I did have a Hayden adjustable switch that went south will in Chicago and I was luck that I caught it. Been use a A single switch ever since. Plan to try a VW two switch just to take advantage of the two speed Volvo fan. Mine is in the radiator right now but going back to the lower hose. Seem to work better for me in that location.
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 01:55 AM   #688
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photoman327 View Post
I think I have one like that that someone sold me still unused. I did have a Hayden adjustable switch that went south will in Chicago and I was luck that I caught it. Been use a A single switch ever since. Plan to try a VW two switch just to take advantage of the two speed Volvo fan. Mine is in the radiator right now but going back to the lower hose. Seem to work better for me in that location.
I think some people use it to trigger the fan itself rather than a relay and it gets burned up. Mine will just be used to trigger the low speed relay on the 940 fan.
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 03:37 AM   #689
will740turbo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Someone posted this switch a while ago. Supposed to have the same threading as our screw-in rad switches (M14x1.5, I believe), but has a dual-range switch.

Great. But here's the thing. Low speed is on at 85, off at 80. High speed is on at 93, off at 88.
If it hits 93, does it ground both pins and run both high and low circuits simultaneously?
Is there a way around this? You could do fancy wiring so the high speed switch runs a 5-pin relay and the input 30 pin feeds say 87a and then the relay for the low-speed relay and switches the power to 87 when the high speed switch trips.
I think I just answered my own question, but it's past my bedtime.

Here's the switch: http://www.germanautoparts.com/productdisplay/19404
will740turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 11:16 AM   #690
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by will740turbo View Post
Someone posted this switch a while ago. Supposed to have the same threading as our screw-in rad switches (M14x1.5, I believe), but has a dual-range switch.

Great. But here's the thing. Low speed is on at 85, off at 80. High speed is on at 93, off at 88.
If it hits 93, does it ground both pins and run both high and low circuits simultaneously?
Is there a way around this? You could do fancy wiring so the high speed switch runs a 5-pin relay and the input 30 pin feeds say 87a and then the relay for the low-speed relay and switches the power to 87 when the high speed switch trips.
I think I just answered my own question, but it's past my bedtime.

Here's the switch: http://www.germanautoparts.com/productdisplay/19404
You could wire it up how you want. The 'switch' is just a ground that completes the circuit. On the 940 e fan you can have the big red +12 wire on the + terminal and the black one on the negative terminal..but the fan won't come on. You have to ground one of the smaller wires that trigger the relay in order for it to come on.
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 02:45 PM   #691
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

People say to use a 740 turbo shroud (still a mechanical fan shroud) but some have also used the 940 e fan shroud trimmed down. I don't think it would be a good idea to get rid of the 'flaps' in the shroud, so how is it shortened?
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 04:05 PM   #692
will740turbo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
You could wire it up how you want. The 'switch' is just a ground that completes the circuit. On the 940 e fan you can have the big red +12 wire on the + terminal and the black one on the negative terminal..but the fan won't come on. You have to ground one of the smaller wires that trigger the relay in order for it to come on.

Yep. What I'm saying is what happens if both switches are grounded and both relays are on and both hi/low circuits are running. Is that going to burn out the fan?

I drew up a diagram last night of it. Should work, but the low-speed fan relay trigger feed will always be hot. So Low-speed fan will run with car off, but the relay shouldn't be drawing power while it's in its NC position.
will740turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 06:19 PM   #693
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
I think some people use it to trigger the fan itself rather than a relay and it gets burned up. Mine will just be used to trigger the low speed relay on the 940 fan.
That is what I did!
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 06:26 PM   #694
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
People say to use a 740 turbo shroud (still a mechanical fan shroud) but some have also used the 940 e fan shroud trimmed down. I don't think it would be a good idea to get rid of the 'flaps' in the shroud, so how is it shortened?
I picked up a turbo shroud that fit my radiator then took the 940,850 fan out and mounted it in the turbo shroud. Looks factory except I had the first two nuts to the outside. Noticed it and put the last two to the inside. Still have not gone back and fixed that.
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 07:48 PM   #695
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photoman327 View Post
I picked up a turbo shroud that fit my radiator then took the 940,850 fan out and mounted it in the turbo shroud. Looks factory except I had the first two nuts to the outside. Noticed it and put the last two to the inside. Still have not gone back and fixed that.
Where did you get your shroud? What vehicle? And I assume you did this conversion on a 240.
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 10:53 PM   #696
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
Where did you get your shroud? What vehicle? And I assume you did this conversion on a 240.
Nashville pull a part. 940 turbo but did not look at the year.
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 12:07 PM   #697
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photoman327 View Post
Nashville pull a part. 940 turbo but did not look at the year.
940 shroud on a 240 is too long I thought?
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 07:28 PM   #698
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93Volvo240 View Post
940 shroud on a 240 is too long I thought?
Think you are right! What ever it is , it a perfect fit.
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 08:40 PM   #699
PromiseRing
We don't even like Volvos
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photoman327 View Post
Think you are right! What ever it is , it a perfect fit.
I hacked the 940 shroud and left 1 inch open on one side so air could get through. At first I left no airways and it got warm on the highway. Cutting that 1 inch off brought it back to normal temperatures. It also stays cool with the fan on even with that gaping 1" hole
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 01:19 AM   #700
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

I had a 940 fan and modified it and now that I think on it a little if was a 740 turbo that had the shoe shroud. I have a couple of the 240 off set turbo shrouds that will work but more bulk. Plan to take a look and see i Like it with a electric fan. I could mount a electric fan in the same way.
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.