home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2017, 12:18 PM   #1
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default Microsquirt woes

I have just finished installing all the hardware and making an engine harness for microsquirt. It boots up, I have loaded firmware, and all I have figured out how to do is calibrate the TPS and CTS. It is currently not reading anything from the CAS. I know for a fact that the hall sensor is good (it switches properly), and I even tried hooking it up to a spare distributor I had lying around to no avail. I am using a 10k pull-up resistor.

my specs:
'78 244 b21f+t
lh 2.2 distributor
brand new battery
microsquirt v3.0

The documentary is contradictory on which wire to use. The hardware manual says to wire the signal to VR- but another part of the manual describes the vr in as being for an analog signal, and to use OPTO- for a hall sensor. Which do I use? I wires it solid to VR when I made the harness and got no signal. I snipped the wire and used a jumper to connect it to OPTO and it made no difference.

It is possible that I have the wrong settings in tunerstudio. What are the ignition settings for the speed sensor I should be using? I will try to figure out how to post a log file when I get home.
__________________
project 1: 1978 244 DL, B21 f+t, doing μS, "custom" bodywork aka rust
project 2: 2006 Jeep Rubicon, lift/tires done, building bumpers, with +10hp "turbo" badge
project 3: 1968/71 Baja Bug combining two Beetles to make one good one, to turbocharge

1985 Honda Magna vf1100c: DD
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 12:46 PM   #2
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

1k pullup for a hall input. not 10k
normally on the micro you wire it into vr1 and vr2 (or whatever). I think the opto in on the microsquirt is more for neg coil implementations.
__________________
"They bum rushed them in their own crib, they drank all their beer, they partied with their ladies and they left with the trophy"

Now with in-house Dyno tuning!

Megasquirt Tuning!
Plug and play LH 2.4 Megasquirt, now with stealth mode!
linuxman51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:04 PM   #3
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

I will reattach the vr- and install a 1k tonight. I selected a 10k because I am powering it with 12v instead of 5v.
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:06 PM   #4
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

still 1k. if it's a dsm cas, it'll only throw out 5v even with a 12v feed (I think...)
linuxman51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:19 PM   #5
VB242
One hundred gift baskets
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

I didn't find the documentation clear on how to hook up the hall sensor. You only use one of the twisted pair on VR + I believe and the ground from the Hall has to go to the MS sensor ground wire. After reading this , it looks like you use vr+ and vr- with the hall but I'm pretty sure mine is wired Hall signal to vr+, the 1k resistor pullup and the ground to the sensor ground.
http://www.microsquirt.info/uswiring.htm
__________________
1980 242 X-street tire class champion Tidewater Sports Car Club 2017
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:44 PM   #6
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VB242 View Post
You should be using this.


http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Micro...rdware-3.4.pdf
__________________
85 GLH 290whp
94 855
00 Insight 72 mpg max.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:45 PM   #7
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

If you wire up everything per instructions and its not correct, you'll still show a signal in the composite logger, it will just show the cam and crank signals swapped from where they are supposed to be.

If you're getting no signal whatsoever in the composite logger then check your settings. I don't have my tuning laptop with me or I would give you my settings, but there are plenty of examples floating around here.

Edit: Oops, sorry, didn't read everything. Can't speak on the dizzy, thought you were using a mitsu CAS
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:47 PM   #8
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

so if it's an lh 2.2 distro, it's going to simply be trigger return single coil. vr1 input, 1k pullup, profit
linuxman51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:48 PM   #9
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

err not trigger return, wtf. distributor mode, non trigger wheel. Crossed my signals up that time lol
linuxman51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:49 PM   #10
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by free244dl View Post
The documentary is contradictory on which wire to use. The hardware manual says to wire the signal to VR- but another part of the manual describes the vr in as being for an analog signal, and to use OPTO- for a hall sensor. Which do I use? I wires it solid to VR when I made the harness and got no signal. I snipped the wire and used a jumper to connect it to OPTO and it made no difference.
Quote:
Opto+/- are the inputs for coil-negative triggering on a fuel only install, do not use them if you are controlling
ignition.
VR+/- are the inputs from the crank sensor (VR, Hall, Opto, etc.)
VR2+/- are the inputs from the cam sensor (VR, Hall, Opto, etc.)
From the manual I posted.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 03:37 PM   #11
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
VR+/- are the inputs from the crank sensor (VR, Hall, Opto, etc.)
Alright. I think the one I saw that was contradicting applied to older versions of microsquirt. Ill reattach it to vr- tonight.

I still suspect that the problem is a missed or incorrect setting in tunerstudio though, because my multimeter easily reads a voltage signal off the circuit with the 10k. More info to come.

Forgot to mention earlier, I am using +spark to control a golf mk3 coil.
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 03:48 PM   #12
VB242
One hundred gift baskets
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by free244dl View Post
Alright. I think the one I saw that was contradicting applied to older versions of microsquirt. Ill reattach it to vr- tonight.

I still suspect that the problem is a missed or incorrect setting in tunerstudio though, because my multimeter easily reads a voltage signal off the circuit with the 10k. More info to come.

Forgot to mention earlier, I am using +spark to control a golf mk3 coil.
I think that should be IGN A and the same setting in TS

Edit: I forgot I can check my settings in MSDroid.

Trigger return
Trigger angle. 53.4
Falling edge
Going high
Single coil
IGN A
Cam input - cam input

This is on a block mount lh2.2 dizzy.

Last edited by VB242; 09-22-2017 at 03:53 PM..
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:53 AM   #13
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

Thanks for the input. I changed the settings in tunerstudio and replaced the 10K with a 1K resistor and it had no effect unfortunately. I pulled the vr- pin out of the ampseal connector and tested for signal directly on the pin while cranking and it stayed signal high, it did not switch on/off like it did previously at the splice I made to the hall sensor connector. At that point I had to leave the project, I will continue my diag and keep you updated.
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 02:18 PM   #14
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

Last night I reattached the hall signal wire back to the VR1(-). Long story short I modified the grounding scheme and it dramatically improved the signal strength. I now get strong, distinct pulses at the ampseal connector with the microsquirt box plugged in.

There is still no signal being read in tunerstudio though. The data log shows nothing for RPM, it reads "not cranking" in TS, and the signal is still good into the microsquirt box. I am lost as to what to do. Would uploading screencaps help?
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 11:15 AM   #15
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

Shameless self-bump

TL;DR hall sensor circuit working fine, no RPM signal read in microsquirt. Suggestions?
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:02 PM   #16
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by free244dl View Post
Shameless self-bump

TL;DR hall sensor circuit working fine, no RPM signal read in microsquirt. Suggestions?
Something is wrong. Where did you get the Microsquirt?

I suggest you sign up and post it here. Always include MSQ, MSL, and pictures of your setup.

http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=101
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:08 PM   #17
Harlard
Pro Sneaker Peddler
 
Harlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PDX
Default

Where are the screencaps?
__________________


Herr Harlard am Erstens

1979 242 DL

Quote:
Originally Posted by t8fanning View Post
My knob has a big chunk of steel on it
Harlard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:09 PM   #18
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

I bought it from DIYautotune. I thought it would be something stupid like a setting I missed, but I will go post on msextra.

I wasn't sure what to screencap. I will post a few when I get home from class.

Last edited by free244dl; 10-06-2017 at 12:10 PM.. Reason: add info
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:35 PM   #19
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by free244dl View Post
I bought it from DIYautotune.

I bought mine there too, are you using a shield?

Page 51
http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Micro...rdware-3.4.pdf

Last edited by tryingbe; 10-06-2017 at 12:45 PM..
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 01:00 PM   #20
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

I am using the 8' pre-assembled harness that has shielded VR wires. I am using a high-impedance LED test light to watch the signal from the hall sensor on a backprobe in the ampseal connector. It flashes as I crank, indicating a voltage signal.
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 01:06 PM   #21
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Have you updated the firmware? I had an issue where the uS was firing 180deg out randomly. Updated the firmware and it was all good. Nothing else changed.
__________________
Cult Person. Pissing in your Kool-Aid.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 01:12 PM   #22
VB242
One hundred gift baskets
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by culberro View Post
Have you updated the firmware? I had an issue where the uS was firing 180deg out randomly. Updated the firmware and it was all good. Nothing else changed.
I had the same problem with the same fix, make sure you use the command line updater not the one in tuner studio.
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 01:44 PM   #23
free244dl
Newbie
 
free244dl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Default

Good to know. I did use the command line updater to load the firmware, but it has been a while and I'm not sure if it has the latest software.
free244dl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 03:31 PM   #24
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

whats wrong with the updater in ts?
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 03:49 PM   #25
VB242
One hundred gift baskets
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotankshane View Post
whats wrong with the updater in ts?
It didn't work for me, had me chasing my tail for about 2 weeks until I used the command line loader
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.