home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2017, 11:41 AM   #1
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default AEM UEGO Wideband

As much as I loathe the thought of more gauges in my 140 (B23et + LH2.4), I need a wide band AFR reading. My last fuel mileage calculation put me at 15 mpg, without too much boosting. I don't know why it's so dismal, so I need some numbers.

I've read several threads on this, but I just want to confirm that the AEM is still the way to go. I won't try to get LH to run off the emulator - I'll just weld in a new bung for the wide band and keep the stock O2 sensor. Does this sound like the right thing to do?

The one I'm thinking about is this:

https://www.amazon.com/AEM-30-4110-U...ct_top?ie=UTF8
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 12:23 PM   #2
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Do it. That looks to be a pretty good price for a 4.9 sensor, controller/gauge and bung.

I know a lot of people that swear by AEM for a wideband, I have had good luck with the innovate stuff but a lot of others have not. I haven't heard of anyone who has had a bad time with AEM.
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 12:27 PM   #3
CAPT_BLOTTO
#Crush It
 
CAPT_BLOTTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City
Default

Yeah that's what I have and how I installed it. Kept the regular o2 for LH, AEM for monitoring. Worked right the first time. Innovate seems to be really sensitive and hit and miss. They might be better in a laboratory environment but get finicky in old cars with not perfect ground spots.
__________________
Hello My Glorious!

Junkyard Parts request thread!
Mesquite FB page! Constant updates!

Da Yellow Sold | $800 245 | 77 244
CAPT_BLOTTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 12:28 PM   #4
AndrewNance
Amateur hour!
 
AndrewNance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, NC
Default

That's the one I use too. No complaints. Just install it and forget about it.
__________________
'67 122 - b230, t5, 8.8 Build Thread
'71 142
'80 245
Feedback

AndrewNance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 01:21 PM   #5
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

That's good enough for me. Ordering now, thanks.
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 03:30 PM   #6
Marvelous3
Who engineered this?
 
Marvelous3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta
Default

That amazon link is just the gauge? It's missing the actual o2 sensor and the controller it looks like.
__________________

1990 240dl Kaplhenke Coilover Daily
1991 245+16 Valve Turbo Microsquirt
Need Hyundai or Genesis parts? PM me for Genuine Hyundai or Genesis parts
Marvelous3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 03:42 PM   #7
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvelous3 View Post
That amazon link is just the gauge? It's missing the actual o2 sensor and the controller it looks like.
Says it includes everything:

"Bosch 4.9 LSU wideband sensor and weld-in bung included PN 30-4110"
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:56 PM   #8
AndrewNance
Amateur hour!
 
AndrewNance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, NC
Default

Yeah it should be everything. The AEM doesn't use that separate controller that the Innovate LC-1 does.

Mine included a gauge, two harnesses, and an o2 sensor. Maybe there was a bung in there too
AndrewNance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 06:21 PM   #9
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

Yeah it says it includes a bung, but I'll probably want to put it in the DP, which is stainless so I'll buy a new bung for that anyway.

How far from the turbo have you guys mounted yours?
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 06:44 PM   #10
soclosenotnear
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: summerville, south carolina
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfrasca View Post
Yeah it says it includes a bung, but I'll probably want to put it in the DP, which is stainless so I'll buy a new bung for that anyway.

How far from the turbo have you guys mounted yours?
It tells you in the manual, but at least 36" down stream with turbo. I put mine about where the factory test port(?) Is on a stock turbo down pipe.

Last edited by soclosenotnear; 10-09-2017 at 11:32 PM.. Reason: Verfied
soclosenotnear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 07:32 PM   #11
Marvelous3
Who engineered this?
 
Marvelous3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta
Default

That's so cheap! Maybe I've been out of it a while but I remember those damn things being like $300.
Marvelous3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 11:24 PM   #12
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvelous3 View Post
That's so cheap! Maybe I've been out of it a while but I remember those damn things being like $300.

I bought one 9 year ago for around the same price, where have you been?
__________________
85 GLH 350whp
00 Insight 72 mpg
94 855 in hibernation
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:17 AM   #13
towerymt
the real Towery
 
towerymt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: VA, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
I bought one 9 year ago for around the same price, where have you been?
I remember them being around $200 when I bought one....YEARS ago.

I never had any issues with my AEM. I retired the beige-case Innovate LM-1 to the 24hr lemons car where it worked reliably until ~2014 when we semi-retired the car.
towerymt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 11:32 AM   #14
GTJordan
Been here for too long
 
GTJordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton AB
Default

He may be thinking of the AEM failsafe

https://www.amazon.ca/AEM-30-4900-Wi...s=aem+failsafe
__________________
80 242- 2.5L, T5, Porsche brakes, short billies and kaplenkhe suspension, trutrack.
Project Thread- http://www.turbobricks.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=324470
GTJordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 06:23 PM   #15
cosbySweater
Board Member
 
cosbySweater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monterey/Falun
Default

Tyler, did you order it already? I bought this one because it matched the gauges, It would probably look great in your car as well
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/a...xoCYqsQAvD_BwE
__________________
1979 Volvo 244DL 6.0/4l80e,8.8,Ms3x goldbox ecu and Mircrosquirt tcu, s366 clone.
2005 Honda Civic Hybrid, 5 Speed
1991 Volvo 245, so stock it hurts, and I like it that way
1982 Ford Fairmont Futura, 4.8/th400, 8.8, mircrosquirt, 7665 turbo, Project Cheap Thrills

Quote:
Originally Posted by bricktop420 View Post
Thank you very much everybody... i now feel sufficiently retarded and will go cry in the corner...
cosbySweater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 09:23 PM   #16
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosbySweater View Post
Tyler, did you order it already? I bought this one because it matched the gauges, It would probably look great in your car as well
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/a...xoCYqsQAvD_BwE
Damn, I already placed the order. That would have worked pretty well in my car...
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 02:50 PM   #17
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

Another related question. Is there a good reason not to hook up this wide band gauge with an on/off toggle switch? I know it's going to bug me at night.
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 03:34 PM   #18
Uncleknucklez
bruspeed
 
Uncleknucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfrasca View Post
Another related question. Is there a good reason not to hook up this wide band gauge with an on/off toggle switch? I know it's going to bug me at night.
No reason you couldn’t, just splice a SPST switch to interrupt 12v or ground. I don’t notice mine much anymore.
__________________
1986 245
1980 242 Turbo
Uncleknucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 03:40 PM   #19
soclosenotnear
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: summerville, south carolina
Default

Not sure how your interior is on those cars or where you plan to mount it, but mine is in the left vent (940) and it never really gets my attention if I'm not looking for it.
soclosenotnear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 03:43 PM   #20
Stiggy Pop
Board Member
 
Stiggy Pop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Granville, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfrasca View Post
Another related question. Is there a good reason not to hook up this wide band gauge with an on/off toggle switch? I know it's going to bug me at night.
yeah, modern gauges are a bit of a pain in a classic interior at night. I ended up making my WB 'hideable'. It's a rectangular display so I built it into the ash tray, then chopped the ash tray cover off so it could go over the gauge face and stay in place with magnets. Maybe another way to manually disappear the entire gauge... dummy blank out panel?

And people always derided SAAB for the 'Night Panel' function, in fact I've seen it included in lists of most asinine car features. I drove my first car (900 turbo) with no interior lights for months and months, and I use the Night Panel on my modern SAABs ALL THE TIME! I don't think I've ever had gauge lights not set on max-dim.
__________________
'79 242
943 pickup
Stiggy Pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 04:16 PM   #21
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncleknucklez View Post
No reason you couldn’t, just splice a SPST switch to interrupt 12v or ground. I don’t notice mine much anymore.
Yup, this is what I was planning. Just didn't know if turning the sensor on while it's already hot might cause issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soclosenotnear View Post
Not sure how your interior is on those cars or where you plan to mount it, but mine is in the left vent (940) and it never really gets my attention if I'm not looking for it.
It'll get mounted in a panel in the center console, pretty low. It won't be too bad, but at night I hate all the lights.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiggy Pop View Post
yeah, modern gauges are a bit of a pain in a classic interior at night. I ended up making my WB 'hideable'. It's a rectangular display so I built it into the ash tray, then chopped the ash tray cover off so it could go over the gauge face and stay in place with magnets. Maybe another way to manually disappear the entire gauge... dummy blank out panel?

And people always derided SAAB for the 'Night Panel' function, in fact I've seen it included in lists of most asinine car features. I drove my first car (900 turbo) with no interior lights for months and months, and I use the Night Panel on my modern SAABs ALL THE TIME! I don't think I've ever had gauge lights not set on max-dim.
Fully agree. I loved how sparsely lit this car used to be. Now with my new gauges, plus boost and oil pressure and soon the wide band and volts... it's going to be ridiculous.
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 03:07 PM   #22
bobxyz
Board Member
 
bobxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfrasca View Post
Another related question. Is there a good reason not to hook up this wide band gauge with an on/off toggle switch? I know it's going to bug me at night.
Check with AEM. I know that there's a warning not to run without power for the Innovate O2 sensor/controller.
__________________
'85 245glt aw71 k-jet -> ms
bobxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 07:41 PM   #23
Tfrasca
Board Member
 
Tfrasca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aptos, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobxyz View Post
Check with AEM. I know that there's a warning not to run without power for the Innovate O2 sensor/controller.
You're right. Matt at AEM doesn't want me to run a power cut off because the sensor will fail prematurely without the heater circuit. Oh well!
Tfrasca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 08:17 PM   #24
Dicktater
Stiff Member
 
Dicktater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nunya
Default

I followed this thread and bought this gauge after reading the good feedback, and installed it on a 94 940. The car ran great
when I pulled it in the shop to do the install after I was done the fuel pump isn't working.
I think welding the bung in has given me a problem.

Anyone else have this problem? .....both pumps are fairly new. ground cable was removed before welding, car has 300k on it.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliMeatWagon View Post
I hope your treehouse gets cancer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe View Post
I buy a few when foodstamps get here because I have an investment strategy.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by volvo740b234/531 View Post
I smoke my weed and dream of an awesome life
Feedback >http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=197700
Dicktater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 12:07 PM   #25
Uncleknucklez
bruspeed
 
Uncleknucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfrasca View Post
You're right. Matt at AEM doesn't want me to run a power cut off because the sensor will fail prematurely without the heater circuit. Oh well!
Interesting, I suppose that does make sense, it has a removable clear face, to facilitate changing the color of the gauge, maybe just throw some tint on the clear part of it, and “smoke” out the face a bit?
Uncleknucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.