home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2018, 01:07 PM   #126
oldschoolvolvo
Board Member
 
oldschoolvolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Default

I don't see why not...something like a DW100 should work great.
__________________
-Mike
1998 V70 T5
1979 242 DL+T |Project Thread| |Feedback|
oldschoolvolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 06:56 AM   #127
rporzio
Board Member
 
rporzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Default

This is the pump you're talking about? Are there any install issue or mods for compatibility?
__________________
Ralph
1984 242 DL (Phase 7 maintenance and upgrades underway)
http://242vision.clearascent.com
2007 S80 V8
rporzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 08:46 AM   #128
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

That's it Ralph. Your mechanic will have to navigate the plumbing associated with removing the under-car/in-line pump and replacing it with hi-pressure efi rated hose from the outlet of the pump/sender assembly to the hardline exiting the pump you'd get rid of. Also may want to look at wire size for that circuit. The single in-tank will pull more current than the current in-tank pump. I just pulled the hot wire from the in-line pump into the passenger compartment and extended it into the trunk - tied it in with the other hot wire for the in-tank pump. Plenty of current carrying capacity in those two circuits to support the single pump in the tank.

If you think you might ever re-power the 242 --- then now would be the time to go ahead and put a bigger pump in the tank. I use the DW300 on mine.
__________________
'82 242 6.2L; '17 Mazda3; '16 CrossTrek
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 01:47 PM   #129
rporzio
Board Member
 
rporzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Default

Thanks Mike. Does the DW100 mount to the sender unit without any mods?
rporzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 02:34 PM   #130
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I had to slightly enlarge the plastic clamp that the OEM unit uses. I don’t know if the 100 and the 300 are the same diameter or not. And, of course, make up the wiring connections. Remember - the current hose from the pump output/tank to the suction side of the inline pump is not rated for the higher pressure you’ll see if you go with just the intank replacement pump.

Last edited by M.H. Yount; 05-21-2018 at 08:58 AM..
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 08:54 AM   #131
rporzio
Board Member
 
rporzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Default

Thanks Mike, I now have this pump on my Amazon Wishlist should it come to that. Haven't been able to get him out with all the rain and this week looks to be the same. R.
rporzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 10:58 AM   #132
rporzio
Board Member
 
rporzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Default

I just bought and installed a new gas cap, something I didn't think of earlier... Who knows. Next I'm going to replace all the vacuum hoses entering and leaving the charcoal filter/cannister and see if i can tell whether the valve on top is operable. If not, I'm also looking at an updated version to replace it with...
rporzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 12:12 PM   #133
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

You don’t have the canister hooked to the intake, right? Had them put that back to disconnected?
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 12:19 PM   #134
rporzio
Board Member
 
rporzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Default

It's been reconnected for awhile. Are you thinking I should try my test drives (weather permitting) with both vacuum hoses disconnected?
rporzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 12:29 PM   #135
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

No! If it’s not building pressure or creating vacuum in the fuel tank - don’t start changing another variable.
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 07:13 AM   #136
rporzio
Board Member
 
rporzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Default

Rain finally let up enough to get him out for a longer drive, 100 miles round trip. Ran really good but the pump was whining pretty good at the end of it with no failure. I finished changing out all the rubber vacuum lines for the charcoal cannister and even replaced it as well as the purge valve. The next step I guess is to install the Bosch unit I have on hand and see if it too makes noise then decide whether to go to the single in tank pump. One of my stops netted me a really nice parking spot in the shade and naturally out comes the Android camera; here's one...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180608_104713-1.jpg (206.4 KB, 17 views)
rporzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 09:49 AM   #137
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

Purdy!
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.