home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2017, 03:10 PM   #1
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Problem B230FK

hi

i have a volvo 940 station with a B230FK i starts but is stays at 200rmp
if i give gas it does nothing,
i tested the fuel it has 3bar or 44psi
i got spark i changed the computers and i tested bdp senors
the fuel pump makes a sound.

any thoughts?

video:
https://youtu.be/s-sH3NW3sAU
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:18 PM   #2
oldschoolvolvo
Board Member
 
oldschoolvolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Default

It is not surprising that it runs incorrectly when all the intake and exhaust piping is disconnected. The MAF and O2 sensor are not giving any useful information to the computer when running like that.

Try reconnecting at least the intake piping and see if the condition improves.
__________________
-Mike
1998 V70 T5
1979 242 DL+T |Project Thread| |Feedback|
oldschoolvolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:39 PM   #3
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldschoolvolvo View Post
It is not surprising that it runs incorrectly when all the intake and exhaust piping is disconnected. The MAF and O2 sensor are not giving any useful information to the computer when running like that.

Try reconnecting at least the intake piping and see if the condition improves.
i will try it but when i disconnect it on my other 940 with a B230fk it runs good
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:37 PM   #4
Shifted
C&M '17 Survivor
 
Shifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Hill, Shinshu Japan
Default

Surprising that it runs at all like that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ME II View Post
Without mistakes there is no learning.
"I think that man was put here on earth to live, not just to exist" -- Robert 'Evel' Knievel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shifted View Post
Can't be bothered to spell correctly?
Can't be bothered to speak in coherent sentences or use capitalization or proper punctuation?
Can't be bothered to find your tools to do some actual checking on your own?

...Go Fish.
Shifted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:10 AM   #5
nordmaschine
forced instruction
 
nordmaschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Balkans, BiH
Default

Trippin',
__________________
Jetronic is romantic.
- '94 965 - D̶2̶4̶T̶I̶C̶, then M̶5̶0̶B̶2̶5̶ now OM606.962.
- '90 744 turbo 16 valve LPG - B204GT/M90 - trophy w̶i̶f̶e̶ car.
- '89 764 B280F - Daily barge.
- Various 740's, 940's, 960's and a couple of 760's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjets On a Plane View Post
Whiteblocks
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralSenn View Post
I think I might be too stupid to own a car.
nordmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 05:27 AM   #6
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

this is just to test it, but i connected the maf and noting changes, the car had a broken headgasket and it was running like this before, but if i use the throttle it should go higher in rmp, and now it just run at 100 -200 rpm thats not enough , you dont need a lambda or maf to run. you need spark and fuel.
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 05:46 AM   #7
petiww
Board Member
 
petiww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hungary
Default

WOW!
__________________
1980 Brown 244 GL
petiww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 06:37 AM   #8
Janspeed
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default

theoretically speaking xseto is right, you only need air+fuel+compression+timed spark to make a gasoline engine run.
But this is not a simple 1cil lawnmower engine.LOL

just re-check all work you did when swapping that headgasket. You probably made a mistake somewhere.
Pay special attention to the cam-timing and the firing order (1-3-4-2, cil1 is at the front of the engine)
Look at the sparkplug cables and connections to the dizzycap. if you connect them wrong the engine will not run on all 4 cilinders.
the injectors are batch-fired so i don't think that will be the problem.

Once you get it to run nicely on all 4, reconnect that AMM because running without it will probably cause the engine management to store error codes. It is also bad for the catalitic convertor.
Janspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:59 PM   #9
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janspeed View Post
theoretically speaking xseto is right, you only need air+fuel+compression+timed spark to make a gasoline engine run.
But this is not a simple 1cil lawnmower engine.LOL

just re-check all work you did when swapping that headgasket. You probably made a mistake somewhere.
Pay special attention to the cam-timing and the firing order (1-3-4-2, cil1 is at the front of the engine)
Look at the sparkplug cables and connections to the dizzycap. if you connect them wrong the engine will not run on all 4 cilinders.
the injectors are batch-fired so i don't think that will be the problem.

Once you get it to run nicely on all 4, reconnect that AMM because running without it will probably cause the engine management to store error codes. It is also bad for the catalitic convertor.
i double checked everything and its on time, and i changed the spark plugs and its the same,

monday i have a strobelight, but its weird when i throttle the car does nothing even with the amm connected
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:11 PM   #10
VB242
One hundred gift baskets
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

Sounds like the timing belt is off a tooth to me. Is the throttle cable connected?
__________________
Bruten tegelsten
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:35 PM   #11
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VB242 View Post
Sounds like the timing belt is off a tooth to me. Is the throttle cable connected?
sure the cable is connected im not an idiot , its just the exaust and the intake that where not complete

and i checked inside the intake and it opens when i press the pedal so i have no idea why it does nothing when extra air comes in the intake

you hear it run but it runs not good at all maybe 2 cil? but i have spark on al the cables
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:42 PM   #12
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

I just did a head gasket on a 1991 940 and have a similar issue; no power, won't idle, misfires, hard start, and will no longer rev!

Failure to rev can be air leaks, cam or ignition timing incorrect, or low fuel pressure.

Try checking compression, triple check all timing marks, recheck firing order of wires
__________________
No Start Thread
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:50 PM   #13
nordmaschine
forced instruction
 
nordmaschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Balkans, BiH
Default

^ Win.


Btw, firing order is 1-3-4-2, but when you connect leads to the cap, going from exhaust to intake, they go: 4-3-1-2.
nordmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 10:31 AM   #14
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

the sparks are full of fuel when i take them out, but i tested spark and it sparks very good,
and i tested the timing 1 tooth off and ist the same, and i checked for air leak
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 12:39 PM   #15
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Have you checked the timing on the crank sprocket, NOT the harmonic balancer marks; the balancer slips and the timing marks can be wrong.


Recheck all your hose clamps and idle air hoses for leaks. A smoke test or pressure test is best.

Make sure you didn't plug the knock sensor, coolant temp sensor, IAN, EGR and/or cold start injector, into the wrong plug.
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 05:49 PM   #16
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZVOLV View Post
Have you checked the timing on the crank sprocket, NOT the harmonic balancer marks; the balancer slips and the timing marks can be wrong.


Recheck all your hose clamps and idle air hoses for leaks. A smoke test or pressure test is best.

Make sure you didn't plug the knock sensor, coolant temp sensor, IAN, EGR and/or cold start injector, into the wrong plug.

did you managed to fix your car? and what was the problem?
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 04:32 PM   #17
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Yes. I fixed the car on which I did a cylinder head replacement.

I think I just had a loose hose clamp at the throttle body!

http://www.forums.turbobricks.com/sh...d.php?t=330513


I recommend you put it all together, disconnect the battery, then reconnect battery cable and try again.
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2017, 04:42 PM   #18
xseto
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

i think i found it i used a strobe and the timing was not good, but the belt was ok,

i checked the flywheel and when the engine is in tdc i cannot see the marking when i look trough the starter, im gonna fix it and try it again

i bought the car like this so the other guy did it wrong
xseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.