• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

OM617 Diesel Conversion

TacoSalad

I've been looking at putting a mercedes OM617 diesel (which was originally in the early 80s 300Ds) into either a 740 or a 940, or possibly a 240. I have plenty of experience swapping engines as well as welding and fabrication, so it seems like it should be fairly straightforward. Here are the main hurdles I've found so far:

- From what I've read the engine is a little too tall, so I'll have to modify the oil pan or the subframe, this doesn't sound too difficult.
- I'll have to figure something out for the transmission. It seems like the easiest option would be to either find an original mercedes transmission or put in a T5 (which there are adapter plates for), using an original volvo transmission would require fabricating an adapter plate myself and the gear ratios would be off.
- Since I'll probably replacing the transmission I'll probably have to get a new driveshaft as well.
- I believe I'll need a larger exhaust, nothing complicated there.

Other than that the rest seems pretty simple, it's a mechanically injected diesel so there's no wiring other than the alternator, and things like the warning lights and tachometer I can figure out.

Is there anything I'm missing? Does anyone have any related experience they can offer that would help?

There are a few companies that make adapter kits to drop them into Toyota Pickups/4runners. For ~$650 you can get the trans adapter and flywheel adapter for a w58 or whatever the 2wd trans is.
They are a great engine, easily tunable and they respond well to more fuel and boost. You can break the 160whp & a bazillion torques range with more fuel and boost (adjusting the stock pump). Turbos are t3 flanged btw.