home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & suspension

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2017, 12:10 PM   #1
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default B230 performance cam instal/adjust

Hi, i have instaled KL-Racing T2 cam in my b230ft.
Cam specs:
11.3lift in/ex, 280 duration.
In Kl racing shop i see, that this cam need to be instaled at 2.5mm lift at TDC. Now i am doing that, but thats it 10 degres advancing my cam gear.
Can someone giv some advices?
__________________
89" VOLVO 760, B230FT, 16T, big IC, 3" dp and exhaust, 044 fuel pump, custom manifold Up pipe, KL-Racing T2 Cam and Cam gear, DET3 piggy, FPR, Bov, custom intake from turbo to manifold, hidraulic hand brake, welded diff, stripped interior, and.... 268HP 382NM
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 12:19 PM   #2
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

That means what i can jump the belt for 1 tooth of cam gear, and set at 0 degres at cam gear ?
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 12:35 PM   #3
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

How many teeth are on the cam gear?
When you're talking 10deg, is that at the cam or the crankshaft?
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 12:44 PM   #4
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

38teeth. 10degrees on my cam gear i said.
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 01:01 PM   #5
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Thanks, just making sure I understood you correctly
Advancing the cam by skipping a tooth will gain you about 10deg (9.47 if we're getting technical), which you can do. That's just 20deg of advance when it's referenced to the crank, which is a metric f-tonne.

Give it a shot, and then re-time the cam to stock specs and see how it does power wise if you're not pleased.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 01:17 PM   #6
Broke4speed
Board Member
 
Broke4speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marionville, Ontario, Canada
Default

According to KLracing's website, they recommend using 2.5mm lash caps as well. Did you install those?

https://shop.klracing.se/sv/artiklar...8mm-skaft.html
__________________
1984 B21T (formerly A), AW71L.
Broke4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 02:05 PM   #7
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

Yes, lach caps instaled. Bought cam/lach caps/cam gear from KL racing.





Last edited by Raimis760t; 03-14-2017 at 02:28 PM..
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 07:45 AM   #8
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

no one instaled performance cam by Lift on TDC?
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 12:33 PM   #9
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

I have, just not on a Volvo. It's a way to double check the cam specs and make sure it's timed properly.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 12:44 PM   #10
mikep
The MP
 
mikep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 38° 27' N 75° 29' W
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raimis760t View Post
no one instaled performance cam by Lift on TDC?
Since I didn't see a degree wheel in the photo, I didn't comment.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
saw that. you hit it with your purse yet? lol.
mikep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 12:47 PM   #11
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Since I didn't see a degree wheel in the photo, I didn't comment.
True.
TDC is nice since you can approximately go off the timing marks and be within a few degrees. Or shove a screw driver or some welding rod into the plug hole and "feel" for TDC. I'm still amazed as how accurately you can do that.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:12 PM   #12
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

TDC i "found" from plug hole, yes i understand that few degrees is off. But then i set a cam at 2.5mm lift, the tdc mark is way off.. And if i try to set TDC with cam gear, it equals~10 degres advace at cam gear.
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:21 PM   #13
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Call or email KL Racing and ask them if that's correct.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:23 PM   #14
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

OR set it straight up (stock timing), go dyno it. Then set it about 10deg advance with your cam gear and then dyno it again, maybe try it at 5deg advance too. Choose the best setting and live in peace.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:33 PM   #15
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

wrote to KL racing, no answers.. waiting
tomorow ill borrow degree wheel for correct measurement.
i tryed to drive on 0 degre on camgear, no torque in low end, after 4000rpm runs great. then i loked at kl racing website about cam lift on TDC, and saw that the cam is much retarded from that number, and now i want to "solve" this question
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:53 PM   #16
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Have you tried driving it with the cam advanced to ~10/20deg?
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 03:02 PM   #17
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

No, waiting for few parts till next week.. And now i have time to play with cam degreeing
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:08 PM   #18
dafke
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raimis760t View Post
No, waiting for few parts till next week.. And now i have time to play with cam degreeing
And what's now the best timing for that camshaft ?
dafke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 06:52 AM   #19
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

at 0 degrees on cam, no torque in low end, hi revs very good. But then i turned the camgear 4-6 degrees advance - torque came back in low revs and hi revs is very good. waiting for dyno in the end of this week
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 03:18 AM   #20
per0lund
Board Member
 
per0lund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Default

It´s probably about 4-5 degrees advance at crank, but you have to dyno it to get it perfect.

A half deeegre to much advance and you loose more than, than you would gain if it is set right.

Try with a little more advance than a half tooth at cam wheel, its likely a bit to much, then decrease from there till the engine runs smooth as possible from idle.
__________________
Volvo 745 -90 B-230FK , M90, 3,31:1 Eaton diff,-MS3X 83 lbs/hr injectors TD04HL-20T

No real power, just turbo sh-t
per0lund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 03:38 AM   #21
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

i will take a dyno tomorow or saturday, and try to play with cam gear from 0 to 10 degrees advance, and see the numbers
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 03:21 AM   #22
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

Gearbox exploded on the way to dyno, then last time wanted to check AFR on load before.. :D
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 12:14 PM   #23
snailpoweredbrick
Board Member
 
snailpoweredbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: So Cal
Default



Quote:
Originally Posted by Raimis760t View Post
Gearbox exploded on the way to dyno, then last time wanted to check AFR on load before.. :D
__________________
RWD Parts for Sale (240,740,940)
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=243774
snailpoweredbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 10:09 AM   #24
per0lund
Board Member
 
per0lund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Default

Transmission M46 Gearbox and clutch is a well-known limit at 740.
It must have been badly worn down to make it explode though.
per0lund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 04:10 AM   #25
Raimis760t
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lithuania
Default

box failled on 3 gear, but no problem, i have M90 laying in garage waiting for a driveshaft
Raimis760t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.