home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2017, 05:51 PM   #26
TurboDenny
Why am I here?
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Default

Please keep logical thinking out of our thread, John.
__________________

'90 245 Daily


Instagram: @itstotesdenny

I want all your nostalgic Volvo stuffs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeEMSFred View Post
Nothing's black magic. Basics to moderate power levels are cake, period. Start off rich and retarded, like your president.
TurboDenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 09:58 PM   #27
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John V, outside agitator View Post
Guess nobody thinks this is important..

I mean I've been in turdboat Volvos and Xratties with the crappy Thunderchicken T5 that with gearing alone zip thru the "2 car length 1st" so quickly the turbo simply doesn't have time to spool.. cause its Brap! Done..
But that's just what I actually have seen..
This is Turbobricks Performance which sits squarely in the New America, the post-truth, alt-factual Merikuh so pointless the muddy the discussion with facts and reasoning..
Shame on you! And me!
Still on the stocker M46

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwdodson88 View Post
Wedge it open and test the whole thing. You could actually just seal the exhaust shut and test intake and exhaust all at the same time.
Does the T cam have enough valve overlap for this to be possible?
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 10:08 PM   #28
John V, outside agitator
Board Member
 
John V, outside agitator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sleezattle, WA, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDenny View Post
Please keep logical thinking out of our thread, John.
Sorry! Bad habit of mine..I'm trying to turn over a new leaf and "when in Rome do..."
__________________
John Vanlandingham/JVAB Imports
Sleezattle WA, USA

--> CALL (206) 431-9696<----

www.rallyrace.net/jvab

www.rallyanarchy.com

Vive le Prole-le-ralliat

"When a man tells you that he got rich through hard work, ask him: 'Whose?'"
— Don Marquis
John V, outside agitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 11:44 PM   #29
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxitoman007 View Post
Still on the stocker M46



Does the T cam have enough valve overlap for this to be possible?
Are some intake valves open and while some exhaust valves are?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 01:01 AM   #30
John V, outside agitator
Board Member
 
John V, outside agitator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sleezattle, WA, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwdodson88 View Post
Are some intake valves open and while some exhaust valves are?
In virtually all cams, yes
John V, outside agitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 01:20 AM   #31
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Ok well I put my mouth to the exhaust and gave her a blow and air was leaking from... you guessed it, the wastegate, not at either of its flanges but where the valve actually seats, anyone know how to seal this? Not sure why there was resistance blowing though if in some cylinders both valves could be open. Wouldn't I just be blowing out the intake?

Last edited by maxitoman007; 11-24-2017 at 01:46 AM..
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 10:28 AM   #32
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

What spring is in it
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 11:55 AM   #33
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

I believe my wastegate is still running on the stock 9psi spring. Also it still leaked when I blew in the dump tube so that means I'm not simply building enough "boost" to open the spring with my mouth when blowing in the exhaust, because blowing through the dump tube would be forcing the valve against its seat and it still leaked.
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:46 PM   #34
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Update, rebuilt the wastegate and it is now sealing however, I still can't build much boost in first. When I put my foot to the floor, the boost needle climbs to around 5psi and it starts to pull decently (at least I think, never really know what it should feel like) but then I hit redline. At 3500 like most people say for full boost on this turbo, I'm still not even in boost. In second it seems to pull ok but is still kinda "cut off" by redline. Also decided to blow through the hose coming from the turbo cold side to test the intake side for leaks. Had to blow pretty hard but could hear air moving and I was losing pressure somewhere. Couldn't pinpoint it exactly but I was wondering if I was just forcing air through the breather hose and out the intake?
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 08:13 PM   #35
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Use an air compressor to test for boost leak.

What kind of t3/t4? What stage turbine wheel?

It is possible to have too big of a turbo for your setup.


My T04B V trim with state 3 turbine wheel doesn't hit full boost (24psi) until after 4k on my GLH, but my engine is setup to rev to 7k.
__________________
85 GLH 350whp
00 Insight 72 mpg
94 855 in hibernation
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 08:26 PM   #36
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Never actually examined the wheels when I rebuilt the turbo but here are the numbers on the turbo placard. It is stamped garrett.

Serial no: PEM02354
Part no: 466159-5008s

Intake side is stamped : "AR: .60"
Exhaust side is stamped: ".63"

I was under the impression that this was a popular turbo for these cars. And I don't have an air compressor to test for leaks so my mouth is the next best thing I got.

I'm also now having a misfire issue...

Thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=337916

Edit: did some research and it looks like this turbo Is a T3/T4E and originally came with a .82 AR hot side, stage 3 turbine and 60 trim compressor wheel. Could this explain it??

Last edited by maxitoman007; 11-26-2017 at 08:42 PM..
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 09:39 PM   #37
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

Still need to do a boost leak test. Blowing into it with your mouth ain't going to even remotely come close, might get to .5-1psi, maybe. Definitely could be a bit too much turbo depending on the rest of the build but without a boost leak check, it's hard to tell where you're at.
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams aka Mr. Doug 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman aka fivehundred 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey aka TrickMick 1/10/14

74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=334698

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 09:46 PM   #38
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
might get to .5-1psi, maybe.
A lot lower...
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 11:06 PM   #39
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Alright, I don't have an air compressor so what else can I do?
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 01:28 AM   #40
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Bike pump?
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 01:37 AM   #41
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

I though about that but I've read that it needs to be able to maintain the pressure so that the leak keeps leaking long enough for you to find it, otherwise if the leak is big enough you'll lose all pressure before you find it and have to repump. Unless I could find someone to be constantly pumping. I was considering using a compressor at a gas station but that is not restricted to an appropriate pressure so it would require some care, that and it costs money.
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 01:39 AM   #42
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

Small shop vac on the pressure side would do it as well, just make sure it isn't blowing dirt and such out the hose first. Won't be able to hear a leak though, should be able to feel around for one.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 01:52 AM   #43
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

I do have a shop vac, wonder if there's any way to make it suck in smoke so it'll blow it out to make a diy smoke tester... what burns with a lot of smoke?
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 03:21 AM   #44
John V, outside agitator
Board Member
 
John V, outside agitator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sleezattle, WA, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
Small shop vac on the pressure side would do it as well, just make sure it isn't blowing dirt and such out the hose first. Won't be able to hear a leak though, should be able to feel around for one.
That's one way----but there's always a variety of ways of doing thing..
"10,000 roads lead to Rome" is one of most favorite sayings...

So "feel around" is wonderful. Marvelous. An excellent idea..

Me, I prefer to get a spritz-bottle and some little bit of dish-soap and water and spritz around connections and look for bubbles forming...just like when you mount tires, right?

and while I'm sure there will be many people angry at what is certain to be called let's see what's your favorite endlessly repeated phrase...ah yes "me forcing people to do my "way or the highway"??? whatever it is yo're always saying....,

there IS one very small advantage to the spritz bottle and soapy water method, well 2 really:
a) you can spray into places you cannot get your hand into..well that I can't get my hand in
b) you can see bubbles form in places you cannot get your hand into and the nice little bubbles form at pressures that are much lower than I know I could ever feel---but naturally others, more experienced, more up-to-date could...

This idea was ---as always--- one of the thousands of ways that leak-check could be done, so maybe for once we could do without your constant lament accusing me--FALSELY--of claiming there's ONE WAY to do things...this one is just one easy way.. I'm sure you can suggest more ideas.

Last edited by John V, outside agitator; 11-27-2017 at 03:27 AM.. Reason: More disclaimers and protestations of modesty.
John V, outside agitator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 10:27 AM   #45
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

That idea will never work John.

There, feel better, with that out of the way? lol

I'd suspect given the apparently significant lack of building boost that he'll be able to feel it pretty easy, but yeah, the spray bottle with a soap/water solution does definitely help a lot as well, especially if you're hands are on the larger side.

But alas, that begs the next question...Dawn or Joy? What brand makes the best bubbles? lol
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 12:46 PM   #46
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

All right so will a shop vac make enough pressure to properly test the system using the soapy water method? Do I have to do anything with the breather hose while I'm testing in order to prevent air from flowing back out the intake?
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 02:03 PM   #47
lummert
Board Member
 
lummert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland IN
Default

I can't imagine trying to blow pressure by mouth into a 2 inch tube. A shop vac would work better, not sure how much better.
__________________
Trying to understand stupid people is like trying to pick up a turd by the clean end.
lummert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:52 PM   #48
maxitoman007
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Has anybody done it?
maxitoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 05:10 PM   #49
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

You need to quit trying to figure out the best way to half ass it and do a proper boost leak test, with an air compressor. Lots of people on this board don't have compressors and have still managed to get a test done.

Have you tried to see what kind of boost it will make with no reference line hooked up on the gate?

Also, have you tried to see what it will do with the controller hooked up?
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 06:53 PM   #50
Harlard
Pro Sneaker Peddler
 
Harlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PDX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
First suggestion, 90% of the list you've posted for mods, absolutely worthless as they are unrelated as a 'mod', makes it tedious to read thru. Food for thought as I've seen that list posted in a few threads.

Second, you've got a wastegate stuck open. I saw you have an external gate listed, is the internal gate locked shut or is the housing a non-gated housing?

I've got a .63 on the GT2871R, has absolutely no issue spooling in 1st, easily hit 20psi by 3500, even on a stock head.
Now see here, I have a very similar setup as you, and I don't ever come close to having that much responsiveness, no matter what I try. Either my entire setup is garbage or yours is a freak of nature. My peak boost looks like this per gear (~20 psi), per my datalogs:

1st: 5000
2nd: 4200
3rd: 3500
4th: 3000
5th: 2800
__________________


Herr Harlard am Erstens

1979 242 DL

Quote:
Originally Posted by t8fanning View Post
My knob has a big chunk of steel on it
Harlard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.