home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2020, 06:14 PM   #1
oldnfast
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: connecticut
Default Xemodex ETM no reprogramming?

My 2000 v70xc needs a ETM and thereís nothing local so I went on eBay. Opinions vary between the sellers if itíll need to be reprogrammed. A seller in Oregon has a rebuilt unit from Xemodex and claims they do not require reprogramming. Anyone with knowledge on these things?
Thanks
oldnfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 10:56 PM   #2
ovlov760
Board Member
 
ovlov760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Midwest - IL
Default

They don't require programming. It might require some sort of self-calibration routine though that you can perform yourself. I have only installed one on a '04 S60 2.5T.
ovlov760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 09:53 AM   #3
oldnfast
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: connecticut
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovlov760 View Post
They don't require programming. It might require some sort of self-calibration routine though that you can perform yourself. I have only installed one on a '04 S60 2.5T.
Thanks for your reply. The one you installed on the s60 was that used? It appears when you buy from them they require model year and vin# which may imply they program it? Then how would the ETM on offer work in another car? Iím thinking I should just stay with owning 740/940ís!
oldnfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 11:07 AM   #4
ovlov760
Board Member
 
ovlov760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Midwest - IL
Default

It was purchased directly from xemodex.

They may want the VIN just to make sure you get the right ETM.

I have always stayed away from the '99 and up P80 models because of the additional electronics.

Last edited by ovlov760; 09-08-2020 at 12:19 PM..
ovlov760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 12:03 PM   #5
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

You don't program a throttle body. It would be the engine control module that may need an idle learn reset, or similar.

Even after cleaning a throttle body the ECU may get confused and have idle issues. It compensates over time for carbon build up. On my 2005 Nissan I cleaned the throttle and needed a scan tool to relearn the idle since it idled high and threw a code too.

In your case I would just install it and see what happens. You may get lucky.
__________________
No Start Thread
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 03:08 PM   #6
GTJordan
Been here for too long
 
GTJordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton AB
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZVOLV View Post
You don't program a throttle body. It would be the engine control module that may need an idle learn reset, or similar.

Even after cleaning a throttle body the ECU may get confused and have idle issues. It compensates over time for carbon build up. On my 2005 Nissan I cleaned the throttle and needed a scan tool to relearn the idle since it idled high and threw a code too.

In your case I would just install it and see what happens. You may get lucky.

Incorrect. The 99-~03 used an ETM (Electronic throttle body) which does require software. Xemodex can program the ETM with your VIN. I have successfully swapped ETMs between cars sometimes. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not.

~04 and up use an ETA (electronic throttle actuator). These ones do not require software but do require a calibration.

Jordan
__________________
80 242- 2.5L 16V, NIW intake/exhaust, T5, Porsche brakes, short billies and Kaplenkhe suspension, Trutrack.
Project Thread- http://www.turbobricks.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=324470
GTJordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 03:12 PM   #7
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Listen to the Volvo tech. I am a G M tech.
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 02:43 AM   #8
ADent
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Default

You can swap ETMs, but there are Limits. IIRC NA to NA, Turbo to Turbo, seems to be the highest success. There are threads on internet with some more info.

Xmodex comes pre-programmed, but I think are limited like the rest on swaps. Give them a call and see if they know anything.
__________________
88 745GLE 5.0 - (5.0/T5)
01 V70 T5M - Cheap fun
RIP - 79 242, 86 745, 96 850, 98 S70
ADent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 10:30 AM   #9
ovlov760
Board Member
 
ovlov760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Midwest - IL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZVOLV View Post
Listen to the Volvo tech. I am a G M tech.
+1
ovlov760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 10:46 AM   #10
stove
Board Member
 
stove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADent View Post
You can swap ETMs, but there are Limits. IIRC NA to NA, Turbo to Turbo, seems to be the highest success.


This^ BUT I've had ZERO success with N/A (Denso) cars. Those strictly get new "virgin" ETM
from Volvo, and fresh software reload.

If the Xemodex ETM is confirmed from a Turbo car, and going into a Turbo car, and it's not shot (they do also go bad), it will work, plug 'n play.
stove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 07:39 PM   #11
oldnfast
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: connecticut
Default

Ok I purchased a Xemodex that was less than 2 years old and installed today. It went well and sure enough it doesnít require reprogramming. Even before the failed ETM went really bad the car still didnít run as smoothly as I would have liked or expected. This is after a thorough stage zero including new Bosch coils and oem plugs. I now suspect the original ETM was probably not ideal all along
Thanks for helpful replies
Also the car was running so smooth and quite I accidentally started the car while it was already running!
oldnfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.