home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2018, 03:45 PM   #1
Dirty Rick
Board Member
 
Dirty Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cornholio, OR
Default Turbo hardware

Last time I installed the turbo I used good studs and crimped type lock nuts and in just a short while some of the nuts and studs had come loose.

This time I got new "turbo" locking nuts and more new hardened studs (not butter bolts).

I don't want the studs to come loose again and locktite has a 300° limit.

Any suggestions or tips?
__________________
I don't know who I am when I am somebody else.
Dirty Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 03:54 PM   #2
Redwood Chair
K-jet For Life
 
Redwood Chair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: - Stock PSI Or Bust -
Default

Restore it to stock.
__________________
Raise The Lowered


Image hosted by servimg.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
Folks on here don't know a good deal when they see it.
how psi stock cna support?

Redwood Chair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 09:10 PM   #3
dl242gt
300+hp on the shelf club
 
dl242gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: S NJ, a suburb of Phila.
Default

Are you sure you haven't overtightened the nuts and pulled the studs out of the soft aluminum threads? I've used aftermarket hardware. Just has to be good quality stuff like the hardened studs and copper plated locking nuts. I've bought hardware from belmetric which one of our members here suggested I try.

Also make sure you are using the thick special washers on the locations that use them under the nuts.
dl242gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 10:17 PM   #4
Dirty Rick
Board Member
 
Dirty Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cornholio, OR
Default

Twas the fasteners at the turbo mount and at the outlet, manifold nuts were good.
Dirty Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 01:00 AM   #5
LeedomtoFreedom
Board Member
 
LeedomtoFreedom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Chicago
Default

When you install a turbo, after you tighten the gasket, you run it for a while, and then you re tighten the nuts after the gasket has settled and gone through some heat cycles, it'll tighten and be good to go

If you're using the flange type nuts with the anti spin garbage then you should be fine
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by freevolvos View Post
chickens like yogurt but I hate it, yet I like eggs, should I turbo or n.a.a chicken? Do chickens spool? Thanks
81 264 - Driveway ornament
90 245 - becoming 16v
LeedomtoFreedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2018, 09:58 AM   #6
DET17
Reformed SAABaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NW Georgia
Default

Downpipe supported at the bellhousing flange using the appropriate strap? All who cantilever their exhaust against the 4 studs at that flange will eventually loosen/break them.

As Ken said.... stock (supports).
__________________
Project "cheap thrills" build thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...67#post4211467

Feedback thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=198746
DET17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 01:03 AM   #7
Dirty Rick
Board Member
 
Dirty Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cornholio, OR
Default

Bell housing strap down low and a flex joint right after the bend next to the trans.

Last edited by Dirty Rick; 12-17-2018 at 01:13 AM..
Dirty Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 07:32 AM   #8
DET17
Reformed SAABaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NW Georgia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty Rick View Post
Last time I installed the turbo I used good studs and crimped type lock nuts and in just a short while some of the nuts and studs had come loose.

This time I got new "turbo" locking nuts and more new hardened studs (not butter bolts).

I don't want the studs to come loose again and locktite has a 300° limit.

Any suggestions or tips?
Were the threads in the cast iron mani clean before you screwed in your new studs with RED Loctite? The fuse in this system is the soft cast iron material; were your replacement studs full length to make use of the available thread depth? I understand the operating temps far exceed the Loctite, but those OEM Engineers kept them together somehow. As you know, there are "better" studs and also cheap CHINA studs. You must determine the origination of the failure to remedy.
DET17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.