home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2019, 02:59 AM   #1
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default china turbo oil drain or oil intake

just to make sure

big one drain small one intake?






looking for AN10 adapter for this - mine is too small


__________________
85 245 | 82 242| 75 245| 69 145 |66 122



Quote:
Originally Posted by BritishBrick
Donít bother, I would literally rather throw them away than give you the pleasure. I will never sell to you.
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 03:45 AM   #2
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Turbo-Oil-D...4AAOSwctJb36wd
__________________
85 GLH 367whp
00 Insight mpg > yours.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 04:13 AM   #3
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

thank you

what do you use for oil inlet
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 07:57 AM   #4
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

I assume you have a redblock?

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...kw=t3+oil+feed
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 11:55 AM   #5
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

Yeah b230 block with oil coming out front of engine above alternator mount
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 12:48 PM   #6
rb92673
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Default

The inlet on my T3/T4 was threaded and 1/8 inch NPT. I used this:
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/SUM-220446B
rb92673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 12:52 PM   #7
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rb92673 View Post
The inlet on my T3/T4 was threaded and 1/8 inch NPT. I used this:
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/SUM-220446B
Nice did you use a copper gasket between?
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 01:09 PM   #8
Stiggy Pop
Board Member
 
Stiggy Pop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Granville, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack View Post
Nice did you use a copper gasket between?
you wouldn't, pipe thread seals on the thread. I'd suggest a quality teflon thread sealant over the TB-style grey RTV.
__________________
'79 242
943 pickup
Stiggy Pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 01:18 PM   #9
rb92673
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack View Post
Nice did you use a copper gasket between?
Nope. Just screwed it in. If others are suggesting a thread sealant that might be a good idea. I also replaced the banjo with a similar metric to AN, but I don't know the size.
rb92673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 01:50 PM   #10
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

thanks just ordered along with https://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-260487b
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 06:48 PM   #11
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Careful with that socket-less hose, I wouldn’t use that for a turbo oil feed. The heat from the turbine housing will soften up the rubber hose, and it may fail.
__________________
Cult Person. Pissing in your Kool-Aid.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 06:54 PM   #12
Duder
His Dudeness, El Duderino
 
Duder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

Don't use any RTV or sealant goop on a turbo oil inlet. Best option is a bolt on flange adapter with a gasket or o-ring to the top of the turbo, then a 37deg (AN) flare fitting to your oil line.

Big one is the drain, yep.
Duder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 11:04 PM   #13
122power
dude
 
122power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Where have all the quad squares gone? VV,Ca
Default

Use JIC fittings instead.

I used the kinugawa kit, its only $20 bucks and has the pre made line and some fittings. May have to drill the inlet banjo bolt though as I did. It was only like .041" oil feed. Depending if you have a journal or ball bearing turbo.
__________________
Post pics in Orhpan Thread or YOU will be banned.

Last edited by 122power; 05-24-2019 at 12:05 AM..
122power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 03:55 PM   #14
Stiggy Pop
Board Member
 
Stiggy Pop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Granville, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duder View Post
Don't use any RTV or sealant goop on a turbo oil inlet. Best option is a bolt on flange adapter with a gasket or o-ring to the top of the turbo, then a 37deg (AN) flare fitting to your oil line.

Big one is the drain, yep.
I get it but also feel like this is advice for people who donít know how to use thread sealant properly. That said Iíve never had a turbo that had pipe thread on the inlet so idunno
Stiggy Pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 01:35 AM   #15
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rb92673 View Post
The inlet on my T3/T4 was threaded and 1/8 inch NPT. I used this:
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/SUM-220446B
too small
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 04:28 PM   #16
Duder
His Dudeness, El Duderino
 
Duder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Torrance, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiggy Pop View Post
I get it but also feel like this is advice for people who donít know how to use thread sealant properly. That said Iíve never had a turbo that had pipe thread on the inlet so idunno
There is some truth to that. It's a "best practice" though and not worth risking clogging the very small internal oil passages IMO.
Duder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 10:24 AM   #17
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duder View Post
There is some truth to that. It's a "best practice" though and not worth risking clogging the very small internal oil passages IMO.
+1
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 01:48 PM   #18
rb92673
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack View Post
too small
Sorry to hear that. I had the opposite problem, had the parts for the oil line and my first NPT to AN was too big.
rb92673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.