home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Old 10-31-2016, 02:11 PM   #1
splatranger95
Board Member

Default Whiteblock POWER!

Hey guys,

Im kinda new to Volvos. I had a SBF/t5 swapped 240 but thats as much as Ive done.

I have a 95 Ford Ranger that has a custom built frame that Im building. I was going to put an ecoboost v6 in it, but I just recently acquired a 99 V70 that was hit in the front corner for Free! So why not use the B5254(?) thats in it instead.

Ill be running MS3 for engine management and either a T5 with 960 (auto?) Bellhousing or Tremec 3550 trans (the T5 adapter should fit the tremec with a very small amount of modification). My biggest question here is what should I expect to need to do to the 2.4 to get 400-450 hp.

I plan to do rods/pistons, use the V70 intake (as Ive read its pretty good), Ill build a custom header and probably use a GT35X or Precision 6266 or similar turbo. Does the head need a port/polish or bigger valves or anything? The B234f head I am very familiar with as Ive done a folvo swap in the past, and it was very impressive. I assume this head is similar?

Also, Im not 100% on when VVT came into the picture. Does this V70 have it and can you do a VVT delete using an older version Cam and gear from say... An 850?

Ill have more questions as this gets going, but please tell me Im on the right track.

here are some truck pics just for attention.

I was using a duratec 4Cyl before, but Ive changed gears a little.
2010 VW Jetta TDI Cup Edition - VW bought back for far too much money
2008 JKU Wrangler - SLOW SLOW 3.8, 4.88 gears on
splatranger95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 05:25 PM   #2
ryan242v
Board Member