home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2017, 11:07 AM   #1
Murploid1
Board Member
 
Murploid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Houston, Texas
Default Anyone changed an AC drier?

I removed the AC drier from my 82 240 and it is significantly different from the aftermarket part I purchased from IPD.

The original drier has a plug for an electrical connection. Does anyone know what this is for? Is this some sort of safety device if pressures get too high?

Is it required?

Can I remove it and add to the new unit?

This is the drier I purchased:

https://www.ipdusa.com/products/1127...receiver-drier

I am not even sure what side is the inlet - doesnt say?!
Murploid1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:03 PM   #2
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

I haven't looked at an R12 system closely TBH, but be CERTAIN you aren't looking at your ACCUMULATOR vs your DRIER as I believe they're different.
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:16 PM   #3
J_Jones
Board Member
 
J_Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Default

Can we see a picture of your stock drier? I changed mine out on my '87 245 this past summer and didn't run into this issue. You definitely need the 2-pronged switch though!
J_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:18 PM   #4
J_Jones
Board Member
 
J_Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Default

Not positive it's the same part number but this one looks like what I got:
https://www.ebay.com/p/Four-Seasons-...235/1937387727
J_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:51 PM   #5
KeizerBrickGuy
Board Member
 
KeizerBrickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Keizer, OR
Default

I always change out the drier after I open the system for good measure and reliability. I don't order A/C stuff from IPD. I purchased the FourSeasons r/d like J-Jones linked above(but from RockAuto) when I refurbed my Wife's 90 244. You need that sensor to allow the compressor to cycle. If it's a double-spade connector on the sensor, just order one from a 90.
For an 75-84 240
For an 85-90 240
__________________
-Stephen
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87_240TURBO View Post
#mclovethesenuts

-My car: White 1991 244, 308k miles. B230F LH2.4, AW70, R134a retro. Thrush glasspack, anthracite refinished Coronas
-Wife's car: White 1990 244DL, T cam, 190k miles.B230F LH2.4, AW70 w/aux cooler, Duracool AC, purple refinished Virgos, tow hitch, ipd wagon overload springs.
-PSM 2002 Subaru WRX wagon: 120k miles, Perrin TBE, Perrin turbo inlet, intake, and Y-pipe, GrimmSpeed cross pipe.
Rebuilding EJ207 shortblock to swap in this summer.

Last edited by KeizerBrickGuy; 11-30-2017 at 12:58 PM..
KeizerBrickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 01:02 PM   #6
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

But isn't the plug on the one posted originally just the spot for the sensor?
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 01:56 PM   #7
KeizerBrickGuy
Board Member
 
KeizerBrickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Keizer, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EivlEvo View Post
But isn't the plug on the one posted originally just the spot for the sensor?
It is probable, but why not get a new receiver/drier with a new sensor in one purchase. The FourSeasons stuff is good, especially for the price.
KeizerBrickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 02:21 PM   #8
2manyturbos
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Monroe, OR USA
Default

The drier you linked to has a plug in it where the pressure switch goes. As long as the port size and thread pitch match your pressure switch, it will work.
2manyturbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 02:25 PM   #9
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeizerBrickGuy View Post
It is probable, but why not get a new receiver/drier with a new sensor in one purchase. The FourSeasons stuff is good, especially for the price.
Agreed, but if you already got the jawn... may as well slap 'er in there.
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 10:11 PM   #10
NWVlvTnr
Driving isn't fun anymore
 
NWVlvTnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Honolulu
Default

The original drier has a plug for an electrical connection. Does anyone know what this is for? Is this some sort of safety device if pressures get too high?

Yes, that is the low pressure switch, it is a normally open switch that prevents the compressor cluch from engaging if the pressure is too low.

Is it required?

It can be bypassed but that is not a good idea.

Can I remove it and add to the new unit?

Yes, the new unit has a hex plug that can be removed and replaced by the low pressure switch, the new unit should include an o-ring for the switch or take it from the hex plug.

I am not even sure what side is the inlet - doesnt say?

If it's not labeled I'm not sure how to help, with the pressure switch installed it should only fit with the switch facing awy from the radiator/condenser but its a stretch to assume that's correct. have you asked IPD?
__________________
NWVlvTnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 11:14 PM   #11
Cwazywazy
Board Member
 
Cwazywazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Granby CT
Default

I bought a cheapo replacement drier and had to remove a plug and move over the pressure switch from the old one.
Cwazywazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 10:56 AM   #12
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Locate where your low pressure switch is now. I forget. Then if you already have one, just leave that one installed, but unplugged.
__________________
No Start Thread
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 03:41 PM   #13
Murploid1
Board Member
 
Murploid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Houston, Texas
Default

Thanks for the responses guys. Very helpful!
Murploid1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.