home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2017, 08:09 PM   #1
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default More crack pipe ideas/ s60 seats in a 240

More crack pipe ideas but

At the local pick a part there's an 04 s60 with 2 tone real leather bucket seats for 25$ cad a piece ( like 18 USD)



Is there any way to make em fit??
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 08:12 PM   #2
PromiseRing
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Default

yes
__________________
Current
-93' 244 m47-iPd sways, 13c, iPd cam, 2.5” straight pipe
-93' 245 m47-iPd sways, T-cam
-88' 245 m47-Welded diff, gutted, 13g
Past
-80' 242gt m46-
PromiseRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 08:26 PM   #3
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PromiseRing View Post
yes

There is??
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 09:35 PM   #4
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

Yes. A local here did it, not sure what was required.
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams aka Mr. Doug 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman aka fivehundred 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey aka TrickMick 1/10/14

74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=334698

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 09:41 PM   #5
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
Yes. A local here did it, not sure what was required.
So you by a chance remember why it was ,or is there a thread you could link me too
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:53 AM   #6
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default

Does anyone know who managed to make them fit ?
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 03:23 AM   #7
smeha
Tranny Whisperer
 
smeha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: California
Default

Dude simple, take a bendable ruler and measure around the back and bottom, take a needle. Be a fkn man and sew it.
__________________
Please sell me 2 round Virgos
1988 Volvo 245DL (Engine: B230F) (Transmission: AW70) (Fuel Injection: LH 2.2) (Brakes: Non-ABS) (Paint code: 189-2) (Dank memes)
Quote:
I've been molested by a guy who happened to own 7 and 9 series
smeha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 10:51 AM   #8
nel621
Board Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

You just have to figure a way to mate the new seat to the 240 seat rail frame. Maybe some welding or just drill and use nuts,bolts and lock washers to mate everything together.
nel621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 02:09 PM   #9
Funkee
Board Member
 
Funkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Netherlands
Default

Get them anyway for that price. I put S60 seats in my 142, made custom brackets for them.
Funkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 08:30 PM   #10
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

vaderfpu - Dean.
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 09:30 PM   #11
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkee View Post
Get them anyway for that price. I put S60 seats in my 142, made custom brackets for them.


Dud you get the manual or electric ones?
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 09:33 PM   #12
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbag240 View Post
Is there any way to make em fit??
I put 940 seats in a 240, we welded the brackets.

My GLH only need metal strips, bolts, and nuts to fit Recaro seats. Though welding would probably be cheaper.



My Insight required welding to fit RX8 seats.
__________________
85 GLH 290whp
94 855
00 Insight 50mpg++
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 02:27 AM   #13
Funkee
Board Member
 
Funkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbag240 View Post
Dud you get the manual or electric ones?
Electric. They work for 30s after putting power on them.
Funkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 03:00 AM   #14
VolvoGuy123
Board Member
 
VolvoGuy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New York
Default

this is a great idea! I wanted to do something similar with my 940.
VolvoGuy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 12:48 PM   #15
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkee View Post
Electric. They work for 30s after putting power on them.

So 30s every time you turn the car on or 30s one and then they are locked there

Also did toy have to cut and bolt some adapters together or were you able to use the stock rails?
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 03:41 PM   #16
Funkee
Board Member
 
Funkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Netherlands
Default

Yeah, 30s after turning the key, if you needed more time just flick the key again and another 30s. Worked fine.

You're lucky, I found some pics back from 2006

I used the stock rails and welded some tube with a nut inside in place. Not the way I would do it today though but it worked fine.
Also crammed a S60 rear seat between the wheel tubs. Could've done a better job upholstering them, I used the leather that came off the side pieces.
In the last pic you can see the wiring I used for testing the seats, only put a switched 12V to them.

IMG_4709

IMG_4710

IMG_4711

IMG_4719

IMG_4720

IMG_4721
Funkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 04:11 PM   #17
dirtbag240
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: vancouver canada
Default

Mm okay looks good, I'm not going to worry about the rears as I have a wagon and making that work would be a pain me thinks

Did you only have to connect to a single power line or was it 12v to all of the 10 connections?

And if you could re do it how would you, as you said it wasn't the way you'd do it now?
dirtbag240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 05:23 AM   #18
Funkee
Board Member
 
Funkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Netherlands
Default

Just a single line. Not sure which one. edit: I remember I got some wiring diagrams from a dealership back then.

I wouldnt weld the rear supports directly to the floor without reinforcement, or adapt the existing mounts. Cant remember how they look like anymore.

Last edited by Funkee; 10-15-2017 at 02:54 PM..
Funkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.