home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2017, 02:00 PM   #1
DME
vague member
 
DME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DC burbs
Default Jumping low pressure switch

The AC is not working in my '84. It's a factory conversion from R12. I have charged it but the compressor is not kicking on.

Is there any risk to my jumping the connections for the low pressure switch to text the compressor? I had a log splitter explode in my years ago and I am ultra gun shy about repeating the "machine exploding in face" experience.

Thanks

Dave
DME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 02:06 PM   #2
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

I don't have an answer for you, but I did this with switched power on my 93 (which is a different system) that I assumed didn't work, so I was fighting an uphill battle anyhow.

In my car it takes a second or two for the magnets to fire.
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 03:46 PM   #3
VB242
Knucklehead Mc Spazatron
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

I had to jump the one out on my 780 to get the compressor to run enough to charge it.
__________________
Microsquirt noob
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 08:16 PM   #4
To old for this
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Texas Panhandle
Default

Try checking the green wires at the pressure switch with a test light or volt meter.
To old for this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 08:23 PM   #5
Cwazywazy
Bored Member
 
Cwazywazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Granby CT
Default

It'll be fine. I did it in one of my cars to make sure the compressor worked before I charged it.
Cwazywazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:27 PM   #6
gsellstr
Vintage anti-ricer
 
gsellstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in a northern California smog bank
Default

You're fine to jumper them, common practice to test or charge some systems. All the switch does is jumper them under the correct pressures anyway. Just don't leave them jumpered.
__________________
RIP
Doug Williams aka Mr. Doug 4/15/2009
Pete Fluitman aka fivehundred 7/14/2013
Mick Starkey aka TrickMick 1/10/14

74 144 B20
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=224983

90 745Ti, AW71L, IPD bars/springs, Koni SA's, JVAB B230FT, IPD Turbo cam, GT2871R @ 18psi, TLAO chips, E85, NPR, 3.5" DP, 3" DP-back, MSD, TruTrac, Wilwood BBK

If you need Superpro bushings PM me for price and availability!
gsellstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:57 PM   #7
HiSPL
Board Member
 
HiSPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsellstr View Post
You're fine to jumper them, common practice to test or charge some systems. All the switch does is jumper them under the correct pressures anyway. Just don't leave them jumpered.
Because you might burn up your compressor.

It still won't splooge on your pretty face.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 240240 View Post
Beets taste like buttfeet.
HiSPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 12:47 PM   #8
DME
vague member
 
DME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DC burbs
Default

Well that didn't work.

Sigh
DME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 12:50 PM   #9
EivlEvo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DME View Post
Well that didn't work.

Sigh
What didn't? It's an electromagnet. If power is applied, it magnetizes.
EivlEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 12:53 PM   #10
DME
vague member
 
DME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DC burbs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EivlEvo View Post
What didn't? It's an electromagnet. If power is applied, it magnetizes.
The compressor did not run.
DME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 12:59 PM   #11
KeizerBrickGuy
Board Member
 
KeizerBrickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Keizer, OR
Default

Bummer. Bad compressor clutch.
__________________
-My car: White 1991 244, 305k miles. B230F LH2.4, AW71, R134a retro. Thrush resonator, anthracite refinished Coronas
-Wife's car: White 1990 244DL, 150k miles.B230F LH2.4, AW71, dead R12, purple refinished Virgos. ipd rear wagon overload springs.
-Work in Progress: Silver 2002 Subaru WRX wagon, 120k miles, Perrin TBE, Perrin turbo inlet, intake, and Y-pipe, GrimmSpeed cross pipe. Rebuilding EJ207 shortblock to swap in this summer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87_240TURBO View Post

#mclovethesenuts
KeizerBrickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 01:20 PM   #12
DME
vague member
 
DME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DC burbs
Default

Actually, ****.

I remember that last time I was under the car I saw a green wire hanging down, not attached. Spade on the end. It was on the driver side about half-way into the engine bay. I totally blanked on that, must be spending too much time enjoying my divorce.

Any tips on where that bad boy might go?
DME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 03:09 PM   #13
TestPoint
Board Member
 
TestPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ellijay
Default

At the compressor end it should find a male spade to attach to. The udder end goes to the thermostat control in the dash.
__________________


1982 Volvo 245 with a Ford 302 V8

Ford V8 Conversion Manual -
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=250257

Bertone Restoration - http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=256460
TestPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 03:23 PM   #14
Cwazywazy
Bored Member
 
Cwazywazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Granby CT
Default

Yeah, supply 12v directly to the compressor. In my car the thermostat was bad and needed replacing.
Cwazywazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 07:43 PM   #15
To old for this
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Texas Panhandle
Default

Make double sure the compressor is grounded.
To old for this is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.