home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 01:47 PM   #1
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default R-Sport Gauge Install, Wiring?

Hey All,

I'm going to attempt to install a R-Sport cluster I picked up at IPD last year into my 1979 245. I've read a couple install threads and it sounds like there may or may not be a repin of one of the connectors. What I'm curious about is I think someone made some "mods" with this cluster and it might not "just plug in"


Anyone have input on installing one of these clusters?
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 02:28 PM   #2
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Here are the installation instructions.

http://www.240.se/litteratur/514100.pdf

I think the only time you need to re-pin the connector is if you're using a 140 cluster in a 240 or vice versa. Is there a part number on one of the large gauges? It should be on a sticker like this.



Here's the catalog page with part numbers.

hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 03:24 PM   #3
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

I don't have a part number on mine. Looks like I need a different oil pressure sensor? Any ideas on the extra wires coming out the back of the cluster on mine?
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:25 PM   #4
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

How many wires do you have? There should be 6. A ground for the dash lights and one for the gauges, power for the gauges from fuse 3, power to the dash lights from fuse 12, a connection to the tach from the coil (-) terminal and a connection to the oil pressure sender.

Yes, you need a 10 bar oil pressure sender and an elbow so the sender doesn't hit the alternator. If you have a B230 you'll also need an adapter.

What is the 'W' number on the back or side of the speedo?
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 06:12 PM   #5
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Here's all that's on the back of the speedo


Indeed I have 6 wires, good info, thanks. I have a b230ft so I guess I need those three things. I already have a tach, do I get rid of the current wire going to that?
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 07:00 PM   #6
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

You can connect the wire that's currently going to your tach to the R-Sport tach. Just remove the black wire that's on there now and connect it to that terminal.

The 'W' number is probably on the side of the gauge. It may not be visible without turning the gauge.
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 12:00 AM   #7
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Okay, I'll check that out tomorrow. Going to pick up some intercooler pipes from STS then take a stab at the cluster, I'll keep this updated.
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 07:26 PM   #8
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
How many wires do you have? There should be 6. A ground for the dash lights and one for the gauges, power for the gauges from fuse 3, power to the dash lights from fuse 12, a connection to the tach from the coil (-) terminal and a connection to the oil pressure sender.

Yes, you need a 10 bar oil pressure sender and an elbow so the sender doesn't hit the alternator. If you have a B230 you'll also need an adapter.

What is the 'W' number on the back or side of the speedo?
Are the correct threads 1/8 npt for the part from Ben's?
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 07:35 PM   #9
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Yes, the sender and elbow are 1/8" NPT.
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 03:20 PM   #10
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Attempting install now, for the two grounds, can I ground them anywhere? Sounds dumb just want to make sure.
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 04:12 PM   #11
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Yes, you can ground them anywhere there's metal that's attached to or part of the chassis.
hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 04:36 PM   #12
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Got them grounded on the column. Got the oil pressure wire run, waiting on the rest of those bits. Tach is hooked up. Need to extend the #12 wire to extend, #3 is hooked up.

If I have everything else hooked up but the oil pressure will it still work/start up?
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 05:03 PM   #13
hiperfauto
Board Member
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

hiperfauto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:30 PM   #14
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Here we go!




Followed the advice on here and the original instructions and it works! Need to get some bulbs, couple of the dash lights out. Didn't get a chance to check to see if it lights up at night. Also waiting on the rest of the oil pressure parts, but for the time being the wire is run to the engine bay.

The gauges are easy to see...kinda. I might start messing with my seat height as the top of the wheel, if I'm honest with myself, totally obstructs the two gauges top left and top right. It cuts the top of the speedo and tach off but that's still better than the original setup.
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 10:46 AM   #15
photoman327
Board Member
 
photoman327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Alabama
Default

Looking real good!
photoman327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 11:59 PM   #16
LC4CARL
Aero challenged
 
LC4CARL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Hyper F. is The Man.
__________________
Built-not-bought: PDXdl Resto-Mod - B21FT / M47.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood Chair View Post
Life begins at 10PSI.
LC4CARL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 10:56 AM   #17
brendon_ak
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salem, OR
Default

Updates, having trouble posting a vid of the speedo. Speedo is all over the place, looks like it's seen better days. I know these need to be sent out and rebuilt, hoping to make sure everything works before taking them back out to be rebuilt.

Speedo is wacky, needle is all over the place and not consistent.

Oil pressure is at 4 bar at startup, settles down just under there and under throttle is over/at 5 bar. Seems to work great.

Engine coolant temp seems to work fine, hovers right above 80c

Volts jump to 12 and stay there no matter the engine rpm, what's with that?

Lastly, there's condensation in all of the gauges save the tach. I put my hand on them and they're all hot/warm. The lights in the gauges are on as soon as the car ignition is on, the headlight switch and gauge dimmer does nothing.




Thoughts?
brendon_ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.